“The earth tucked herself in for the year with winter’s cold, white scarf of snow.”

When I woke up this morning, I ran to the window. It was snowing though the ground didn’t look as if the snow had started in the wee hours when they predicted it would. The brick walk in front of my house and the street were still uncovered. They were wet. The deck stairs had a bit of snow, but it was easy going for Gracie and me. She ran into the yard. I swear she was smiling. She loves the yard. I checked the news: no school. It was a decision based on what might be not what was. They were right. In the nearly three hours I have been awake, the snow on the tree branches has more than doubled in height and the street is starting to disappear. I keep looking. I am drawn to the window by the quietly falling flakes and the beauty of the snow.

In the two years I was in Ghana, I never missed snow though on the hottest of days I did miss winter. I missed seeing my breath and bundling in clothes to ward off the cold. I missed the comfort of a warm house on a snowy day. Only during the night and the early mornings at the beginning of the harmattan, in December, did I ever feel cold. It was wonderful to have my windows open to the cold and to snuggle under a wool blanket to stay warm. It was in the 70’s on those nights. I still have my wool blanket.

Gracie probably has arthritis in her left back leg. She is now on three new medicines. The pain med will last two weeks while the other two are for every day and should improve her overall leg joint movement.

When I was a kid, Duke, our dog, never had regular vet visits. He did get a rabies shot as it was required but the town used to give them, not the vet’s. The only other time I remember him going to the vets was when he was old and was mauled by a dog down the street. His neck was torn open. My dad said Duke would be fine taking care of it himself. My mother said nothing. My dad, who was working in Maine until we could move, only came home for weekends. While he was gone, my mother sneaked the dog to the vets who took care of the neck and gave him antibiotics. By the time my dad got home, Duke’s neck was looking better and was healing. My dad told my mother,”I told you so.”My mother, the wisest woman I knew, said nothing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““The earth tucked herself in for the year with winter’s cold, white scarf of snow.””

  1. Birgit Says:

    I discovered first snowdrops and croci and it looks like all garden plants survived this winter. It was even partly sunny today.
    Back from the Maggie Nicols concert, impressive singer and musicians and an intense concert, not the usual stuff.
    Enjoy your no-school-today day 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      After working so long in a school, even 12 years later, I still enjoy the idea of a snow day. They were always welcome even though they had to be made up at the end of the school year.

      You are lucky to be close to music!

  2. Bob Says:

    I don’t understand people who love winter sports like skiing. I hate being cold and wet which is the result of falling down in the snow. I love enjoying the great winter snowfall from inside a nice warm lounge with a roaring fireplace and a nice cup of hot chocolate. Besides the cold and wet I’m amazed at the number of people who go skiing and come back with a broken leg. Different strokes for different folks.

    Your mother was a wise woman. There’s a difference between a lie and keeping your mouth shut. The high rate of failed marriages these days may be a result of each spouse having to be right all the time and continually reminding the other one of their mistakes. One strategic way to ensure a successful marriage is for the husband to memorize the following mantra on his way to the wedding, the correct answer is YES DEAR.

    Today we again had clear skies and a high of 70 degrees. Rain and thunderstorms are forecast for the weekend.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I went skiing once, and when the skis took off down the hill with me on them, I got scared and threw myself to the ground. I never noticed the cold then. I was too scared. I’m now a stay inside and drink by the fireplace sort.

      My Dad would never have been able to finesse the way my mother did. He was a jump first check it out later sort.

      It snowed until the middle of the afternoon. It was fairly warm, but that is ending tonight. The cold is coming with record cold due tomorrow.

  3. olof1 Says:

    Our snow is almost gone and the weather sites predict warmer days and nights for the coming ten days but we all know how accurate they are in their predictions 🙂 I still hope though 🙂

    I must admit that I never would miss winter if it never came back. These warm winters we’ve had have been just wonderful. Still we will get lots of new insect bound diseases now when it gets warmer and more of them will survive during winter, so I might change my mind later on 🙂

    There were lots of myths going around about animals and their diseases and pain, they didn’t feel pain like we do and they didn’t need antibiotics, I’m so glad we don’t think that any more 🙂 Now days I see the vet so often because of Nova’s ear and Albin’s allergies that I don’t need to go to a health check every year, my vet know exactly how they are anyway 🙂 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I’ll trade my weather for yours. We are supposed to have frigid weather and more snow, perhaps, on Tuesday.

      I’d like snow at Christmas time, and that would be more than enough for me, but I know it’s necessary as it provides water when it melts. I know about those bugs. The paper today had an article about how active the ticks are already.

      Gracie’s health check is also when she gets all her shots except for her Lyme shot which she gets earlier. As she is old, I don’t mind her being checked.

      Enjoy your day!!

  4. Cuidado Says:

    I have a great song for you:

    Her other music is fabulous and not really like this one.

  5. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I don’t remember my father taking our dog Duke to the vet at all. I don’t remember if he had rabies tags or a town license. He may not even have had a collar to put tags on. There are photos. I’ll have to check.

    We had a dusting of snow in the morning. It stopped for awhile but then it started snowing very lightly and continued to do that off and on for the rest of the day. There was very little accumulation.

    The plumber came Friday. He fixed the leaky toilet and then he connected up the ice maker in the fridge. I listened to the fridge make ice all night long. 8 cubes at a time. The dogs were not pleased about that at first. They were sure that creatures were doing creature things in the kitchen. They’ve adjusted.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      Our Duke had a chain collar. He also had a license dangling off it. He didn’t have the rabies thingamajig on it. I don’t even know if he had one.

      We have snow! I might have gotten 6 inches, but it is difficult to measure except on lawns. Walkways and roads didn’t have snow piling on them for a while.

      None of the animals noticed the sound of the ice falling. The cats seldom reacted to new sounds and Gracie is more attentive to outside signs.


Comments are closed.


