Mandolin Wind: Rod Stewart

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

4 Comments on “Mandolin Wind: Rod Stewart”

  1. Hedley Says:

    It was September 1971, and Rod and the Faces were the last act at the Concert for Bangladesh at The Oval before the arrival of The Who

    Like all outdoor events it was a horrible crush. Rod strolled on to the stage in some leopard skin outfit and totally ripped it up. I was more than smitten. Rod, Ronnie, Plonk, Ian and Kenney was fab. Rod threw the microphone stand in the air a caught it in his teeth (or something like that)

    Every Picture Tells a Story remains in my canon of truly great albums. It was and remains flawless. Mandolin Wind – Brill

    And so I went – Empire Pool Wembley, Granada Theatre Sutton, The Faces never disappointed. Rod was jack the lad, a natural leader for the R&B lads crowd. Great albums, and then it all stopped, Atlantic Crossing ? A night on the Town ? Too much Britt Ekland ? It was over. Yea I saw him in Detroit, but it was a parody. the Faces were gone and so was Rod

    Vegas called, the great American song book, disco, you name it he has done it. I respect such a long career and boy were there some great moments.

    I love that he was a school mate of Ray and Dave Davies and they were all in a band together for about 20 minutes.

    I got an email last night that The Who are doing a residency at Caesars Palace and tickets begin at $500. Time is a cruel mistress.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I had Every Picture Tells a Story and played it until my mother yelled uncle. This was from the woman who fell in love with the Rod who sang on The Great American Song Book and played that until I yelled uncle.

      I wish I were around when folk music was beginning its heyday. I could go to Greenwich Village clubs to hear my favorites. I also wish I was back in time to see all the singers and bands I love.

      I don’t think there has been a better time for music than in my time.

      • Hedley Says:

        Kat,

        You bring up a very interesting point – Who do I regret not seeing back in the day ?

        Top of the list would be Bob Marley and the Wailers. to which I could add Pink Floyd, Zep and, of course,The Beatles. Never saw Dusty either….oh well there were lots of shows on the telly.

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        I’d go see Dylan, The Beatles and so many more.


Comments are closed.


