“The best bridge between despair and hope is a good night’s sleep.”

My neighbors didn’t try to break-in with their mirrors to test my breathing. I don’t know why they didn’t check or at least call as my newspaper was sitting in the driveway until noon. Maybe there needs to be a stack of papers before the neighbors notice.

I slept so late to make up for the interrupted sleep on Thursday when Gracie was shaking enough to wake me up three or so times. I took her out each time then gave up the bed to sleep downstairs on the couch.

I think I’ve figured out the shaking. It has nothing to do with going out. When I turned the bedroom light on to get ready to go downstairs to take her out, Gracie was always by the edge of the bed looking nervously at the floor. I’m now thinking she might have fallen off the bed, but I can’t imagine when. She is always with me upstairs so maybe it was when I was gone; anyway, last night I decided to switch sides of the bed. It was easy, and it worked. Gracie and I both slept the whole night and the whole morning. We didn’t wake up until noon. She didn’t shake once all night. Solution found though the question still lingers.

Today is a beautiful, warm sunny day. There is a breeze and sometimes even a wind which makes the pine trees sway. The oaks still have brown leaves at the ends of branches. I know spring is coming, it always does, but I get impatient around this time of year. I figure winter has held sway for far too long. The snow last week was the final straw.

My front garden has green shoots. I think they’re daffodils. I also think they’re brave and I do hope they survive. February isn’t finished yet, and March can be snowy.

Baseball spring training is in full swing.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

9 Comments on ““The best bridge between despair and hope is a good night’s sleep.””

  1. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    This must be the week for sleep deprivation. I had one of those nights where I fell asleep at 8:30 PM and woke up at 11:30 PM and couldn’t get back to sleep again. I think I finally fell asleep around 5:30 AM. The dogs woke me up a couple of hours later. I made up for it the next night with a solid 9 hours of sleep.

    There is nothing in my yard but snow. Dirty snow in the front and relatively clean snow everywhere else.
    February has PR problems. It’s post holiday. It’s an extra and unwanted month of winter. It tends to be snowier than the other unwanted months of winter. Its only plusses are that the days are noticeably longer and there are fewer days in it.

    Today is sunny and relatively warm up here. The snow is melting very quickly.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I couldn’t believe it was noon when I woke up. Gracie was right there beside me being quite patient. Now she’s napping.

      Most of my yard has no snow. There are a few plow piles, and that’s about it. We had all that rain and now it’s warm.

      I always had a week’s vacation in February so that saves the month for me. I used to travel.

      It was a lovely day here too.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      Gracie slept right beside me the whole time. I’m wondering if she thinks I’m crazy taking her out all those times when she shook. She has already had a couple of naps.

      Most of the snow is gone here. The only piles are those left by the plows. My front lawn is a mess of pine needles and sticks. It looks awful.

      I always had a vacation in February so I didn’t mind the weather. Usually, I traveled as it was a great month for fares.

      It was a beautiful day here too.

      Have a great evening!

  2. flyboybob Says:

    Just came back from a lovely Mexican lunch with my wife and daughter on a gorgeous sunny mid seventies day. Tomorrow will bring much needed rain.

    Spring training is in full swing and the hapless Rangers will open up on April the first with everyone else in first place. The Rangers have yet to win the World Series. Maybe this is the year that they can get past the Blue Jays, or beat the Cards or the Giants.

    Woman generally live longer than men and this Alan King video caught my eye. I need to share something humorous that didn’t originate in the White House.

    • katry Says:

      Bob.
      I remember watching Alan King on TV, and I remember that cigar he uses as a prop. Thanks for a few laughs!

      The Sox are looking good this year. They seem to have the pitching, but David Ortiz will be missed.

      Have a good weekend!

  3. Rick Oztown Says:

    Glad of a good night for you.

    I’ve tilled our garden & have assumed the gardener mantle for this year, at least. P says none for her. I’m planning large & small tomatoes, cucumbers, green beans, pinto beans (love ’em as snaps!), okra, & some choice 🌶! We have doors & windows open with high of 85 today! Average last frost is from yesterday to 2/27, depending on where I look. Time to get busy!

    Over…

    • katry Says:

      Rick,
      Thanks! I had the best sleep last night.

      Wow, we don’t get temperatures that high until August. When it is 50˚ here like today, it is cause for celebration, party time.

      I have a small garden but I didn’t grow anything last year. I need to fertilize so I can plant. I do love fresh stuff from the garden.

  4. olof1 Says:

    We had a rather nice day here yesterday, chilly and foggy morning but warm and sunny afternoon. The wind started toi blow rather late in the day and it sounds as if it blows even harder today. They say we’ll reach 41 today.

    It isn’t easy for anyone to get old but I always feel it’s a bit worse for dogs. Falling out of bed would probably never worry Gracie when she was younger, nor would the stairs either so I’m glad You managed to solve that problem!

    It’s really too early to think of spring already but these warmer days build up hope for an early spring. Winter can hit way in to late April if we’re unlucky so I’ll just enjoy these warmer days and hope that we won’t have a setback at all until spring finally arrives 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I’m glad you had a nice day. This time of year they are necessary to keep us from going crazy because of winter. We have no sun today, but it is warm.

      I feel so bad about Gracie. I know it is because she is an old boxer, but I worry. The trip today down the stairs wasn’t easy. If I hadn’t been there, she would have fallen, but I am there to save her.

      We don’t generally have snow in April, March maybe but no later than that.

      Enjoy your day!


Comments are closed.


