“If anyone does not have three minutes in his life to make an omelette, then life is not worth living.”

Today is a bit cooler than yesterday, but it is sunny and bright with only a few clouds moving across the blue sky. It is a pretty day.

It was a leisurely morning. I had an extra cup of coffee and read most of the Globe. I’ll get to the Cape Times later.

I really love breakfast, especially eggs and bacon. When I go out, I get my eggs over easy and my bacon crisp. Nothing is worse than undercooked bacon. I also order rye or wheat toast, a necessity for sopping up the yoke spread on the plate. When I have nothing defrosted or planned for dinner, I always have eggs. Sometimes I make omelets with cheese and jalapeño and maybe a bit of ham if I have any. Most times, though, I cook my eggs over easy. I usually break a yolk.

When my parents and I traveled together, my father hated breakfast in most countries, England and Ireland being the exceptions. He said he didn’t want lunch for breakfast, didn’t want the cold cuts and cheeses my mother and I loved. In the Netherlands, at one hotel, they served an egg in an egg cup. My father was gleeful. He took his knife to lop off the top of the egg but the egg shell stayed intact. He tried again which was when he noticed the shell was broken. It was a hard-boiled egg. My mother and I felt bad for him. The poor man had such a look of disappointment.

I always had two eggs and two pieces of toast for breakfast in Ghana. The eggs were fried in peanut oil, groundnut oil to the Ghanaians. It added a wonderful taste to the eggs. When I came home, it took me a while to get used to the bland fried eggs.

I love deviled eggs. My mother made them for almost every barbecue. My friend Clare often makes them. I never make them myself, and I haven’t any idea why.

It is almost Cadbury egg day. The fried egg chocolate was the one I used to eat until the caramel and the chocolate eggs appeared. They are my favorites. In my Easter basket one year, my mother tucked in a small Matchbook size of the Cadbury creme egg car. It sits on the shelf in here next to the Spam car.

Okay, all this talk of eggs has made me hungry.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““If anyone does not have three minutes in his life to make an omelette, then life is not worth living.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    We did eventually get some sunshine but most of the day was grey and dull with misty rain, thankfully we could stay out of winds reach when we were out walking.

    Eggs must be one of the most usefull things we can eat, so many ways to use it and I never get tired of it. I rarely make an omelet, i rather make pancakes even if it demands a bit more work.

    I never have fried food for breakfast, U just can’t eat it that early. Odd since my entire family loves it 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We had some rain last night, but the days have been dry. Today is still sunny.

      I am not a pancake fan. I don’t like its consistency. I do like French toast, another great way to use eggs.

      My breakfasts are later in the morning as I don’t have to get up as early as you do. When I worked, I got up at 5 or 5:15 but now closer to 9 or 9:30. I like going out for breakfast.

      Enjoy your Sunday!

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I love deviled eggs and I never make them, either. Probably because it would be silly to make only two or three deviled eggs for just me. I couldn’t make a whole dozen because I would eat all of them. Not good.
    Omelettes are Sunday morning fare. I use olive oil when I cook omelettes or scrambled eggs. It turns out that olive oil is the best thing to use to for fluffy scrambled eggs. I only use it because it’s right next to the stove whereas the butter is several steps away in the fridge.
    And you have reminded me that I have Cadbury mini eggs stashed away in the kitchen. Thanks!

    It’s sunny and very windy up here. It’s 42ºF which is vastly different from the last couple of days. The wind makes it feel colder. I got used to that 70ºF awfully fast.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I think three deviled eggs might be the perfect amount. You’re right about that dozen. I’d be munching them until all were gone.

      My dad always made Sunday breakfast when I visited. It was fried eggs and bacon. He cooked the eggs perfectly.

      I’d never think of using olive oil. I like scrambled eggs so I’ll give it a try.

      What a find!!!

      It isn’t windy here. It is 44˚ which is the high for the day. We didn’t get your high temps so I am a bit jealous.

      Have a great evening!

  3. Bob Says:

    I’m not a big fan of eggs. Occasionally I like them fried over easy with bacon and either rye toast or an English muffin to sop up the yokes. Omelets and scrambled eggs just don’t thrill me. I hate hard boiled ones or egg salad due to a nasty experience with an egg salad sandwich while traveling across Texas on a Greyhound bus. However, I do like deviled eggs for some weird reason.

    One of my colleagues at work is raising chickens in his back yard and has promised to bring a few fresh eggs to work for me to try. I’m anxiously waiting to fry them up over easy and compare the difference in taste to the store bought variety. In the U.S. We must refrigerate commercial eggs because they are washed which removes the natural sealant that keeps the eggs fresh at room temperature. This is done to prevent salmonella bacteria from contaminating the egg when the shell is cracked.

    Cool and cloudy with a chance for rain tonight. I’m looking forward to the Oscar show to especially hear Jimmy Kimmel’s monologue and any zingers aimed at Trump from anyone. He has said that he’s not going to the Whitehouse Correspondents dinner and he’s the first President to skip it in 30 years. I would love to see Alec Baldwin attend in his place playing him as he does on SNL. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Your liking deviled eggs is a bit weird, but I understand your not wanting to eat egg salad. I don’t like the consistency of it. My mother used to make dropped eggs on toast as she called it. It is a much nicer a name than poached. I have those every now and then but only if I go out.

      The eggs in Ghana were from free range chickens. Sometimes the hen must have sat on the egg as I’d find an embryo. I learned what to look for so that happened only in the beginning of my service. What diet the chickens have influences their taste.

      The Boston Globe predicted Trump would get skewered. I hope the paper is right. I’ll be watching too for the same reasons you are.

      Trump couldn’t have dinner with the enemy. He’d have to have a food taster.

      I suspect Alec Baldwin will have a field day Saturday.

  4. Bob Says:

    As we approach St. Patrick’s day I thought everyone might enjoy this ad.


Comments are closed.


