“Getting an inch of snow is like winning 10 cents in the lottery.”

Gracie went to the vets this morning. It was a combination well dog, clip her nails and check her her back legs visit. I explained all the leg issues and how her paws slide on the floor and steps. The vet checked and thinks it might be arthritis. She prescribed some pills mostly for ease of joint movement. I should keep an eye on Miss Gracie, and if there is no change in three weeks, I’m to bring her back. Other than that, the vet thought Gracie looked wonderful for her age.

Yesterday afternoon was beautiful. The sun came out, and it was warm, almost hot. I bought lunch and ate it sitting outside. We did some errands and both of us, the dog and I, were glad to be out. Today it is 56˚. The sun is bright. A strong wind is blowing. You’d think spring but you’d be wrong. We are under a storm watch. The snow should start after midnight and continue during the day. They are predicting 4-8 inches. It could get as cold as 16˚. I’m going to pick up some storm goodies. The joke is people always buy bread and milk before a storm or a hurricane. I, however, will buy a chicken already cooked, some sweet potatoes, also cooked, some cole slaw, biscotti for breakfast and a couple of cupcakes. I’m thinking chocolate with white frosting.

When I was a kid and snow was expected, I’d periodically look out the picture window hoping to see furiously falling snow. The light below the streetlight right near my house was my weather watch spot. The light was bright so I could see the snow falling and blowing sideways in the wind. Once the snow started, I’d keep an eye on the street and front lawn hoping both would disappear under snow. No school was always the reason for the vigil. The worst disappointment was to go to bed during a heavy snowstorm and wake up to find there just wasn’t enough snow. It was time to get dressed for school.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““Getting an inch of snow is like winning 10 cents in the lottery.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Our snow is thankfully melting away rather quickly but we have still lots of it. No more predicted but it will get warmner again after the weekend they say, both nights and days.

    It’s always good to know what it is that’s wrong even if arthritis isn’r fun to get. I do hope the pills will help!

    We never had days when they closed the school because of snow so snow was just a mess we had to live with 🙂 Nowdays however they do close the schools so I’m a bit jealous of the kids today 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We will be getting accumulating snow according to the weatherman on TV right now. The cape and the rest of the towns close to the coastline will get the most snow, an inch an hour.

      I am relieved Gracie’s leg problem isn’t worse. She has been a bit better the last couple of days including going in and out of her dog door. I’m pleased.

      The snow has to be mighty or have the potential for mighty before school is called. No way would we be able to walk in 8 or more inches of snow if the sidewalks aren’t shoveled or the streets plowed.

      You had to make up snow days at the end of the year. The school year is 180 days, but when they draw up calendars for the schools, they have the school year be 185 days long then you deduct the days you didn’t use. So far they can deduct 2 days.

  2. Hedley Says:

    And the winds tore in to Southeastern Michigan, causing the biggest power outage in DTE’s history. 90% restored by Sunday night is the only estimate that they are giving.

    Every plug in my warm powered office has a device from home, taking a charge to deal with a cold house. My jukebox ipod and my Bluetooth B&O speaker will give me some break from the quiet later this evening.

    The driving adventure of no traffic lights just compounds the situation

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      The winds came today to towns outside Boston, winds as strong as 60 MPH, and they took down power lines, but I think they were out a short while, unlike yours!

      One winter my house got down to 37˚ before the heat came back on. How very lucky you have a spot where you can recharge your world.

      Just be careful driving!!

  3. Birgit Says:

    Oh, looks like ‘alternative’ weather, stay warm and safe! Hedley too!
    We’re still between winter and spring, just boring weather but at least two nice concerts this weekend. Maggie Nicols, a Scottish Jazz singer, tomorrow and an Oriental-African-European mix on Saturday.
    I hope the pills will help Gracie and I’m glad to hear that she’s okay otherwise.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Sometimes March has scant snow but three years ago March managed 20 inches. I’m hoping this is the beginning of scant.

      Spring comes very later here with the ocean on both sides so I have to say we’re still in winter!

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I can’t rely on my street light to tell me if there is snow. The town changed it some years ago and the type of light it uses always makes it look as if it has snowed.

    I had a productive day. The dogs went to day care and I did my taxes. The tax program was screwed up but I figured out what was happening and managed to get it to spit out correct returns. I emailed the company. They replied that they were sorry for the inconvenience and if I had to change something, file an amended return. Gee, thanks.
    Anyway, the jeep got a bath, the refrigerator got filled, the birds got fed, the bathroom and pantry got cleaned, and some laundry even got put in the dryer. I feel very accomplished.

    School cancellation anticipation was always exciting. I remember waiting to hear the fire whistle blow No School or to hear my town mentioned on the radio. Later on it was the kyron scrolling underneath the morning TV news announcers. It was like waiting for New Year’s Eve or something.

    I’m glad to read that Gracie is doing well.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      In my neighborhood all the wires are below ground so there are no street lights. If the moon is hidden and it’s late in the night, my street is totally dark.

      I applaud your accomplishments for today! Now I feel like a sloth. I got my laundry down one flight of stairs, one more to go, did a bit of grocery shopping, swept the kitchen and that’s it.

      I also remember waiting to hear the fire whistle announcing no school. In a way it is superior to TV as you don’t have to wait for the list.

      Gracie has seemed better the last couple of days. She chases and retrieves toys and goes out the dog door. The stairs still scare her, and I understand it is from her fall. I don’t mind walking her down the stairs.

      Stay warm this weekend!!


Comments are closed.


