“I used to cover my windows in heavy curtains, never drawn. Now I danced in the sunlight on my hardwood floors.”

Today is a wonder. It is bright and warmish, almost springlike. I stood outside on the deck for a while watching Gracie, but I got a bit chilly so I came back inside. She stayed outside. Both doors are open. The sun is streaming through the front door working its way to the back, to the south. A day like today recharges my batteries. I have a long to-do list, but I have already crossed off two chores. Granted, they were quick and easy, but I still feel accomplished.

I figure my energy is a reflection of the warmth and the sunlight. Winter days make it easy to do nothing but lie on the couch under something cozy and read or watch television, but I’d feel guilty wasting a day like today.

When I was a kid, I loved to go miniature golfing. It was at Hago Harrington’s where the windmill was my nemesis. It had three lanes at the bottom leading from under the mill to the green. I don’t know how many times I missed them all. I still remember the thud sound of the ball hitting the wooden windmill, not the lanes. It was frustrating. My favorite had a slope which, if played right, dropped the ball right into the hole. On the last hole, a hole in one got you a free play. Hago Harrington’s is still there.

On the way to the beach yesterday, I saw a couple of houses still lit with Christmas lights. The colors lit up the darkness. I have new lights, all white bulbs, I need to put on the gate trailing the new star I bought. I also have a multi-colored set for the deck rail. They are on my to-do list. My neighbor will be glad. She called me a while back to say how much she loved my lights.

I’ve been watching CSI: New York on Netflix. They have a plethora of dead bodies, a necessity for the crime lab. After watching murder after murder, I’ve decided that being a murder victim would be the perfect role. There are no lines to learn so all I’d have to do is lie down and try not to breathe or blink. Sounds easy to me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““I used to cover my windows in heavy curtains, never drawn. Now I danced in the sunlight on my hardwood floors.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    It has been quite the opposite here today, chilly, windy and rainy but sometimes snow instead, it’ll turn again tomorrow so I’m not bothered by it today.

    I do like miniature golf but there are almost no lanes left here. Back in teh days one could find lanes even in the tiniest villages but now they’re hard to find even in the big cities. Too bad because it was something an entire family could enjoy. I guess they play it as a video game now days 🙂

    I haven’t seen CSI New York, I guess they show it on a channel I don’t have but to be honest I do prefer series more like Midsomer Murder’s.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      Your today sounds like my Sunday. From the weather report, it will get colder the next couple of days then rain on the weekend. I want a couple of warm days. My sister in Colorado has had 80˚ days already. My brother-in-law said everything is dry. They already have had wildfires.

      We still have them down here. There are two with waterfalls, pirate ships and all sorts of neat holes. On summer nights they are filled with tourists.

      It is an old series. It ended in 2012 after 9 seasons. The show is prefect for mindless watching.

      Have a wonderful evening.

  2. Bob Says:

    I have absolutely no patience to play golf either the miniature or the big version. Hitting a little ball into a hole with a stick is an invention by the gods to torture human beings without leaving scares. 🙂 I have way too many other frustrations in my life and don’t need to add another one. 😦

    Trump is setting the records for number of golf games played by a President in the first two months in office. I think he plays so much golf because he makes lots of business deals on the links. I think there’s a clause in the Constitution that prevents a federal employee from conducting business with a foreign country. No one in this administration really cares about the U.S. Constitution.. 😦

    Another wonderful day with clear skies and looking for a high of 87 degrees.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I don’t play regular golf, but I do enjoy mini. You don’t need any skills to play, and it is perfect to play with kids, to keep them occupied for an evening. In the summer, the courses are filled with families. It is easy to get to the holes and to do a round of 18 holes.

      Just ask Sean Spicer. Trump is not just playing golf, he is working. A president can conduct business with a foreign country except to declare war. The emoluation clause only prevents receiving gifts while in office.

      I can’t get excited about burning up in March.

  3. Birgit Says:

    My Christmas lights are still on my window sill plant but I finally took down the Christmas straw stars from the other plants last week. May spring come.
    I don’t often watch TV anymore but tonight is Dr. Who so I will watch, it’s our weekly cocoa and cookie TV event. Unfortunately I can’t watch soccer on TV tomorrow, a friendly Germany – England match, but I will be in the midst of the soccer traffic chaos before and after the match. Bad plan!
    Hedley, in case you read this, good luck for your team but don’t win 😉

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I had my outside lights taken down, and now I’m sorry I did. I keep white candles lit in the front windows all the time. One time a woman walking the dog saw me in the front yard and asked why I leave the lights. I thought her impertinent. I said lights beckon angels to come unaware.

      I’m sorry this is the current Doctor’s last year. I read he has a new companion. Every time the doctor changes, it takes me a while to get used to the new one. I always think I won’t like him but I usually do.

      The soccer fans in my family are all in Colorado.


Comments are closed.


