“The snow itself is lonely or, if you prefer, self-sufficient. There is no other time when the whole world seems composed of one thing and one thing only.”

Last night was warm and clear. I took Gracie out front before bed, and she was far more interested in the night so we came back inside. That was our regimen. She’d wake me up and she’d be panting and shaking. We’d go back down the stairs and back outside. That happened three more times. Finally, I decided to sleep on the couch and so did Gracie. We slept the rest of the night. Wouldn’t you know it?

We got a couple of inches of snow during the early morning, and it is still snowing. The wind is blowing the flakes sideways, and the pine trees are swaying back and forth. My car and walkway are covered again. Gracie had been going down the back steps again, but I won’t have her go down when the stairs are slippery.

The classroom I remember the best was my very first school room. It had a cloakroom right outside accessible by two different doors in the front of the room. We were on the first floor. Our side windows looked out over a driveway, a border fence and some houses. The back windows looked over the school yard, which became the parking lot on Sundays. We were all subdued on days like today. We’d keep looking out the windows at the falling snow. It was mesmerizing. It still is.

No cars are on the road. It is not a day to be out and about so I’m staying home today. I’ll take the dog out when necessary, but I won’t like it. It’s an ugly day with little to commend it. I’m glad I have heat and electricity, a fairly full larder and Netflix. I’m thinking popcorn and a good movie are perfect to while away a snowy day.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““The snow itself is lonely or, if you prefer, self-sufficient. There is no other time when the whole world seems composed of one thing and one thing only.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    We had a rather nice but slightly chilly day here, sunshine all day because it’s a working day 🙂
    It was I who kept us all awake during trhe night because I’ve started coughing a lot again. This cold will either kill me or make me so strong I’ll never get sick again 🙂 🙂 At least I don’t have any fever.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      No sunlight for the last four days, just clouds, rain or snow. I’m forgetting what it looked like.

      I’m sorry about that cough. It seems to be eternal. I hate it when a cough keeps me awake. I usually go downstairs and sleep upright on a chair. That usually works.

      Fell better!

  2. William Sandford Says:

    10+” here and very windy. Our Florida flight was cancelled today, and all flights out of NH were cancelled. We’re supposed to go Tuesday.
    Did the falling tree damage the little library?

    • katry Says:

      Bi,,
      Here I was thinking you escaped winter. I’m sorry the snow kept you here another day.

      The tree fell in the opposite direction and missed the little library. It broke one fence piece I’ll have to replace this spring.

      I was lucky.

      Safe travels!

  3. Birgit Says:

    Just in case you’re wondering, the sun is on a Europe trip for a few days, you’ll probably get it back on Thursday.


Comments are closed.


