“Happiness is a hot bath on a Sunday afternoon.”

The clouds are storm clouds, maybe carrying a couple of inches of snow, but I wouldn’t mind. The new flakes will cover the dirty snow left on the sides of the roads and the sawdust and small branches covering the snow on my lawn.

Gracie went down the back steps this morning. I was going to lead her down, but she left without me and made it down safely. On the inside steps, though, Gracie’s back leg slides so I stand beside her as she goes from step to step.

The house is getting dark, but I like the feel of today. It is a comfortable day, a day to stay warm and cozy. The cat and dog are sleeping. The dog is snoring, not unusual.

When I was a kid, days like today sometimes made us quiet. We could sit and watch TV and say very little, just watch the shows. We never fought about what to watch. There weren’t many choices. We had a schedule we kept to every night. Mostly I remember the years of the westerns. I swear we watched at least two every night. I remember watching The Adventures of Rin, Tin, Tin, of Wild Bill Hickock, Kit Carson, and Jim Bowie. Rin, Tin, Tin was my favorite Adventure. I watched Annie Oakley and Bat Masterson and so many more. I think that’s why I’m not a fan of westerns. I’ve had my fill already.

I used to like to lie in bed under the covers with my headboard lamp shining on my book. It was always quiet. The noise was downstairs. Sometimes I’d take a nap but not on purpose. I just fell asleep.

We usually had a 1 or 2 o’clock Sunday dinner because it was also the day of eggs and bacon for breakfast so we weren’t hungry until later. My favorite was roast beef, but we had roast chicken more which I never really minded. Always mashed potatoes, LeSoeur peas and one other vegetable.

My mother used to use the school night argument to get us to go to bed early. We’d argue and got a bit more time. My little sisters went first then a half hour or so later my brother and I went to bed. I don’t remember much after that. I easily fell asleep.

Sunday can be the best day of the week sometimes.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““Happiness is a hot bath on a Sunday afternoon.””

  1. Bob Says:

    All quiet here today. Yesterday some areas to the West of the DFW area hit 90F degrees. Today, after the cold front came through knocked us down to 70F degrees right now. Cooler weather and rain are predicted for Monday and Tuesday. All this crazy weather has resulted in a head cold.

    Sunday’s were always quiet in our house. My father bowled in a league on Sunday mornings and we usually went out for dinner. In the 1950s Dallas was a resturaunt vast wasteland. There were numerous steak places, Mexican and Barbecue resturaunts. We found a couple of Chinese and Italian resturaunts. You never lived unless your gum chewing waitress looked like Flo, from the TV series Alice, asking us if we wanted white bread with our Chicken Chow Mein. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I’m laughing at your cold front. That would be a record high if it were here. Today is damp and raw. I stayed inside.

      I saw a few gum chewers at Kitty’s, the Italian restaurant in the next town. It was known for good prices and big servings. It was one of the few places we went out to eat.

      At Durgin Park in Boston, the restaurant is known for wisecrack waitresses. The restaurant is a Boston institution.

  2. im6 Says:

    Sad news out of Los Angeles today. Al Jarreau has died at 76. I was lucky enough to see him perform live when he first started touring (this was around 1975) and it was an amazing display of vocal gymnastics. I often get annoyed when singers “show off,” but Al had the chops to justify his doing so. This is one of the first songs (the title cut from him first album) I ever heard by him and it made me into a fan for life.

    • katry Says:

      im6,
      I was always drawn to Al Jarreau’s voice. I can’t tell you how, but I could almost feel the words the way he sang them.

  3. Bob Says:

    Just in case you missed it, SNL

  4. im6 Says:

    Here’s Al showing off 🙂

    • katry Says:

      im6,
      I am not a fan of scat, but this song took scat to a way higher level, and I went with it. The words morphed into something different, a song, for a while, which I really liked. It ended with scat which I didn’t like.

      He certainly did show off.

  5. Birgit Says:

    TV Sunday meant and still means The Show With The Mouse before noon, a popular 30 minutes TV show for kids with fun and education which runs for 45 years now. It often ends with Shaun The Sheep or like today with a puppet captain story. Many people like me who grew up with this series still watch it. According to wikipedia the average age of viewers of this show for kids is 39 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      That’s funny: the average age for the kids’ show audience.

      I love the title, the whole story of what you’re gong to watch.


Comments are closed.


