“Genius is an African who dreams up snow.”

It is 1:30. The wind is still raging, but the snow has stopped. Most of the snow was wet and heavy, and in the late afternoon a downed wire cut off my electricity. I sat for a while reading, but because the house was getting a bit cooler, Gracie and I headed upstairs to take a nap. I was thinking warm down comforter. I don’t know what Gracie was thinking. I could hear the branches brushing against the house, against the wall in my bedroom. Then I heard a crash. I ran downstairs, opened the front door and saw nothing but branches. They extended from a giant branch, half of a pine tree, now lying across my front yard. It was torn off the tree by the wind. Its branches are near the front door and have cut me off from the outside world. Poor Gracie had to go out among the branches. It took three times before she decided it was branches or nothing.

I went to bed around 2:30. Gracie woke me up around 4. She was shaking. She was also panting: signs that Gracie needed to go outside. She wouldn’t get off the bed so I had to help her. We got down the stairs to the door and she went outside and did her business just this side of the branches.

I’m hoping my landscape guy comes today to free me. I know Skip will be here to plow and shovel as soon as he can. Right now the day is beautiful to look at, all sunny and bright, but that’s deceiving. It is only 20˚. I guess I’m okay for now with being stuck in the house, the warm house.

This was a terrific snow storm. It even had thunder. We probably got near a foot of snow. It covers everything. I couldn’t see out the back windows until a little while ago, but the sun is still the sun so the windows are clear again.

Looks like we have to postpone dump day.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

14 Comments on ““Genius is an African who dreams up snow.””

  1. sprite Says:

    Thundersnow! We got flurries, which was seriously anticlimactic after seeing the accumulation the northeast was getting.

    • katry Says:

      sprite,
      It was really a deep thunder clap. Yes, it was snowing.

      I have a yard full of snow and half a tree. My car is now loose, and I can wend my way around the branches to get out. I am free!!

  2. Birgit Says:

    Oh, surprise, a sudden re-decoration of your front yard, may be you should add Christmas lights? No, seriously, good luck!, I hope you don’t have to bear more power outages.
    I would gladly take some of your snow, weatherwise this winter here is as boring as most of our winters are.
    Poor Gracie, no dump trip.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I’ll post a picture on Facebook as my neighbor took a few. It looks far worse from the street.

      The wind is gone so I don’t think we’ll lose electricity again. I hoep not!

      I’d be glad to share some of this snow with you. Take it all from my front yard!

      Dump tomorrow.

  3. Hedley Says:

    Once upon a time, wasn’t Saturday Dump Day for Gracie ? when did it all change ?

    Our lawns are once again free of snow and the terrier can take her sweet time to cover all things terrier. The chills will leave us by Sunday and we may even see 50s.

    Mr Brady is getting some attention for setting up an autograph opportunity where a replica game jersey, signed by the great man will run $1,200. I am sure it will be big in Mass but perhaps have limited demand elsewhere.

    I spent many years collecting autographs relating to a publication I owned. I cannot tell you how many times people took me in to their homes, signed my book and gave me remembrances. The only person who ever asked me for money was Marvis Frazier and I didn’t bother to go see Smokin’ Joe. Of course those were the days when it wasn’t a business and they knew what I was trying to do.

    In case you are still over stimulated by the Falcons choke, here is the schedule for Mr B’s signature

    • Signed 8×10 photo: $849
    • Signed mini-helmet: $899
    • Signed football: $999
    • Signed helmet: $1,099
    • Signed jersey: $1,199

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      When I worked, Sunday was dump day. After I retired it was any day except Monday and Tuesday when it is closed. Usually I go on Fridays as that is a quiet day at the dump.

      We are covered in snow. The wind caused drifting so some piles are massive. Skip shoveled a path out front and on the back deck for the dog. I don’t want her going down the steps in the snow. I did throw good for paws ice melt on the front and back steps.

      I’m sure everything with his signature will sell, including those expensive jerseys.

      I still can’t believe that the Pat’s tied it in regulation. Once the call went their way and they received, I knew it was all over. Tom Terrific would save the day!

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    A snow-covered yard is bad enough but a snow-covered tree covered yard is way over the top bad. I’m glad you’re free now.

    Poor Gracie. My dogs didn’t want to go outside yesterday either. I had to go outside with them to make sure they did what they were supposed to be doing out there.

    If we got thundersnow here, I didn’t hear it. I did hear my plow guy come by very late after I’d gone to bed. He cleared away the plow rows from in front of his clients’ drives. He cleared my neighbor’s driveway completely but her car lives inside and was not in the way like the rest of us whose cars live outside. I decided not to leave my warm bed. He came back this morning.
    My neighbor kindly snow-blowed a path along my side of his arbor vitae so that Piki Dog would have an acceptable place to poop. My neighbor is very understanding. So far Piki has declined to go there. In a previous life, he must have been a cat. :/

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I was amazed at the size of that branch. It is as big as some of the trees in my back yard. My landscaper said he’ll start removing it tomorrow.

      The path is around the tree in front so I can get to my car. There is also a short path on the deck so Gracie can go there. Tomorrow is dump day and Agway time.

      I go out with Gracie when she is ni the front and help her down the stairs in the back. Right now we’re going to avoid the back as there is ice on the stairs. I threw de-icer down so I hope it will work.

      Have a great evening!

  5. Bob Says:

    I don’t know why people are surprised by thunder snow.

    Whenever there is a thunderstorm the rain drops get sucked up the outside of the storm cloud and when they rise above the freezing level they turn to snowflakes. When the snowflakes get heavy enough they come down through the center of the storm and when they fall below the freezing level they turn back into raindrops. The static between the air mass going up and the air mass coming down in the center of the storm creates the lightning and the thunder. In the winter the temperature in the lower atmosphere is cold enough to keep the snowflakes from melting into raindrops. Because the air in the winter is cold if a thunderstorm develops it won’t rise to as high an altitude as in the summer and it will be less violent. In the warm months the snowflakes in the storm come down and melt and then are sucked back up to re freeze. If the water droplets go up and down inside the cloud they become large and heavy which when they fall called is hail. Super cells are created when the thunderstorm gets high enough in the atmosphere to where the jet stream will shear the cloud and form a rotating airmass. The rotation can go all the way to the ground and is then called a tornado.

    Except for the wind today is beautiful with sunny skies and 72F degree temperatures.

  6. olof1 Says:

    It doesn’t matter if one is snowed in as long as one has food and it’s warm 🙂 Happened to me when I moved up to this reagion, I and my neighbors couldn’t reach the outside world for over three days and it was actually really nice :-)I do hope they will remove that pine branch fast though!

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      That is totally true. I always make sure I have stuff in the house when they have predicted a storm like this or a hurricane.

      I hope it goes quickly as well.
      Enjoy your day!


Comments are closed.


