“It is not the cook’s fault when the cassava turns out to be hard and tasteless.”

Mother Nature has it out for me. This morning as Gracie and I were going to the far side of the deck it started to rain. I walked Gracie down the stairs and went back inside the house. My sweatshirt had gotten wet. I then went to get the papers and yesterday’s mail. My sweatshirt got wetter, and I was cold. The rain stopped not long after I got into the house.

Today is much warmer at 40˚. It may even get as high as 45˚. A bit of sunshine would be welcomed, but I’m stuck with clouds and a rainy day. I suppose I’ll survive.

The other night I had a fluffernutter for dinner. I was in the mood for peanut butter and Fluff was the perfect partner. The only thing missing was Wonder Bread.

I love cheese of all sorts except blue cheese and any of its relatives. When I was a kid, we ate yellow cheese and only yellow cheese. It came in a block. It didn’t have much flavor but made for a wonderfully gooey grilled cheese sandwich. I don’t remember when I found real cheese. The first was probably cheddar.

In the beginning of Peace Corps training, eating Ghanaian food was cause for bathroom runs (think dual definition for this word). One night I fell asleep upright my back to the wall on one of the steps leading to the school bathrooms. I didn’t trust the distance between my room and the bathroom. It seemed to take forever, but by the end of training, my stomach had accepted its lot. Most of the time I was just fine though there were still moments. Ghanaian food can do that to you. Every time I visit Ghana I eat and drink what I want. Living here removed any fears or even thoughts of germs or diseases. It is what it is. I also make bathroom runs. They’re like the price of admission.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

16 Comments on ““It is not the cook’s fault when the cassava turns out to be hard and tasteless.””

  1. Bob Says:

    My father had a friend from Accapulco Mexico in the 1980s. He used to come to Dallas to buy sporting goods that had high tariffs to buy in Mexico. He was a veterinarian who had a part time job in the Mexican government as the head of small animals for the port of Acapulco so he could bring in goods without paying the duty. Once after we had dinner one evening he said that he suffered from George Wahington’s revenge when he came to the U.S.

    He also told me that we Americans are stupid because we elect a President for four years and can reelect him for another four years. When I asked him why, he said they elect a President for one six year term and he can’t be reelected. He said that their system was better because if their guy can’t become a billionaire in one six year term they don’t want him. 🙂

    Clear skies and high temperatures in the mid 60s.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      His argument sounded tongue in cheek or he is a most cynical man. Ex-presidents, especially popular ex-presidents, command a huge amount of money for speaking, and that’s just one way to keep their coffers full. There aren’ many who leave as billionaires.

      • Bob Says:

        In Mexico everyone in the government serve and collect graft during the Presidential term. When the new President is inaugurated he brings in all his own political cronies and they have six years to line their own pockets before the next election and a new set of cronies will take the jobs.

      • Bob Says:

        Just heard on the TV weather that the last freeze we had in Dallas was January 8th. Amazingly a warm winter. Out latest date for a freeze is March 15th.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Everyone? That’s sort of a broad condemnation that every single person who works for the government is corrupt.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Snow is coming!!

  2. Spaceman Says:

    Was watching travel food show visiting Jamaica – show said achey and saltfish was their national meal. Looked up achey since I never heard of it and it is native to Ghana and was transplanted to Jamaica. So are you familiar with with through your travels?

    • katry Says:

      Spaceman,
      I also looked it up in case it had a Ghanaian name in English as that sometimes happens. Bush rat was really grasscutter as an example.

      I haven’t ever heard of it and don’t recognize it from the descriptions.

      • Spaceman Says:

        Maybe more commonly called ackee. Was on the Andrew Zimmern show on Travel Channel. Interesting looking fruit and prep. I like most any Caribbean food, but local Island restaurants have limited menus. So made a mental note to give a try next time I’m in Nashville.

      • katry Says:

        Spaceman,
        I looked it up and didn’t recognize it by any name. There isn’t a Caribbean restaurant anywhere on Cape, more’s the pity!!

      • Spaceman Says:

        That’s terrible (lack of Caribbean eateries). Like what do people do when they get the craves for some jerk chicken or Jamaican oxtail? I’d be suffering some serious Island recipe withdrawal symptoms.

      • katry Says:

        Spaceman,
        Years back there was a Caribbean restaurant in Falmouth, an hour from here. We went there every couple of months. I loved the curry goat. The place closed, and I was devastated.

        Any cravings? You have to make it yourself.

      • Spaceman Says:

        Hey, curry goat a great choice

      • katry Says:

        Spaceman,
        My favorite was curry goat with plantains and a wonderfully tasting rice screaming the islands.

  3. olof1 Says:

    I do like blue cheese but I remember the first time I tasted it, I wondered why anyone would like to eat something that tasted like a candle smells 🙂 Nowdays they make really good mild ones and they works just as gooid by themselves on a cracker as they do with othger things on a sandwich. I’ll actually have some today with ham, tomatoes and ordinary cheese.

    Lots of snow here and we’ll get some more tonight but after that it’ll turn towards warmer days again, nights will be cold though they say.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I don’t like the smell or the taste. I have tried it a few times in case my taste buds had changed. They hadn’t.

      I know exactly what you mean by the smell of a candle, a taper.

      We have rain. It started yesterday and continues on and off. It is warm but freezing cold is coming in the next couple of days. I don’t know if it can get as cold as it was last Friday.

      Enjoy your evening!


Comments are closed.


