“I recently went to a new doctor and noticed he was located in something called the Professional Building. I felt better right away. “

Today is a New England spring day. The sun is bright, the sky is blue, and it’s in the mid-40’s. The weatherman calls this seasonable. I call it chilly.

Yesterday was a busy day for me. I was out and about early. I had a doctor’s appointment at 9:30 so I slept on the downstairs couch and set an Alexa alarm to wake me up. She did just fine. The doctor has decided my back needs to be looked at again. He used his knee hammer on my right leg five or six times before it reacted with that quick kick. “Something’s wrong with this knee,” was his professional opinion based on years of schooling followed by years of doctoring. I tell him about that knee every year, and every year he schedules tests which show nothing. This year we’ll do another MRI on my back.

When I was a kid, we never had regularly scheduled visits to doctors or dentists. We went only for apparent pain or injury. I remember seeing the doctor a day or two after I fell down the stairs when I was ten. I remember that doctor well. Pain sometimes does that: etches an event into a memory which dims but never disappears. That doctor, the one with no bedside manner, cleaned my chin gash quickly and painfully.

I remember sitting with my mother and then being called into the doctor’s office. It was huge with high ceilings and lots of wood around doors and windows. The office was in the front downstairs room of his house. The doctor was huge with the sort of big belly some old men seem to get. He always wore a vest with suspenders underneath. The desk was wooden and befitting a huge man. He had a skeleton hanging near his desk. That fascinated me. He checked the gash then cleaned it as if he were cleaning tile grout and then put a butterfly bandage on it. He told my mother it needed stitches, but the cut had become infected in the day or two since the fall so he couldn’t close it. I was thrilled. I didn’t care if that cut stayed opened forever. All I cared about was no stitches.

I loved my first dentist. He always used gas so I never felt any pain, but my father made me switch from that painless, expensive, dentist to a really old, cheap, dentist who didn’t even use novocaine. I swear his drill was a pedal model like the old sewing machines. I remember gripping the chair arms so hard I must have left finger impressions. He soured me on dentists for a long time, but I had to have all dental work finished before I went to Peace Corps staging in Philadelphia. I faced my bête noire and was triumphant. At the dental check in Philadelphia,  I was perfect, good to go.

I figure if my back is my only complaint, I can manage. I can still be good to go.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““I recently went to a new doctor and noticed he was located in something called the Professional Building. I felt better right away. “”

  1. William Sandford Says:

    It’s time for medical marijuana, and now you can have it delivered in MA.
    I took down our PC flag and cleaned it. The red stripes have faded to pink, so I am using red Rust-Oleum paint to rejuvenate them.
    Big snowstorm this weekend. It’s no joke.

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      We actually have it here as well but the dispensary is far away from me. I’d like it delivered!

      I am going to order a new flag. Thanks again for finding that.

      There are warnings on the TV, but not how much snow. That it is a nor’easter is scary in itself.

  2. Bob Says:

    When I was a kid we went to the doctor op for a yearly checkup and some kind of vaccination booster shot. I hated shots and now that I’m nesting 70 I have gotten used to them. When we were sick the doctor came to the house and if he didn’t give us a shot of penicillin my mother was convinced we would recover more slowly. In the 1950s antibiotics were good to cure everything.

    Unfortunately, I have genetically poor teeth. Brush and floss regularly and still I need crowns replaced and root canals. Over my lifetime I have put several dentists kids through college. I’m now at the point where I see implants in my future.

    We almost hit 80 degrees with clear skies.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      We got all our immunization shots from the doctor. I remember getting some just before I started school.

      Braces covering my teeth caused some tooth decay as I have soft teeth. I have crowns in the front as I broke the teeth in a fall a lot of years ago. I don’t think there is anything else my teeth need.

      We got to 45˚.

  3. olof1 Says:

    We only went to the doctor when we got injured but that only meant we most probably were there more often 🙂 Back then protection was nothing anyone was thinking of, I don’t know how often my brother had to go to the doctor every winter after playinh hockey 🙂

    We all went to the dentist though since it was free for kids (and still is) and they had the dentistb office just beside the school. I’ve been lucky to only have great dentists so I’ve never had to use any anesthesia at all.

    Rainy, warm and with a humidity up at 100%, It is a bit sticky to be outside today 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We were the same, no doctor unless we had a reason like an injury. I can imagine your poor brother in the days before all the protection now in hockey. I see the players talking after a game and so many have no teeth in the front.

      Once my teeth got perfect for the Peace Corps, I have always gone to the dentist twice a year.

      I don’t like sticky. It is one of my least favorite kinds of weather.

      Have a great day!


Comments are closed.


