“My knowledge of computers begins and ends with hit power switch, magic box comes on.”

When I start to mutter and it morphs into cursing, you know I have reached the end of my patience. Sometimes it takes a long while t other times it doesn’t take so long. It happened this morning, the cursing out loud and the long while. My computer is not cooperating. It has frozen a couple of times. I restarted once then gave up for a while and just left it on. I watched a bit of TV, ate some toast and had another cup of coffee.

I’m watching a really bad movie filled with actors who never became stars and are now relegated to movies like this and unknown actors just glad for the chance. The movie is called Awaken. Avoid it at any cost, even if it’s free. Oops, Michael Pare just bit the dust.

The morning was cold, mid 30’s, but sunny. Since then the day has gotten warmer and is in the mid-40s’. The sun has stayed around for the first time in days.

My house is a giant dustbowl especially here in the den. It’s where the cat, dog and I spend most of our time. The cat sleeps on the chair while the dog and I share the couch. She gets two cushions because she stretches out when she naps, like now, and I get one.

I can’t take it anymore.  I watched the end of that horrible movie and for the last hour I have been sitting here waiting for my computer. It has returned, but I am done.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““My knowledge of computers begins and ends with hit power switch, magic box comes on.””

  1. Bob Says:

    The rule of computers is that hardware fails and software sucks. 🙂 I’m amazed how reliable my four year old iPad works. I have almost completely stopped using my iMac for anything except storing files.

    I stayed home today to recuperate from the crud and slept most of the day. I have a busy week coming up and would like to feel one hundred percent. I managed to squeak by feeling like crap since last Saturday.

    Sunny skies and warm weather today and forecast for tomorrow. However, Sunday is forecast to be wet and stormy lasting through Tuesday. We can use the rain.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      The iMac is my only computer. It needs more space so that’s on my list. The dog going to the vet’s a few weeks back took my put away cash so I need to stash a bit more.

      I’ve been far healthier since I retired. I don’t have all the germs of those kids.

      Similar weather here for tomorrow. It could get to 60˚ in Boston, 50’s down here.

  2. olof1 Says:

    That’s the only thing one can do with computers, wait and hope for the best 🙂

    I woke up at 3:36 fullly rested and it is no use in going back to bed so I’ll see if I can find a bad movie on tv, that’ll usually make me doze of 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      Tonight, the computer is just fine. That’s a good thing as I was really frustrated.

      You could watch the really bad one I watched. It was bad enough to put you to sleep.

      Maybe a nap later.

      Enjoy your day!


Comments are closed.


