Catholic School

Explore posts in the same categories: photo

14 Comments on “”

  1. katry Says:

    Alice Munro Quote

  2. Birgit Says:

    Maybe… eventually… there is a nicely written text about school days in your drafts folder the world is eager to read?
    Meanwhile I enjoy your chosen music. Ramones on KTCC 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I love school all the way through. The 8th grade was an aberration, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. My best friend, Jimmy, and I would leave early and tell Sister Hildegard we were going to the library. She’d let us go. We’d come back from lunch an hour late with some lame excuse she bought. It was such a fun year.

      I like to surprise you with the music!!!

    • Hedley Says:

      Gabba Gabba Hey

  3. Bob Says:

    When I teach new instructors I tell them about the left and right halves of the brain. People who are right handed tend to be left brained which means they are analytical and enjoy working on details. Left handed people tend to be right brained which means they are artistic and think in three dimensions. Among the general population left handed people make up about 10 to 15% of the population. Among pilots being left handed can be as high as 30%. I had a student who remarked that he thought he was left handed except the Nuns beat it out of him in parochial school. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      That lefty beating never happened when I was in school, and I had nuns at a time when if they wanted they could use a ruler on us.

      I don’t fit the right hand/left brained.

      • Bob Says:

        For some reason the Catholic Church believed that being left handed had something to do with devil. I guess those are now outdated and debunked ideas along with the Jews killed Jesus. BTW it was the Romans. 😦

      • katry Says:

        That was a long time ago that nuns made kids switch hands. Well before my time.

      • Bob Says:

        You’re probably right. When I was in China I saw no one eating with chop sticks with their left hand. One of my coworkers in China thinks he was naturally left handed but his parents made him switch.

    • katry Says:

      minicapt,
      I wore a uniform and so, in their own way, did the nuns. I had one sort of nun in elementary school and a different sort in high school. Most of my high school nuns were excellent teachers.

  4. im6 Says:

    Kat, I believe what Birgit is trying to tell you (perhaps too politely?) is there is no actual post from you appearing today — only the photo, quote and music, but no musings. Intentional or mistake? Perhaps you wrote it in invisible ink!

    • katry Says:

      im6,
      I got what Birgit was trying to say so I went back yesterday and thought I’d posted the missing musings. I guess I didn’t. I’ll check now and see what I can do. Thanks!!

      I went and checked and the post was there.


Comments are closed.


