“The worst thing about being a tourist is having other tourists recognize you as a tourist.”

The last few days Mother Nature has played with our heads. It has been spring warm. Even with yesterday’s rain, it was warm. Today is another warmish day with bright sun and a daytime temperature in the mid-50’s, but I’m not deceived. Mother Nature is still playing us and our weariness with winter. Tonight she’s dropping winter right back at us. It will be in the mid-20’s.

Yesterday I went to Hyannis for a doctor’s appointment. Ordinarily I would shop after my appointment but I decided, instead, to meander home on Route 28, the garish road filled on both sides by motels, restaurants, miniature golf courses and souvenir shops. Most of them are seasonal so they’re closed. Traffic was light. In the summer, that road is sometimes bumper to bumper as cars go slowly so people can gawk. The only places open yesterday were regular businesses and some of the restaurants. I saw some construction and was able to remember what used to be. One old house is gone, replaced by a park. My friend’s grandmother’s cottages are long gone, replaced by a hotel. They were the old time cottages, individual with a small porch and one outside metal chair. I helped paint them a couple of times. Each one had a view of the ocean. A couple of restaurants used to be hangouts when I was in high school. Jerry’s was prime. It is still there and still serves fried seafood, hot dogs, and hamburgers. The parking lot was always filled. Further up was the A&W with car service. I still miss that one. The building is there but it is a roast beef sandwich spot. The biggest loss was the drive-in. It was sold because it was prime land right next to the water. I don’t know who bought it but nothing has ever been done with that land. They could have left the drive-in.

I know things change. I expect it. It is nostalgic as I grow older. What used to be is important to remember. It is part of my story.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““The worst thing about being a tourist is having other tourists recognize you as a tourist.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    They are threatening us with two nasty cold nights next week and then it’ll beack to what we have now, some warm days and some chilly nights but they have been wrong before so I hope for no change to what we have unless it could be a bit warmer 🙂 The first cranes have arrived to the lake though.

    I’m not especially nostalgic, to be ho9nest I only think back when I read something here 🙂 I do miss all the small grocery stores and the vegetable store when I occasionally visit my old home town but never think about it otherwise. The library is actually still there but what used to be a huge place for me is now rather tiny 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We will have the coldest weekend in a while. That always happens. Poor working people miss the best days during the week and are stuck with weekends either cold or rainy.

      The cape is a tourist mecca, but it has also added so much for those who live here full time. Sometimes I’m thankful but other times I wish for the old days.

      Where I grew up has changed and I miss some of the stores like the butcher and the fish market, but I do like some of the new stores too.

      Have a great evening!

  2. William Sandford Says:

    No drinks or wild parties?? I won’t be going there.
    Our power just came on after 5 hours. Neighbor had a huge decayed pine go down across their driveway and it took out some wires. 895 homes on our circuit were out.

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      Not many parties end by 8!!!

      I’m glad you have a generator though it is still a warmish day. My wires are underground, but wires on the same line are above ground, and they cause the problems. At least it wasn’t at night when it is supposed to get so cold.

      Gone are the days of wild parties.

  3. William Sandford Says:

    No drunks, not drinks. My fingers are too big.

  4. Bob Says:

    Today is clear again with temperatures near 70F degrees. Allergies are going rampant here because we haven’t had a long enough hard freeze to kill the pollin. My cable TV, Internet and home phone went dead Tuesday and my wife and daughter stayed at my mother in law’s condo where the entertainment worked. I actually read books and enjoyed the quiet.

    When I travel I alway enjoy being a tourist. I love seeing all the tourist things but on my return I like to explore the other neighbors to speak out the places where the locals go to have fun.

    Dallas is a city where preservationists are outlawed and just because something is old doesn’t mean we have to preserve it for future generations. I get nostalgic when I drive through old neighborhoods where I grew up and discover all the houses and buildings have been replaced by new McMansions. Last Saturday I was driving around the neighborhood where I lived when I was in second grade. Nothing remains the way it was except for the street names,

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Right now at 6:30 it is really cold. I took Gracie out and my hands were freezing. The next few days will be winter.

      Most times, on my first day in a new city, I take a bus tour so I can see where everything is. After that I’d walk.

      I live in a town with historic houses and buildings. Just about every cape town has the same. Boston is tiny in some ways. The house where I grew up looks the same except the trees and bushes are really high.

  5. Birgit Says:

    Today I also took a detour back home but it was unintended and definitely not nostalgic. It took 2 1/2 hours and several stations and trains instead of 30 minutes because a railroad line was closed due to whatever. It was dark and cold and on days like these I just hate public transport.
    PS: I like the Knopfler-Atkins song.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I am never patient in traffic. I’m talking highway rush hour. Everyone goes the same direction in the morning and the same but reverse in the afternoon. I don’t do bumper to bumper well.

      I quietly sit at a red light.

  6. Heather Says:

    I enjoy reading whatever you have to say each day.
    I enjoy listening to the songs that you post.
    Along the line of “Change”, I was wondering if you have ever heard this one:

    Heather

    • katry Says:

      Thank you, Heather, for the kind words and for posting Dionne Warwick

      I don’t remember this song, but I must have heard it. I am a long, long time fan of Dionne Warwick’s. I was even lucky enough to see her in concert a couple of times.

      I haven’t heard Dionne Warwick in a while. It’s good to hear her again!


Comments are closed.


