“…disbelief in magic can force a poor soul into believing in government and business….”

Today is bright and sunny and will even reach 34˚, but I’m not taken in, not beguiled by the brilliance of the sun. I’m on to Mother Nature and her tricks. I know all that sunlight is just a cover for what’s coming: more snow. This time, though, we’ll get less. The Boston area will get clobbered with up to 2 feet while down here we’ll only get 2-4 inches, a mixture of snow and rain. For some strange reason, though, I feel cheated. I’m thinking it should rain or snow. A combination is just a mess. Mother Nature should know better.

All my icicles are melting in the sun. I can hear the drops. The road is wet from melting snow. Along the sides of the road, small puddles have formed from the piles left by the plows. I just hope all that water doesn’t freeze.

I loud bang accompanied by the sound of a howling cat woke me up this morning. I figured the bang was a falling icicle. The cat howls every morning so nothing was wrong. I rolled over and slept another hour.

My dance card is totally empty for the week. The meeting scheduled for tomorrow has been canceled. I have a to-do list which still includes my laundry which is still leaning against the cellar door. I guess I’ll work on finishing the list or at least get the laundry done. I admit I’m tired of looking at it.

I want some elves like the shoemaker had. I want to wake up to clean, folded laundry, the aromas of breakfast baking in the oven, and of coffee perking. When I get downstairs, I’ll find the table set with flowered dishes and a small clear vase with a couple of daffodils. The elves will have left, but I’ll see small footprints in the snow leading to and from the house then just disappearing.

Too bad wishing it away doesn’t get my laundry done.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““…disbelief in magic can force a poor soul into believing in government and business….””

  1. Birgit Says:

    Your upcoming snowstorm was already in our top news because a certain flight was be canceled. Just politics, nothing serious 😉

    Unfortunately we lost our helping house gnomes some time ago:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heinzelmännchen
    I could need some Heinzelmännchen too.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Logan Airport will be a mess tomorrow. People do have a chance to switch days with no penalty.

      I wish they’d think of relocating to lovely Cape Cod!!

  2. Coleen Says:

    Hey there, Kat…

    Just popping in for a moment to say be careful in the coming storm…

    I have battened down my hatches and consider myself ready for whatever happens…

    Who came up with that phrase anyway? 🙂

    Watch your footing, too!

    Coleen

    • katry Says:

      Coleen,

      I’m all set for the storm, a smaller storm than last week so for that I am glad.

      I did a bit of small shopping yesterday so I’m all set.

      You enjoy the storm from inside the house! Take care and be careful.

      Waving,
      Kat

  3. olof1 Says:

    Very windy here today and even if the morning was quite nice and warm it now is just boring. I have however cleaned up my kitchen and living room! That might be sign of a coming end of the world as we know it 🙂 The chimney sweeper came today and I cleaned up the mess while I was waiting for him.

    I even have new wipers on my car! Normally that’s no job to change but these were so tricky that the garage owner helped me to put them on 🙂 French cars are like the people, charming but quite difficult to understand 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I have the same sort of mood where nothing is going on so I usually clean a few things. It is just trying to waste the boring day.

      My car needs to be checked. The key is in the lock warning goes off all the time even when there isn’t a key.

      It is ugly out right now. I just want to stay here nice and warm.

      Have a great day!


Comments are closed.


