“I have a theory that movies operate on the level of dreams, where you dream yourself.”

Today is a repeat of yesterday. It is cold, bitterly cold. The day is pretty with a bright sun and a deep blue sky. The icicles hanging off the front of my house are melting. When I opened the door to get the papers, an icicle broke. I was reminded of a murder mystery I read where the weapon was an icicle which melted, and poof, the evidence was gone. I got the papers and stopped to check out the house. One of the icicles is long and very thick. It could be the weapon.

A snow storm is coming our way. Alexa says a 77.7 % chance on Tuesday. She also predicted close to 5 inches of the beastly white stuff, but that amount deserves only a wave of the hand dismissal. Is that the best you can do, Mother Nature?

I love the sound of crusty snow breaking as you walk across it, especially at night when the moon and the stars are shining. There are no sounds except the ones my feet make. My footsteps echo. Few people venture out on a freezing winter’s night. I always feel like I’m the only one awake.

If I were a movie, I’d be a Hallmark Movie. I’m a sucker for happy endings, and every Hallmark movie has one. In December, I was on a sugar overload. I got to eat cookies and watch at least one Hallmark Christmas movie a day.

My second choice, if I were a movie, would be a science fiction movie. I’d throw in some sort of disease, maybe an alien or two, a post-apocalyptic world where the cities are in ruins and heroes of every ilk who wear the same clothes throughout the entire movie. The aliens would lose. They usually do, even in my movie.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““I have a theory that movies operate on the level of dreams, where you dream yourself.””

  1. Bob Says:

    The big forecast rain event has missed us completely. I don’t think we got a drop at my place. A cold front came through which dropped the temperature to more seasonal high of sixty degrees. I need to get my car washed but every weekend we have had the threat of rain or just a sprinkling.

    If I were a movie I would be in a romantic comedy like “When Harry Met Sally”. In real life I could never go out or have a relationship with a woman who looks like Meg Ryan. In my version I would always get the beautiful girl. Hey, it’s my movie I can go for the superficial.

    I don’t have a second choice. When your with someone like Meg Ryan or other beautiful starlet who needs a second choice. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      That movie is a great choice. I really enjoy When Harry Met Sally. I thought Meg Ryan was attractive until she had the surgery. Yes, it’s your movie so pick and choose.

      I can’t commiserate with you and your weather. A high of 60˚ is a warm spring day, sometime in April or May. The high today was 20˚.

      You are right about no second choice. Meg will do just fine.

  2. Hedley Says:

    The Prince rocked out last night. I continue my adventure through the Bob 66 box. Generally the sound quality is good, mono and the material is repetitive. I am through 13 of 36 so I have a long way to go. I am sure there are many subtleties but I generally have it on.

    My Tottenham Hotspur hammered Millwall 6-0 to head for Wembley for the semi final of the FA Cup at the end of April. I am full of hope as I was for their last 6 appearances which were unsuccessful. Time to break the streak

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Your getting through all of that music sounds like it’ll take a lifetime. It’s like binging on a TV show, something with which I am familiar.

      I will cheer for Tottenham Hotspur. Perhaps between us we will help bring them a victory. They are due!

  3. Birgit Says:

    Happy end. I’m finally home. After 6 hours of exhausting chorus rehearsal the rail traffic was so chaotic I think they adopted African time. Waiting… no information… wrong information… waiting… run to other departure tracks… I can’t think anymore. Give me a nice soothing movie without music and trains. Oh wait, I still have work to do. Hot cocoa first, I’ll listen to your music tomorrow.
    Btw, I heard a Ghanaian singer yesterday, he calls himself Preacherman. 20 musicians at all and a great interesting mix of music from the Middle-East, Africa and European jazz. Another fine example why countries shouldn’t isolate themselves.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      It is always good to be home.

      I used to take the train a lot when I traveled through Europe, but I don’t take them here. The only train I manage is the subway. I used to stay at my mother’s, leave my car at the station and take the train to Boston or Cambridge. In the summer, the trains run to the Cape from Boston. I’d like to do a round trip on that one.

      Cocoa is one of the most relaxing of all the hot drinks. I don’t do tea. and coffee seems to go down quickly. Cocoa is sipped, and the cup should be held with both hands around it.

      I don’t know many current Ghanaian singers. Their music today has far more variety than when I lived there.

      The cape is not the place for much diversity in music though a couple of small venues do have a greater variety. I need to make a vow to see more concerts.

  4. olof1 Says:

    Cloudy but warmish weather here today, better wetaher is on its way but not until Wednesday they say.

    I would most likely be a scifi movie or a fantasy one with lots of magic and tragic endings, we do love those tragic endings here 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It is hunker down time for more snow starting in the wee hours. We, though, are lucky to get less than the rest of the state.

      I could be a science fiction movie easily. I do love all the gadgets and spaceships.

      Have a wonderful evening!


Comments are closed.


