“The most serious charge which can be brought against New England is not Puritanism but February.”

Today is a bit of a gift from Mother Nature, and considering how many times I cursed her this winter, I am surprised by her generosity. It is sunny and warm, even springlike. A few puffy clouds add texture to the blue sky. A breeze ruffles the brown leaves. It is a day to be outside. I’m working on getting there.

My neighbor put my newspaper on the front steps for me this morning. I saw it and one other paper when I opened the door. The other paper is the Cape Times from February 13th. I have no idea where he found it. I didn’t  miss a paper. I figure it must be my neighbor’s, and it got tossed here with the snow when her driveway was shoveled.

Small mounds of snow are still visible but only on the corners of the streets. Between the rain and the above freezing temperatures, the snow had no chance. I’m glad it’s mostly gone.

My front lawn, mostly on one side, is a total mess. It is covered with branches and needles from the tree sized branch which fell. There are long gashes on the grass. I’m thinking that whole side of the lawn may need a reboot.

This is school vacation week. I used to like traveling to one place for the whole week. My mother and I spent this week in Rome on our last vacation together. We saw it all. One of my favorites was the catacombs, a couple of bus rides and a long walk away.

Each night we’d have a drink in the bar before going to our room. My mother had cognac. That was a shock. My mother was a whiskey and coke drinker. When I mentioned my shock, my mother said it was vacation mode when anything goes. I loved that.

My week will be quiet. Actually, the rest of February will be quiet. I have an empty dance card until March.

Gracie needs to be fed, and I need to get dressed in my outside the house clothes. We are going out to enjoy the day.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

22 Comments on ““The most serious charge which can be brought against New England is not Puritanism but February.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    Is Christer ok ? Following the combo-over’s comments about the terrorist attack “last night” on “Sweden”, I am hoping that our friend is ok
    My thoughts are with the people of Sweden. Be well, stay safe…Christer let us know that you are ok

    – May someone from the Fourth Estate secure and release the Golden Showers tapes.

  2. Bob Says:

    This February is now officially the warmest on record with ten days of over 80F degrees. Clouds are gathering as the upper level low that drenched Southern California yesterday heads our way.

    Interestingly, Trump made his case against globalization while at a Boeing assembly plant where B787 aircraft are assembled from parts manufactured around the globe. I’m glad that he decided to on a campaign swing through Florida yesterday. I guess he’s already running for reelection. 🙂 Thankfully, a Republican adult, John McCain, had the gonads to speak out against Trumps latest assault on the press. Trump even tweeted his favorite targets by name, NY Times, NBC, ABC and CBS news.

    If the situation of having a President that doesn’t read and can’t separate a lie from a fib weren’t so serious, it could be an episode on a reality TV show. Oh, Apprentice President….LOL

    • flyboybob Says:

      Whenever you think about Trump you can compare him to Alan King’s, the dumbest man he ever knew. Another good laugh.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      We haven’t had the warmest February. It started out that way then the cold air came back, and now it is an average temperature for the month.

      Trump filed for the 2020 election just after he was elected. That allows him to collect money for the cause.

      The news on NPR discussed cars in the same way you mention aircraft. The commentator named many of the parts of cars made outside the country but which end up in American made cars.

      John McCann speaks out, but he still follows the party line in the confirmation voting. His vote could have put an end to the worst choice for education secretary, DeVos, but he stayed with all the other republicans except 2 brave souls.

      His followers believe everything coming out of his mouth.

      • Bob Says:

        I think he realizes that freedom of the press is an important constitutional issue. I’m not convinced the President has ever read the Constitution or even the bill of rights. They can’t be boiled down to less than nine bullet points. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        The first agenda on the list of any dictator to be is to destroy the press so that they are no longer believed. Fake news!

  3. Birgit Says:

    Have a great day out!
    Neither vacation nor sun here, just cold weather and cold war again…
    Well, at least I don’t live in dangerous Sweden 😉

    • Hedley Says:

      Stay safe Birgit..the comb over could name Bochum next…and hello from London

      • Birgit Says:

        Hedley, take away his twitter acount and I doubt that he can pronounce it 😉
        You both have a great time in London!

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Sweden joins the 2 US terrorism acts which were also figments of the imagination: KellyAnn’s Bowling Green Massacre and Spicer’s terrorism in Atlanta.

      It was a great day on the road for a couple of hours.

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Bits of my lawn are starting to appear on the edges of the snow pack. I should say strips of mud are appearing on the edges of the snow pack.

    Today was lovely. We took a couple of walks. The last walk I did in my flip-flops. There were a couple of spots with icy water but, for the most part, my toes were happy.
    Even Piki Dog was happy. He found a tiny circle of dried leaves upon which to do his business. It was on top of someone’s low retaining wall so balance was a bit of a problem. Life is tough when you’re not adaptable. He’s been climbing up inside the neighbor’s arbor vitae and doing his thing up in there. I’ve watched him. I still don’t know how he did it. Silly dog.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I have a few shoots in two different spots in the front garden. I’m thinking they’re really early or maybe they know something about the winter that we don’t.

      We went for a ride, and Gracie was happy as I bought special dog biscuits at one stop. She had her head out the window for a while. Her jowls blew in the wind.

      I’m glad for Piki Dog. I have to think he is quite satisfied with his chosen spots to do business.

      Enjoy the evening.

  5. Spaceman Says:

    Your site is getting political

    • katry Says:

      Spaceman,
      My Coffee folks seem to like venting in the comments. I reply to all of them.

      My daily musings are staying out of the political realm for the most part, and I will keep trying to do that. I want my musings to relate to everyone with no taking of sides of the aisle.

  6. olof1 Says:

    Warm and rainy here today and I don’t mind even if it gets a bit too muddy when the ground still is enough frozen to not soak up the water. It is after all February so warm days are loved here 🙂

    We had school vacation here last week. I’m not sure why but they split thge country in three parts when it comes to February vacation as we clla it. Southern Sweden had last week, the middle part this week and the northen part the week after this one.

    I have thankfully very little lawn on the front side and I’m planning on making it even smaller with some bushes 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      Warm here today but not sunny and a bit colder than yesterday. My backyard has a little mud but not enough to worry about. At my mother’s house, her backyard turned totally to mud. When I visited, I used to have to wash the dog’s paws before they could some inside the house.

      They call it February vacation here too though it has been called winter vacation too. Many states don’t have it. In Colorado, my sister has a March vacation. (We also have one in April, the spring vacation).

      My front is all grass, and it used to be a good one.

      Have a great day!


Comments are closed.


