“Only very brave mouse makes nest in cat’s ear.”

The morning has been a strange one. First off is the scary part. Halfway down from upstairs, Gracie started sliding on the steps. She panicked and started scrambling on all fours for a paw hold. She was five steps from the bottom of the stairs. I grabbed her halter and held on then lifted her to a step where she was able to gain control. The whole time I held her my back was screaming. She weighs 62 pounds. I felt every one of them, but Gracie was able to stand and make it down the stairs without falling. She was even eager to go down the outside stairs.

The second weird event was the finding of a mouse, not dead but wounded. I was on my way into the dining room which I saw it. It was the fattest field mouse I’ve ever seen. It couldn’t have run away so I’m thinking it waddled, which makes me believe Maddie got it. This must be the mouse which has been living in my cabinet, my pots and pans cabinet, where I occasionally store packages of food or crackers.  Last week I went to get the bag of potato chips I had put there a few days earlier. It had a couple of chewed holes. The Equal box which had had about 30 or so packets was empty. The corn flakes were gone. There hadn’t been many, but now there were none. That cabinet is due to be cleaned, and I was going to put a trap inside it. Now I wonder. Kudos to Maddie who is seventeen. As for that mouse, it is outside where I tossed it, still alive at least for the meantime.

I haven’t ever been afraid of bugs or snakes. I know a few people who squeal at the sight of a spider. That makes me want to slap them and say get a grip. In Ghana, I was introduced to scorpions and centipedes. Both took me a bit aback, scorpions because they bite and centipedes because of their appearance and the possibility of a bite. They are not really bugs, but that’s for another time. My favorite looking insect is the praying mantis. It, of course, had its own movie: The Deadly Mantis. The giant mantis had been frozen in the Arctic ice cap but was dislodged by a volcano’s eruption. Terror ensues.

Today is cloudy. What a surprise! Rain is predicted, another surprise, but it will be warmish at 44˚. I have some inside chores today, enough to keep me busy for maybe twenty minutes then I’ll need a nap.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Only very brave mouse makes nest in cat’s ear.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    We’ve had a sunny and warm day here but it started as very, very foggy. I stopped by the lake to get some photos but it was so foggy that I couldn’t even see a hill 50 yards away 🙂 🙂

    I used to be terrifed of spiders, I got really scared as a child, now I see them as my best friends since they eat so many flies 🙂 I’m still a bit scared when the big hairy ones that crawls up from the siphon in the shower comes close, they don’t even turn away when I throw things on them 🙂 🙂

    I have had mice in my pantry so I haven’t used in a long while. I placed a trap there but nothing happened and I think they mice left long ago, I have most things in metal or plastic boxes. Still I need to lean it out really good before I start using it again.

    I do hope Gracie doesn’t slip in those stairs again.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      You know I envy you the fog. I used to see it some mornings on my way to work when I crossed the bridge over the river. Now I think I sleep too late.

      I like spiders because they weave the loveliest webs and because of the insects they devour. When I was a kid, no insects frightened me, not even snakes.

      I have some mice in the cellar, but not many as there used to be as there is nothing for them to eat. I know one died some time back because I could smell it for a while.

      I am so careful on those steps as they are slippery. I have had risers put on the backs of the outside stairs, and I have ordered treads for the steps. I’m going to have to fine treads for the inside which won’t harm the finish on the steps.

      Have a great day!!

  2. Birgit Says:

    Ouch. Is it possible that Gracie stays downstairs, perhaps with a child safety barrier (or whatever it’s called in English) to block the stairs? Or that you rearrange your rooms so your bed is downstairs too, perhaps switch bed and couch? Who cares how it looks when it helps Gracie and your back.

    Last week I accidentally killed a mouse. I forgot to put a long stick in one of the garden buckets. The bucket was nearly empty and the curious mouse couldn’t escape anymore. I like mice as long as they aren’t inside the house, a small plastic barrier at the bottom of the garden door helps to keep them out.
    Our magnolia is in full bloom and a young blackbird pair has built a nest at our house where we sit and where we are able to watch them. Spring is beautiful.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I don’t think moving would work. I guess I’ll have to buy treads which won’t mar the floor underneath as they are fairly new steps. I have ordered some for outside already.

      I always use have-a-heart traps so the mice don’t die. I did find one in the de-humidifier’s water catch. I called that a suicide. When the cats were young, I’d find a mouse seemingly sleeping but actually done in by one of them.

      You do have spring! I’m jealous. It will be in the 30’s tonight.

  3. Bob Says:

    I’m a wimp. I can’t stand rodents, roaches and spiders. Yuck to lizards and snakes regardless of the colors of their rings. Rattle snakes a Cobras don’t follow the rhym, ‘red and yellow kill a fellow, red and black friend of Jack. Exterminators are my friend year round.

    Today was partly. Cloudy skies with temperatures in the low 80s.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      You wouldn’t do well here. As my brother used to say: if you live on Cape Cod and say you have no mice, you just haven’t seen them. August is baby spider month. I don’t have roaches. There are snakes but no lizards.

      Today was warmer, mid 40’s. Tonight will go back to the 30’s. It is still isn’t really spring.


Comments are closed.


