Nowhere to Run: Martha And The Vandellas

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

10 Comments on “Nowhere to Run: Martha And The Vandellas”

  1. Hedley Says:

    Martha had a run on City Counsel for a while and still lives in Lafayette Park – Her kids and Grandkids are somewhere in Sterling Highs

    Nowhere to run to ? Perhaps or maybe she didn’t want to

  2. Hedley Says:

    Kat
    Go to http://www.telegraph.co.uk click on culture and if you scroll down, you will find an article on the 60 greatest female singer-songwriters of all time.

    Right up your alley

    • katry Says:

      You are so right, MDH. This is right up my alley. It was no surprise that Joni was number 1. Many I knew well while with some I knew very little.

      I was glad to be reminded of singers I like but haven’t heard in a long while.

      • Hedley Says:

        Judee Sill @ 57 was a lovely reminder

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        Too funny! I wrote down Judee Sill to remind me to check my files as I know I have some of her music.

      • Hedley Says:

        Kat, one of the strange things is that there is only 70 minutes of music that she recorded. The original album “Judee Sill” ran 33 minutes and “Heartfood” was 38.

        Her life was a maze of fact and fiction including drug addiction, prostitution and jail. She was the first artist that Geffen signed to Asylum. She died around the age of 35 in virtual obscurity and many did not know of her passing until years later.

        We say her several times on The Old Grey Whistle Test and in recent years there has been a renewed interest and the release of some live stuff and “outtakes”

        Once upon a time there were stories of a hidden third album “Tulips from Amsterdam” – there wasn’t.

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        I knew some of what you wrote about Judee’s life, but I had forgotten she died in obscurity. I will have to check to see what songs I have on my old external hard drive.


Comments are closed.


