“I’ll catch this bird for you, but it ain’t gonna be easy. Bad fish. Not like going down the pond chasin’ bluegills and tommycods. This shark, swallow you whole.”

Snow flurries this morning dashed my hopes for a spring-like day; instead, it’s still winter, cloudy and cold. Rain is expected later. Right now it is 37˚. The sound of big wheels woke me up this morning. The boys from down the street were out riding early, before the bus. I cursed their mother. I tried to get back to sleep, but the buzz of saws kept me awake. I cursed them too. When I got downstairs, I realized the saws were in my backyard. My landscaper and his guys were cutting down dead pine trees and lopping dead branches from other trees. Because my back gate was open, I took Gracie out front. She was quick. I was grateful.

All of my errands got finished yesterday. I expected crowds at my house clapping and dancing for me and my achievements. I have no to-do list. I do have an appointment to get my eyes checked. This is the month for doctor’s appointments for me.

I am watching 12 Days of terror, a low budget Jaws-like movie with similar plot details, like a great white shark menacing the shoreline. So far one victim was screaming as he was being pulled back and forth in the water. His dog kept barking. The swimmer had a huge bite wound and did not survive the attack. The lifeguard, who pulled the swimmer from the water, said it was a shark bite and wanted the beaches closed. The mayor didn’t agree. A state commissioner thought it was a torpedo from a u-boat. Now that’s a strange new twist. I’m watching and hoping for Quint to scratch the blackboard.

Fin and humpback whales come to Cape waters every summer. Whale watching boats out of Provincetown take tourists out to sea hoping they’ll find the whales. They are seldom disappointed. Further down cape, great white sharks are the attraction. Last summer some beaches were closed after as many as six great whites were spotted feeding on a whale carcass. Scientists agree it’s not a matter of if, but when, there will be a fatal attack on Cape Cod.

Jaws is one of my July 4th movies on the deck. It doesn’t matter how many times I’ve seen it. The shark music is all I need to hear to get the adrenalin pumping.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““I’ll catch this bird for you, but it ain’t gonna be easy. Bad fish. Not like going down the pond chasin’ bluegills and tommycods. This shark, swallow you whole.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Sunny and warm here most of trhe day but it started out cold and frosty and it lookes like it will end cxhilly and cloudy, they say we’ll have sunshine tomorrow and at least 50F.

    We get rather many visits from dolphines now days when it is getting warmer and every now and again one of the bigger whales takes a tour in to the baltic sea, now great whiotes yet though even if they sooner or later will travel this far too.

    Nothing to watch on tv here so I guess I’ll be sleeping in front of the tv all evening 🙂

    have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      50˚ sounds wonderful. The weather has changed since this morning. It is rainy and much colder. It is the sort of weather to avoid by staying inside comfy and warm.

      We also have dolphins but only in the warm waters during summer. More and more sharks come back every summer. Many have been banded so they can keep track of them.

      Enjoy your quiet evening!

  2. Hedley Says:

    And so The Prince once again descends upon us in a flurry of energy and excitement. We will pick him up around 5:30 and work on the fast developing plans for the weekend

    The centerpiece will be the movie “Beauty and The Beast” assuming that we can secure tickets. When we took him to Disney a couple of years ago he was chosen to play The Beast opposite a very gorgeous Belle. He then caught a hail of abuse about Belle being his girlfriend, wanting to kiss or marry Belle, you get the general picture.

    Being the wonderful boy that he is, he took it in his stride until we reached the anti chamber to see The Mick – At this point he announced “no one is to say anything stupid – not you not you not you” pointing at his Father, Uncle and, of course, his Pumpa.

    He knows that a renewed assault will begin after the movie, but fortunately we have Chapel on the docket so that his Pumpa can ask for forgiveness.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      You’ll have The Prince for the whole weekend. It doesn’t get better than that.

      My nephew, his wife and their two kids (Ryder-10 and Georgie (as in Georgina)-2 really liked it, but she loved it. She wore her yellow Beauty gown. Whenever the coyotes (or dogs) howled, she returned the howl. No one else seemed to want to. She hissed at the bad guy and she danced with her father in the area set aside for dancing. Tell The Prince he can always dance. I think he’s a good sport to have been the beast.

      Poor Prince!!

  3. Bob Says:

    This morning a Pacific front swept through the DFW area dropping our afternoon temperatures to the mid sixties. The squal line brought some needed rain.

    When I was a kid in NYC we would go to Rockaway beach to swim and escape the summer heat and humidity. My mother’s great fears were our swimming too soon after eating which would give us ‘the cramps’ and we would drown or the under tow which would pull us out to sea. Sitting on the beach and having to wait an hour before going into the water seemed like an eternity. Fear of sharks never crossed her mind nor ours.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I’d love the mid sixties. I think that’s about the nicest weather. We got rain in the late afternoon, and with it the cold. It chilled the bones.

      We all suffered through mothers holding us ashore for an hour after eating. I didn’t want to risk cramps so I stayed ashore.

      “No one knows how long the belief about the dangers of swimming after eating has been with us, but it does appear in Scouting for Boys, which was published in 1908: First, there is the danger of cramp. If you bathe within an hour and a half after taking a meal, that is, before your food is digested, you are very likely to get cramp. Cramp doubles you up in extreme pain so that you cannot move your arms or legs — and down you go. You may drown — and it will be your own fault.

      • Bob Says:

        We called many of the things my mother came up with, “grandma tales”, using the Yiddish words. I’m not sure about the relationship of eating a meal and swimming causing the killer cramps, however some things were time tested home remedies. Homemade chicken soup actually does contain electrolytes and other good things that fight cold and flu virus symptoms according to my ophthalmologist friend. Blackberry brandy works to relive period cramps according to my wife. I guess if you drink enough of the stuff you forget about the cramps. 🙂

        What grandma tails did your mother perpetuate in your family?

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        My mother said we couldn’t go outside with wet hair because we’d get a cold. We should never swallow watermelon seeds as they might grow. That prompted the best way to get rid of them, spitting contests as who could spit the seed the furthest.


Comments are closed.


