“The very fact of snow is such an amazement.”

The Cape is under a blizzard watch. The winds could get as high as 55-65 MPH. The snow in Boston is already accumulating, but it hasn’t started here yet. It is still a bit warm, a holdover from yesterday’s 50+ degrees. The amount of snow we are now expecting is down a few inches from the earlier prediction, down to 8-12 inches.

They announced today’s school closings last night. My sister and I remembered waiting to hear the fire horn and jumping up and down when it sounded. I don’t remember my mother’s reaction, but I suspect she silently groaned.

The wind is picking up here. The tops of my trees, especially the pine trees, are being blown and are tipping almost sideways. I imagine the ocean is furious with white capped waves hitting the shore. The sea walls won’t keep the water back.

I almost got dressed to go outside this morning. I wanted Oreo cookies, double-stuffed, but I didn’t go, and now I’m regretting it.

The house is dark. The sky is dark clouds, snow clouds. Outside looks different when it’s going to snow. The air looks hazy. It lacks the sharpness of the winter’s sun.

Gracie has gone down the back stairs to the yard but only with me facing her and touching her as she goes down a step at a time. Her back legs slide. She is still afraid, but she trusts me to help her and keep her safe.

I’m thinking this is a day for hot cocoa with marshmallows melting and spreading over the top. I wonder if I have the ingredients to make chocolate chip cookies.

The weather has gotten fiercer. The wind is stronger. It has started to snow, with big wet flakes. The day has little to commend it. I’m happy to be home even without the Oreos.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““The very fact of snow is such an amazement.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    Detroit is cold. But once again the storm shot through Ohio and out to the land of the Pats without irritating us in any way. My snow blower rests quietly in the garage – it had a little fun last week but generally has been quiet since Christmas

    I sit just one week away from a visit to the old country. Virgin Airlines will wing me in to Heathrow and Mrs MDH and I will be visiting family, including Uncle Paulie and hanging out for a few nights in London. The Hockney exhibit at the Tate is on our agenda as is a trip to Wembley to see Spurs play.

    Somehow we secured 4 suitcases for the trip so I will be coming home loaded with all the things I cant get in Michigan.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      My plow guy will have to come by tomorrow to plow my car out, plow in front of the mailboxes across the street and shovel my walk. I’ll just sit and watch the snow fall.

      It has been a long while since my last trip to England. I always stopped there on the way home whenever I was in Europe, but my last 4 trips have been to Africa: 1 Morocco, 3 Ghana.

      I bring an empty suitcase to Ghana so I can carry all the cloth I buy. I also buy jewelry and whatever catches my eye.

      You’ll have a wonderful trip!

  2. olof1 Says:

    It is chilly here but that’s it. I’m hoping that we won’t get any bigger snow storm here any more this winter, we’ve been lucky so far this year and I do hope it stays that way.

    You should never go against a wish to get oreo’s 🙂 Any kind of cookie is of course a good thing to have when a snow storm passes by, I do hope You have the ingredients to make chocolate chip cookies!

    I’m glad Gracie goes down the stairs, I hope it will be better when spring arrives and the stairs aren’t slippery.

    I always wish I lived by the ocean again when a storm pass by, I used to go down to the beach and look at al the big waves 🙂

    Have a great storm!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We actually had thunder a while back. Now it is just snow and smaller flakes than before this. Already it has covered tree limbs.

      Success-I have all the ingredients for chocolate chip cookies. Now I just need the energy to make them.

      They really aren’t slippery unless it snows. She is just afraid because of the fall she had last week. She hurt her mouth enough it swelled. I will try to teach her to go down the other steps. They are longer but far less steep.

      You’d be blown away by the wind, and you’d love it!

      Have a great evening!

  3. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    It’s almost to whiteout up here. Everything is pale grey and the snow is falling sideways.
    Peapod came on Monday so I am fully stocked with things I might miss in a snowstorm.
    Rocky is looking for the door into spring. Piki Dog just sleeps. Not a bad idea.
    I’m going to make sausages with grapes and balsamic vinegar. I seem to have acquired two packages of sausages so I have to do something with them pretty quickly.

    Enjoy the storm and the chocolate chip cookies.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      It is really snowing hard now. The thunder a while back was unexpected. It was deep and loud. The snow comes straight down then goes sideways when the wind blows.

      I decided I had what I need so I stayed home yesterday and today. I have all the essentials, but I need goodies so cookies are in order!

      Gracie is a bit restless but the cat is deeply sleeping. I have to take Gracie out front to go as the back steps are covered. Lunch sounds great!

      Have a good storm day!


Comments are closed.


