“You can’t get too much winter in the winter.”

The tree is gone, reduced to its smaller pieces and stacked on the side of my yard. The lawn is covered in snow, sawdust, small sticks and pine needles. The only victim of that tree is one section of my front fence. It is standing only because it is propped by a pine branch. Come spring, it will be replaced.

Last night it snowed another inch or so. This morning, the car was covered as was the path from the house, around the tree to the car. The walkway got shoveled after the tree was gone so I can now use it to get to the car. As I have to go out today, that’s a good thing.

The day is in the high 30’s so some melting is happening. The roof line of my house has icicles hanging from it. They look pretty, almost like a postcard: Welcome to Winter in New England. Speaking of ice, I’ll have to remember to spread the meltaway on the front steps. It will get below freezing tonight.

The sky is gray and looks to be threatening rain. The snow always gets ugly when it rains. It becomes pock-marked then disappears from all but the huge piles left by the plows. The best day is the day after the snowstorm when the snow is still beautiful and clean and sparkles in the sun. That was yesterday.

My Christmas lights still come on every night. The centerpiece is the star with trails of lights. It shines from the top of my driveway fence. Last night my neighbor called to thank me for leaving the lights. She was surprised to see they had made it through the storm, but, if she had looked, she’d have seen them covered with snow but still shining through on the night of the storm. I love the lights. I just can’t take them down. They are my defense. They keep the darkness of the winter’s nights at bay.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““You can’t get too much winter in the winter.””

  1. Bob Says:

    This crazy winter continues with high temperature forecast to hit 85 F degrees in the DFW area and some places to the west of Ft. Worth might even hit 90 F. Today I went to lunch under clear skies in a sort sleeve golf shirt and jeans.

    Of course the White House is far more concerned with Ivanka’s line of stuff being dropped by Nordstrom. There’s no conflict of interest. Sadly ICE is moving quickly to deport undocumented people in so called sanctuary cities such as Austin Texas. Austin was once described by our Secretary of Energy, Rick Perry, as a blueberry in a sea of red.

    I’m feel much safer as a result of those raids. πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, there will be no one who wants to climb on the roof in the summer to replace the shingles.

    This seems worse than the Nixon years. Every President bends the truth a little but comb over is a contouring fibber. He even beats tricky Dick and George W, in falsehoods. We never found those weapons of mass destruction in over ten years in Iraq. πŸ™‚

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      It is dark and cold here but above freezing so the main roads are down to pavement. The side roads like mine are a bit mushy. Rain tomorrow.

      Around here the greatest number of immigrants are from Brazil. My neighbor, also my landscaper, is from there. I always ask him for a name if I need any work done that Skip can’t do, and he always knows somebody.

      The Cape needs so much summer help, but the number of J-1 visas was cut so many places didn’t have enough help. College students leave before Labor Day so that is also why the J-1 visas are so important.

      Nixon was a master at bending the truth. He didn’t get caught until Watergate, into his second term. Trump just lies all the time.

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I was not pleased to see that couple of inches of snow on my previously snow-free car this morning. I thought my plow guy wouldn’t come for such an amount so I fired up the battery snow blower to clear the plow rows away from my driveway and walk. Then I did the driveway, the walkways around to the back of the house and Piki Dog’s poop way. I started to clear away the plow row for my neighbor across the street but the battery died after a few passes. I gave up and went inside. Half an hour later my plow guy showed up. He just widened the driveway opening a bit more than I was able to do. I wish I had been lazy and not done any of it because I’m hurting a lot right now. 😦

    I doubt that it got above freezing here. It’s 20ΒΊF and I’m cold. The dogs don’t like to be outside very long because the snow starts to hurt their feet. I have boots on order for them. Getting them on their feet will be an interesting exercise. I’ll try to take pictures.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I don’t do any shoveling. My dad died after shoveling and that is always in my head. I am on heart meds so I use them and my heart as an excuse.

      I didn’t expect Skip today as it was so small an amount of snow, just enough to be annoying.

      It is 37 here, but it is getting colder. I still have to toss de-ice on the front steps just in case.

      Shauna, anther of my boxers, was given Polartec boots. I watched her try to figure out how to walk without using her booted feet. It was pretty funny then she got the idea of using her teeth to take them off. That worked.

      Have a warm evening!

  3. olof1 Says:

    The only time I think it’s ok with a snow storm is at christmas time πŸ™‚ Now when we slowly are getting closer to spring it’s just a nuisance. No predictions of any snow here the coming week, instead they say spring might arrive very early instead πŸ™‚

    On Wednesday the sun will stay up until one minute after I stop working πŸ™‚ That and rather high (for this time of year) rather high temperatures is just what I need now, the cold is still hanging around solight and warmth will make the mood much better πŸ™‚

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      This is our snowiest month, and so far it is living up to its reputation. We have storm clouds now but not much snow predicted.

      I know we have gained a lot of time since the solstice. I love having the longer daylight. You get to see the difference as you have a routine.

      We haven’t seen much of the sun yet this month. I’m hoping maybe tomorrow.

      Have a great evening!

  4. sprite Says:

    I have fairy lights around the perimeter of our living room that I’ll leave on until spring. Between the darkness of the days and of the political clime, they’re sorely needed.


Comments are closed.


