“Put that down! You don’t know where it’s been!”

Cold, it’s bone chilling cold! Last night I took Gracie out and she just walked around. I kept exhorting her to pee, but she preferred to sniff the ground and check out the house next door. I got so cold I couldn’t take it anymore so we went inside to the warm house. She got up on the couch and went to sleep. A couple of hours later I took her down the back stairs to the yard. I have to lead her down any stairs as she is afraid ever since her fall. I face her and go down the stairs backward holding her halter. That works just fine, and it only takes a couple of minutes. I figure that’s a small price to pay for a loving, funny member of the family who happens to be a dog.

I’m looking for adulation accompanied by a drum roll. I have finished all my inside chores. The laundry is put away, the bed has clean sheets and the litter is changed. I even went to Agway this morning for all my pet supplies. My to-do list is much smaller and only has a couple of errands left.

Mothers bend the truth. Think back to all those warnings our mothers gave us. I never swallowed gum fearful of that giant gumball forming in my stomach. A certain look could make my face freeze and going outside with a wet head could cause a cold.

Some things my mother said were downright silly. I didn’t ever think money grew on trees, and I didn’t at all believe huge potatoes could grow in my dirty ears. After she said that once, I laughed. Big mistake! I ended up in my room. She, after all, was the boss.

I don’t remember what the warning was but my sister told her grandsons they had to be potty trained by the time they turned three. They were. One was even earlier than three. My sister is following in my mother’s footsteps.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““Put that down! You don’t know where it’s been!””

  1. Hedley Says:

    I need to turn off BBC Five Live, and stay out of the UK papers for a while. PC Keith Palmer was lost as were two other innocent lives.

    PC Miller was a life time supporter and season ticket holder of Charlton Athletic. He was an Addick. The club draped their scarf over his seat in tribute. It struck home. A Husband. a Dad and he loved his football. Perhaps his loss as a courageous officer in the face of a murderer is magnified by the glorious ordinariness of his life.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I heard the news and turned on the television. All I could think of not again, innocents killed. That is one of the greatest tragedies of this war of terror.

      I understand why it struck home.

    • Birgit Says:

      So sorry what has happened in London. Dangerous idiots everywhere and innocent people die. Hedley, I hope your friends and relatives are okay.

  2. olof1 Says:

    It is the part where You walk backwards down the stairs that worries me a bit šŸ™‚ but I agree, it is a small price to pay.

    Frosty and foggy here in the morning but sunny and warm the rest of the day, we even managed to take a walk in the sunshine after I had come home from work šŸ™‚

    My sister told me that the gum would stuck on my ribs if I swallowed it and that if I swallowed grape kernels they would start growing in my stomach. I have never swallowed gum but I really wanted grapes to start growing and have swallowed every single kernel since then šŸ™‚ Still no vein growing out through my mouth though šŸ™‚

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I feel the same way about the stairs, but one hand holds on to her halter while the other hand grips onto rail for dear life!!

      It is sunny here, but that is deceptive as it is really cold. It is 35Ėš but will go down to 21Ėš tonight.

      That’s funny! Your sister told you some of the tales my mother did. I guess being logical with kids doesn’t work as well as fear.

      Have a great evening!

  3. Birgit Says:

    I’ll have to check my ears, beans – not potatoes – might grow there.
    Spring is here, two bikes are cleaned and checked, tomato plants are sowed and some songs of Dylan’s new cover album are on NPR First Listen:
    http://www.npr.org/2017/03/23/520841609/first-listen-bob-dylan-triplicate
    I’m half way through, fortunately npr doesn’t geoblock very effective. Get yourself a glass of wine tonight and let Dylan lull you to sleep.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Just keep your ears clean though I doubt I’d have known to do that when I was young.

      My house cleaners are here nd as soon as they are finished I’ll do a couple of errands. I want everything on that list done!

      Thanks for the link!!

  4. flyboybob Says:

    My mother was an avid germ warrior to whom cleanliness was not next to godliness but on an equal footing. She feared that overheating in the summer would bring on polio before the Salk vaccine. We were never allowed to walk in the grass barefooted and our ears were always growing potatoes no matter how much we washed them. If she could have kept us in a plastic bubble and sterilized everything we touched she would have been very happy.

    Today was windy with sun and a mix of clouds with a high of 85. Cooler air is coming tomorrow morning along with a cold front and a line of thunderstorms early tomorrow morning.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I’m glad my mother was not a germ warrior. Washing hands before dinner and before a bed cleanup were it for her. She did balk at stuff we found so they had to be relegated to the cellar.

      Cold today, it was 33Ėš when I went out this afternoon. Warmer days are coming.

  5. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    My mother also told us the potatoes in the ear dirt story along with don’t swallow gum as it would clog up your insides and don’t swallow watermelon seeds either because they will grow in there. On the flip side, she also claimed you had to eat a peck of dirt in your lifetime. She never said why, though. My favorite one was “shoes on the table, married before you’re able”. To what? She never said. And that left me wondering if putting shoes on the table was so common in antiquity that there had to be a folk saying for it.

    Today was not so cold as yesterday but it was still not comfortable. I did walk the dogs a couple of times but our hearts were not in it. I need some spring.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I never got the wise woman’s rhymes from my mother. That shoes on the table is one I’ve never heard. I wonder why anyone would put shoes on the table anyway.

      I remember reading that one woman always took the end piece off of ham while it was baking because her mother did. She finally asked her mother why. Her mother said she always liked to eat the end.

      It is cold. Last night was brutal. I take Gracie out front at night. I froze last night. My sister went to Colorado to visit our sister Moe. It is 76Ėš there right now.

      Have a great evening!


Comments are closed.


