“Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons.”

Gracie and I were out and about yesterday. The weather was amazing. It was sunny and warm: sweatshirt weather. Today is much the same, and Gracie and I have a few errands: buying canned dog food at Agway, a few storage bins at Benny’s and my favorite sandwich at Buckies, number 14: bacon and cheddar with tomatoes, avocado, and horseradish sauce on a panini. Life is good.

Snow is still around on corners and in the shade, but it is warm enough that I can leave my inside doors open to the storm doors. Gracie goes in and out her dog door, and, best of all, she gets to watch the doings on the street from the front door. She sits and looks hoping for a bit of activity. Every now and then she barks. I check, and usually it’s someone walking a dog. Gracie does not like dogs walking on her street and makes no bones about it.

I have a new bird feeder, a bag of sunflower seeds, and two packs of suet. Cleaning the older feeders and filling them is on my to-do list for later. Loading my shotgun to attend to the spawns of Satan is next on the list (okay, I don’t have a gun, but I do wish the spawns would disappear).

I haven’t used real money in a while. The 3 dollars in my wallet are weeks old. Mostly I use my ATM to pay for stuff though sometimes I do use my credit card, mostly at the pharmacy. I don’t write many checks anymore. I pay my bills on line or have the amounts automatically deducted. I don’t really need much money. It seems to have gone out of style.

When I went to Ghana last fall, I brought some cash but mostly I used my ATM to get money as no one in the markets, the small stores and kiosks or the sides of the road take other than cash. I did use my ATM card at Zaina Lodge and my credit card in one large shop by the ocean in Accra. Money still counts in Ghana. I kept a pocketful.

Gracie is giving me the paw, her signal that it’s time to eat. I doubt she’ll accept that I have none left so I need to get going. Gracie want to eat!

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons.””

  1. Birgit Says:

    I’m old-fashioned, cash for privacy reasons and no online banking for security reasons as long as possible.
    Storm, rain, hail and carnival here, four good reasons to stay at home.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I haven’t had any problems.

      I like checking out my account on line to see the deductions and copies of the few checks I send.

      Gracie and I were out for an hour or so. It was chillier than I expected so no open window for Gracie. We both were happy to get home.

      The night is warmer than usual at 49˚.

  2. Bob Says:

    Why are we the only country that still circulates single dollar bills instead of coins and why do we still have pennies? Between online banking, ATM machines and debit/credit cards who needs cash.

    BTW pennies are the result of the lead lobby. There’s very little copper in a penny because it’s mostly made of lead.

    We hit another record high temperature of 85 degrees under clear skies. Only Trump and his oil industry buddies can deny global warming. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Lots of people don’t trust online banking. What would The Dollar Store do?

      Pennies I find quite useless. Those 99¢ prices are silly.

      We were at 52˚ but only for a little while then it got chillier. Right now it is 49˚ which is still quite warm for nights this time of year.

  3. olof1 Says:

    Very few use cash here in Sweden, we all have our bank cards, with or without credit and it’s so much easier to be honest. I think we still can use checks here but I don’t know about anyone that actually does that now days. I remember when I had my garden center and someone wanted to pay with a check, the entire place got so quiet that one coukld hear a needle fall 🙂

    Sunny, windy and cold here today but I enjoyed every second of sunlight I got when we were out walking. We were out by the bog and mostly trees protected us from the wind. I really should have brought a thermos with tea 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I don’t remember the last time I saw someone pay with a check. More people seem to use cards rather than money. Even when they deliver pizza and such I can use my card.

      We are still having warm days, but that will change this weekend. I’m glad the wind is being kept at bay!!

      Have a great evening!


Comments are closed.


