“Parents aren’t the people you come from. They’re the people you want to be, when you grow up.”

Huzzah! im6 got a copy in his e-mail. Here it is!!

Monday is the first day of spring. On Sunday the cape may get 5-8 inches of snow. I’m thinking that’s an up yours from Mother Nature. What is even worse is today is warmer than the last few days, in the 40’s, lulling us into a false sense of flowers, scented air, lunches on the deck and the end of bulky clothes.

When I woke up, it was sunny. The dark blue sky was clear. Since then clouds have begun taking over, and the blue is disappearing. I have some errands, but before I leave I need to get outside to fill the bird feeders.

My yard got a spring cleaning today. All the wood left from the fallen pine tree is gone, the lawn and gardens have been raked, the backyard has been cleared of all the limbs and branches which fell this winter, and my deck has been tidied.

When I was a kid, weather like today’s was prime bicycle weather. I’d dress accordingly with as little as I could get away with, haul my bike out of the cellar and take off down the forbidden hill hoping my father wouldn’t see me, but I always knew there was the chance bike treads on the grassy hill would give me away. I didn’t care. I liked the hill.

We didn’t have much money when I was growing up, but I didn’t know that. I had everything most kids had back then. I had skates and a sled for winter and my bike, my all seasons ride. For Christmas one year, I got a transistor radio. It was the Christmas of radios as my friends also each got one. I took that radio everywhere, and it wasn’t small. It was the size of a hard-covered book. The clothes I got for Christmas were always the fashion rage, the same styles all my friends were wearing. My mother knew exactly what to buy.

When I think back to growing up, I figure I got the best parents. They were fun, involved and generous. They were loving. I got the luck of the draw.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

10 Comments on ““Parents aren’t the people you come from. They’re the people you want to be, when you grow up.””

  1. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    You have lawn that can be seen and dirt that is unfrozen enough to be raked? 🙂 The sticks I was going to pick up are buried under a foot of icy snow. They’ll wait.

    Today started out sunny up here, too. I did a lot of errands in the morning. I managed to get to the post office though it took two turns around the square to find parking. I had to scrub the bank and the UPS store because no parking anywhere. The clouds rolled in about then and hung around until an hour ago. Now it’s sunny again with cerulean blue skies. I like that word.

    All I have tidied so far today is the top of the stove. I need to vacuum. I probably will vacuum. Maybe. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I do have unfrozen dirt. Don’t forget we didn’t get the last storm of snow. We had rain. The snow that’s left is in the tiniest mounds on a few corners.

      I like that word too.

      We have a totally cloudy sky. There is some sun from behind the clouds though so it is still light.

      I did the seed, swept the kitchen and took a shower, so much for my day. I did watch the guys work so I’m thinking that counts for something.

      Have a great evening!

  2. olof1 Says:

    We’ve had a rather nice day here, it started clody and chilly but ended sunny and warm. It was so nice outside that I even did some work in the garden. My hands are now covered with tiny thistle thorns 🙂

    Yes today would have been bicycle weather and I do have a bike somewhere, perhaps I should find it and clean it up and try to have the dogs running beside me. It’s tricky but if it works it’s great exersize for both the dogs and me, if it doesn’t it could be the end for us all 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It is totally cloudy here now, but there is some sun behind the clouds. It is getting cold as the day dies.

      I’m thinking maybe a dog sled to give the dogs their exercise. I’m laughing here picturing Albin as lead dog. That is the only way I think he wouldn’t drive the other dogs crazy behind them.

      Have a great evening!

  3. Bob Says:

    When I was a kid I thought I had the best dad until I went to college and discovered how truly stupid he really was. Once I left school he started looking smarter. Unfortunately, my father had a lot ideas left over from the depression that he hung onto regardless how much the world changed. I really thought he would outlive his money but he passed away leaving us a small inheritance. He used to tell me that the last check you write should be to the undertaker and it should bounce. 🙂

    Today the sky cleared up with highs in the mid 70s. Every weekend this month there has been a chance of rain so today I took both of our cars to the carwash. Now it will rain for sure tomorrow. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      My dad used to tells us to load him in a box and roll him down the hill. The cemetery was at the bottom of the hill on the next block. My dad was smart in things different than I was smart.

      It stayed cloudy all afternoon today. The snow forecast has been downgraded to 1-3 inches. I’m happy with that!

      • flyboybob Says:

        My father didn’t believe in buying real estate and missed out on the greatest increase in home values in the 20th century. He paid rent until I persuaded him to buy a condominium when he was 80 years old. He believed that real estate values declined and didn’t pay interest. He also invested in some really stupid things such as buying life insurance policies from AIDS victims in the 1980s because he assumed they would all die quickly. He also loaned money to friends who couldn’t get loans from banks. They stiffed him and he realized they weren’t his friends.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Your dad did miss out. Real estate is the best investment. My house is worth so much more than I paid for it.

        My dad bought stocks, some of which made dividends all the time. He had a small notebook in which he put all his assets, one on each page.

        My dad lent my brother and his wife the money to buy land so they could build their house. After my dad died, my mother couldn’t find the contract. They paid my mother back but she knew they didn’t pay it all but she had no proof.

  4. Coleen Says:

    I also had great parents that were gone too soon. My Dad died when I was 9 and my Mom died 2 weeks before my 19th birthday. Coincidentally I had St. Pat’s dinner with someone who knew me before I was born. Her Mom and Dad were best friends with my Mom and Dad. I remarked to her that I had to explain to most everybody just how wonderful my parents were – – I did not have to do that with her She knows.

    Stay dry. Spring is coming…I heard the rumor.

    Waving,

    Coleen

    • katry Says:

      Coleen,
      I was lucky to have my parents longer, and I’m sorry you were so young when yours died. My Dad has been gone 24 years and my mother 12. Even now I find myself thinking I’d call my mother about a TV program she’d like or a book she’d enjoy. I’m glad you have time with someone who knew your parents.

      Spring took off this week. I think I saw her in the rear view mirror.

      Waving,
      Kat


Comments are closed.


