“You can’t get too much winter in the winter.”

Last week Boston set a new record warmth for the end of February. On Friday night the record for cold set in 1896 was broken. In the space of less than a week, we went from spring to deep winter. When I took Gracie out front to go to the bathroom on Friday night, I can’t remember ever feeling as cold, and Gracie was so cold she peed on the run to the front door. I took her out a couple of times more, but she wore her wool coat, and I was bundled against the cold. Gracie was quick each time. She deserved those treats when we got inside the house.

Today is sunny, a beautiful day if you’re sitting in the house looking out the window. It is 27˚, close to the predicted high of 29˚. The low will be 13˚. I have a couple of errands to do in a bit including the dump which I avoided the other day because of the weather.

When I was a kid, I remember watching Don Kent, the weatherman. Back then the days were fair, cold, snowy or rainy, the sort of description looking out the window might bring.  Nothing was all that specific. Some weather maps were on the wall while others were on large sheets of paper. They showed the whole country and gave current temperatures. Predictions were maybes.

Yesterday the Peace Corps volunteer living near Bolgatanga, where I had been, posted the current temperature and the high and low for the day. It was currently 99˚. The low was predicted to be 95˚ and the high 109˚.

Gracie just needed to go out so I went down the back deck steps holding on to her collar. I held on as she won’t go down the stairs alone; she is afraid of falling. With me, she goes down the stairs quickly and then runs into the yard. She doesn’t mind going up the stairs so I can leave her alone outside. Her back right leg slides. I’ll have the vet check what is going on when Gracie has her health visit. I do wish I had some sort of a dog bootie with treads.

I am spoiled. My house is cozy warm in winter and air conditioned in the summer. I’m living the good life.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““You can’t get too much winter in the winter.””

  1. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    When I took the dogs out at 7AM it was painfully cold. The wind was blowing and the Feels Like temperature was -2ºF. Rocky had his coat on but Piki Dog did not. He hates it and spends all his time trying to scrape it off. Rocky was quick. Piki Dog was picky. Rocky and I were not pleased that we had to freeze along with him.

    I remember when the isobars on the weather maps didn’t move. Neither did anything else on the weather map. No rippling oceans or clouds with precipitation coming out of them. How prosaic. I once read a Scientific American article about how much technology and money was involved in superimposing the green first down line on the television screen. I have to assume that all the animation on the weather map must have cost a bundle of dollars and brain cells just to make it entertaining for us. 🙂

    At least the sun was out today so the front porch was warm. I opened the door and let the heat in. It was warmer out there than inside.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      In the mornings I walk Gracie down the deck stairs as she is so nervous. She romps and does her business in the yard then comes inside. I do that with her until late afternoon. I then take her out front as the back is dark. The other night was about as cold as I ever remember it being. Even Gracie hurried inside.

      The weather reports are fun to watch. I like the real ocean off the state map. I do believe the cost of all the equipment must be astronomical. Plus the cost of all the computers for following the weather.

      Have a fun day tomorrow!

  2. Bob Says:

    The accuracy of the weather forecasts today is uncanny. With Doppler radar and various weather models used to predict the weather enables short range forecasts to be accurate to within an hour, Long range forecasts are still less accurate.

    This February we had a record 11 days at or above 80 degrees and the lowest number of below freezing days since records have been kept.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I am amazed at the accuracy of the weather and also the accuracy of their long-term predictions. Because we plan our days around the weather, we have to hope they are accurate. Nothing is worst a picnic on a rainy day.

      The last three days have been freezing!

  3. olof1 Says:

    The snow storm is still going on here, not so much snow any more though. My stomach ached and I felt sick so I am at home today, theyr eally didn’t want me to come to work today 🙂

    It’ll go down to 14F tomorrow night but after that it’ll turn towards warmer again thankfully, I really don’t like it when father frost decides to show his muscles this time of year 🙂

    They aren’t much better in predicting the weather now days, they just pretend they are. In a way it was much better when it was maybe or perhaps because then we didn’t expect anything really 🙂

    I’m pretty sure it’s Gracies back that is the problem, it sounds just as the problems all my big dogs had.

    Have a great day!

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      That is like a double punch: snow and being sick. There is a flu going around the country. My sister said 32 states. She, her husband and son have been sick. Down here two people I know have it. Spare me!!

      Cold will be here for a while. It has been awful, especially at night. Today is sunny.

      They do okay predicting the weather here.

      I’ll have the vet check her back. I can see how that could be the problem. She seems content when I walk her downstairs as she gets to run in the yard.

      Enjoy your day and feel better!


Comments are closed.


