“I’ve buried a lot of my laundry in the back yard.”

 

Today is miserable. The snow started early. When I first woke up at 9, I checked out the window and saw snow blowing north to south. I went back to sleep. When I woke up at 10, it had just started raining. I went out to get the papers and yesterday’s mail. Gracie was with me on her leash. She hated it and looked beaten walking close to the ground with her ears down. The street was pure slush, snow topped by rain. I left footprints right down to the street. Gracie finally peed then ran to the door. She should have stayed out as I know she still has more to do, but I wanted in as well. I was soaked. Later she wanted out again but didn’t take the plunge. The wind was ferocious so Gracie just backed into the house. We did that twice, both to no avail. She is sleeping now. I hope she enjoys her nap. My hair is still wet.

The first load of laundry is in the dryer. I threw the bags down the cellar stairs last night so I wouldn’t have to look at them anymore. This morning I decided to bite the bullet and do the laundry. I found a missing gray sock on the floor in front of the dryer so I reunited the pair. Two other socks wait for partners. I first thought them a pair but realized in the light one is black and the other dark blue. There must be another exact pair in today’s laundry.

On the Peace Corps Ghana Facebook page are pictures of current trainees doing their laundry. They are all sitting on the porch edge with buckets of clothes in front of them. Clean laundry hangs on lines behind them. I got a chuckle out of that bucket brigade. All through training, my group found Ghanaian women to pay to do our laundry. During the first two weeks of training, the women were from Winneba where we were staying. You gave laundry to them one day, and it came back the next, ironed and folded. The only exception was undergarments. Those we had to wash ourselves. I hated bucket laundry. In retrospect, I figure maybe a smidgeon of that feeling is responsible for two bags of laundry sitting in the hall for nearly a week. Maybe, though, it is just laziness, but I suspect running out of clean undergarments forced my hand and prompted my memories.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““I’ve buried a lot of my laundry in the back yard.””

  1. William Sandford Says:

    We have a foot of light fluffy snow. I hope it doesn’t turn into rain. Our town elections were postponed until Thursday.
    Our senseless governor kept the State offices open today. Last night he said towns could re-schedule elections at their own risk. I’m not understanding what the risk is….
    I’m repainting our stairs hallways and kitchen. Have to keep busy. No laundry for me.

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      By the weather report, I thought you’d be getting more. I’m glad it was only a foot.

      Nothing was closed including schools. It rained most of the day, heavy rain. The wind was amazing.

      Be careful. As an elected official you are part of that risk!

      Two loads of laundry finished though one is still in the dryer.

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    When I woke up at 5:30AM there was already a light dusting of snow on the ground. It was a pleasant snow storm for a few hours. I took the dogs out and they weren’t too unhappy about it. After putting the dogs inside, I went around to the back and filled up the bird feeders. Since I was near the cellar door, I went in and pulled my laundry out of the dryer and stuffed it in the laundry bag. By that time the wind had picked up and the snowflakes had gotten a definite sting to them. I hauled the laundry bag from the back yard to the front door. It’s easier than dragging it up the cellar stairs.
    At one point, I looked out the window and couldn’t see a thing. Just white. And it went on that way for quite some time. I think we got about 10 inches but I’m not sure. It changed to rain and compressed a lot. I’ve shoveled and snowblowed and the town plow has thrown it all back onto the walk. It’s tradition.
    The dogs are looking for the door into summer. I can’t say that I blame them. Today was nasty.

    Enjoy the evening and keep warm and dry.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      We had only a small amount of snow before it rained. At times the rain battered the windows and the wind was furious. Lots of branches came down but no big ones this time. By 4 the rain had stopped. All the snow is pretty much gone except the plow piles.

      Gracie backed up into the house more than she went out. Her nose sniffed the air, got wet and that was the end of outside. Later in the day she had to go out, but by then the rain had stopped so we roamed a bit and she finished her business.

      It was a quiet day. I did my laundry but that was it. I did take a nap with Gracie.

      You stay dry!!

  3. lilydark Says:

    Yesterday was a sunny day, and a few friends and I went to see a concert of Emma’s Revolution. They are the ones who wrote one of my favorite song ” Swimming to the other side”/

    Laundry? I don’t know why i just can’t get it together and put it in bags, so I can send it out. I’ve been trying for weeks. The washer in the back of the apt. is really unusable.

    Congrats, on your reuniting of socks.
    Stay dry.

    Take Care,
    Lori and the gang

    • katry Says:

      Lori,
      You send out your laundry? I love that. It is not so much doing the laundry as hauling it up two sets of stairs which bothers me.

      I don’t know that singer or song. I’ll have to check her out.

      Thanks! I had to laugh at my putting two different colors together.

      Thinking of you!


Comments are closed.


