“Feel the rhythm! Feel the rhyme! Get on up, its bobsled time!”

The snow is deeper on the lawns and gardens. The streets and walkways got wet before they got snowy. I took Gracie out front this morning because the back steps were covered above my shoes. My feet got wet anyway.

It is the brightest of days. The sun shines off the snow. The air is so clear even the smallest pine branch is having its day, its place in the sun with a blue backdrop, deep and cloudless. If it weren’t so cold, this would be the perfect day. It is currently 19˚with an occasional wind strong enough to sway the top branches. I have to go out later, but I’ll bundle up and I’ll put Gracie in her coat.

I figure kids are sledding at the golf course. It is one of the few places around with a good hill that’s safe from cars. I’ve stopped to watch a couple of times. The kids were using all sorts of sleds. I saw the traditional wooden ones like I used to have, but the plastic sleds far outnumbered the wooded. The circle sleds, the ones we called saucers, are still circles but are now plastic. Plastic sleds resembling toboggans had multi-riders, mostly smaller kids. Inflated inner tubes give a great ride but a wild ride with little control.

I loved sledding especially on the hill my house faced. Every kid in the neighborhood would be out either sledding or walking back up that hill. I always think sledding is as close as we can get to flying while staying on the ground.

The clock goes one hour forward tonight. I never understood daylight savings time when I was a kid, and I’m still a bit confused. Everything I’ve read says the energy savings are only negligible, and some have even found that costs are higher, since people in hot climates are more apt to use air conditioners in the daytime. The original reason was WWI and conserving electricity for the war effort. Daylight savings was repealed after the war but reinstated during WWII. After that war, it was never repealed. Some states honored the hour; other states didn’t so in 1966 Congress passed the Uniform Time Act, which standardized daylight saving across the country except in Arizona and Hawaii which didn’t choose to honor it. After all the reading I did, I’m still confused as to why. Tradition? Habit? Laziness to change the status quo? Nobody cares?

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Feel the rhythm! Feel the rhyme! Get on up, its bobsled time!””

  1. Hedley Says:

    The Prince is in the house but only for today. The chills of Michigan freeze the 250,000 homes still without power. I have entertained myself with the mundane and settled in to an afternoon of football and Thorpe’s biography of MacMillan. Supermac was to give way to Douglas-Hume and then Wilson. It’s readable and my mood is good.
    The Chapel calls , 5:30 services. Our place of worship was restored to power late yesterday.Guess the Big Guy allowed us a place of worship.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I’m glad you get The Prince if only for one day.

      I remember how cold I was when the heat went off for four or five days. It was 37˚. I had burned every piece of wood I had, even wood charcoal. I wore several layers and slept under 3 down comforters with a dog beside me under the covers and a cat leaning on me for warmth.

      I am going to take a nap.

      The Big Guy is partial to places of worship of every sort.

  2. flyboybob Says:

    I like daylight savings. Regardless of the minuscule energy savings having an extra hour of daylight to enjoy in the summer months after coming home from work is a nice feature. The folks in Arizona, except for the Pueblo Nation, remain on Mountain Standard Time because of the very hot weather in July and August. They don’t need an extra hour of sunlight and heat. I was in Phoenix last August and the temperature at four in the afternoon was 112F degrees. Although it was very dry, it’s still very hot.

    Cloudy skies today but comfortable at 72F degrees until the rain comes later tonight.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I don’t see that it makes a whole lot of difference. That hour of sunlight is just the original hour you had taken away in the fall. I’m surprised that all the traveling you do and the time changes don’t wreak havoc with your system.

      Right now is freezing!! It is 19˚. It has to be single digits with the wind chill.

  3. olof1 Says:

    Our daylight saving time starts the 26th and I don’t look forward too it. It’s no use here at all since we soon enough will have daylight most of the 24 hours of the day anyway 🙂

    The biggest lumps of snow are still here but most is gone now thankfully. It is an almost as good day today as yesterday so I’m enjoying every second of it.

    I grew up just beside the bigest park in my city so I had plentry of safe hills to sled down on. I’ve never been a winter fan but I did think it was fun sledding down those hills 🙂 but it mostly rained through winters so we barely got a chance anyway.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I never thought about all the hours of sunlight. I live in a distinct light or dark place. It is getting lighter for longer so I guess I should be glad.

      The snow will be here for a while. It is too cold for the snow on lawns to melt.

      I also loved to go sledding. Even when I was older we went on toboggans down the golf course hills.

      Enjoy your day!


Comments are closed.


