“A trophy carries dust. Memories last forever.”

I am watching the Patriots and their duck boat rolling rally ride through the streets of Boston. Earlier it was snowing, and now it is raining, but the crowds don’t care. The fans are standing along the sides of the streets 20 or more deep. The players are having a wonderful time yelling, clapping and dancing. The confetti blowing all over makes it difficult to see but Tom Brady stands out. He is in the front boat holding the Lombardi trophy and waving, a huge smile on his face. The crowd loves him. Lots of school desks are empty today. Kids will remember this parade the whole of their lives.

Gracie is less reluctant to go down the back steps into the yard. She knows I’m there. I stand in front of her as she goes down front paws first one step at a time. She runs all over the yard glad to be off the leash.

When I was a kid, I followed the Red Sox and the Celtics. The poor Sox were hapless, and it was easy to get a good seat even an hour before the game. I remember sitting in a box seat behind the dugout, empty seats around me. The Sox, perennial losers, were not a great draw. I did see a moment in history when Bob Tillman, the catcher, tried to cut off Al Kaline stealing second and hit Johnny Wyatt, relief pitcher, in the head.

I listened to Celtics games on the radio. Johnny Most was the best announcer of them all. I used to hide my transistor radio under the covers so I could listen to the Celts play the L.A. Lakers, perennial foes. Even when the Celts were on TV we listened to Johnny Most. I still remember him screaming, “Havlicek stole the ball,” in the 1965 Eastern Conference Finals when the Sox were only a point ahead and Philly had the ball. I went to Celtics games as I could take the bus and the subway to North Station. They were often sold out. The Celts were perennial winners.

I have never seen the Pats live, but I have watched every game on TV. I’m okay with that. I get to stay warm and comfy. The kitchen and bathroom are both down the hall. I do love to go to Fenway especially for night games. It is a magical place with the green grass and all the lights.

My mother was not into sports and didn’t understand the rules of any game, but if we watched, she watched. I remember her cheering for the wrong football team, an easy mistake. We didn’t say anything. It was great to see her be a fan.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

17 Comments on ““A trophy carries dust. Memories last forever.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    My two big loves are the Detroit Lions and Tottenham Hotspur FC. Spurs last won the league in 1961 and the Detroit Lions have somehow escaped any appearance in the Super Bowl. I flew to Wembley a couple of years back to see Tottenham get beat by Chelsea in the League Cup Final – it just doesn’t happen for me.

    Back in the day we had a lot of fun with the Pistons especially hating on the Celtics and specifically Ainge and McHale and Johnson and Parish and….well frankly all of them. Laimbeer and his chums handed it out and so the Bad Boys had their time.

    I am very glad it rained on the parade today, and if Brady would like his jersey back I can make “arrangements” if you would like to leave an envelope full of crisp 100s in my mail box.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I loved the team with Ainge, McHale and Parish. They were part of the heyday of the Celts. I saw them a few times. I loved the Old Garden.

      I remember Laimbeer and the Pistons and probably saw them play at the Garden.

      I wish it hadn’t rained on their parade. They deserved the sun after that win. Whoever stole the game jersey will have to sell it covertly or just keep it hidden the way stolen art is.

      • Hedley Says:

        No I wont…whoops…..you are right “they” will have to sell it covertly …or as a result of an envelope full of crisp 100s

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        The buyer will have to keep the jersey in his hidden room of treasures.

        I have been to the Football Hall of Fame. Other than the room with all the busts, I enjoyed it, especially the exhibits nd films.

  2. Birgit Says:

    Congratulations! It must have been a great and exciting game. It was in our news but I just read about it. Enjoy the parade!
    I can understand your mother, I’m glad when I can guess with sport is meant when you write about US teams and arenas 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      It was the most exciting game. They were down 28-3, tied it up in regulation time then won in the sudden death playoff. It doesn’t get much better than that.

      I’ll just have to remember to give a hint as to which sport.

  3. Coleen Says:

    Kat, I cannot help but think about your Dad the last couple days…wherever he is, his smile is very wide!

    I cherish my one visit to Fenway…best day ever!

    When I was young the NY Knicks trained in my hometown…I got up close to the greats to get their autographs. My Mom was not into basketball at all, but she would just drive me over to watch me sort of bask in their aura. I remember talking to Red Holzman, their coach. Those were great days indeed!

    Waving and waiting for snow later this week…

    Coleen

    • katry Says:

      Coleen,
      He was loyal to the Pats when they barely won more than a couple of games a season. You are so right: he has the broadest of grins right now.

      We kids always thought of Fenway as a sort of working shrine. It was the best place to watch a ball game. The bleacher seats were really cheap, and we could take a bus then the T to get there so we went a few times a season.

      We too are waiting for snow but not as much as Boston.

      Waving in the rain.

  4. Bob Says:

    One of my fondest baseball memories was a game I saw at Fenway in 1994 against the Baltimore Orioles. Fenway is only one of two cathedrals of baseball remaining, Wriggly Field is the other one.

    I have a lot of baseball memories from 1972 when the Washington Senators moved to a minor league park next to a turnpike in Arlington and were renamed the Texas Rangers. I had a press pass because I was a stringer for a small daytime AM radio station while going to college. The press get a free dinner before every game and all the beer or booze you want. I was standing in the managers office after the opening day game. The manager was Ted Williams who immediately told all the radio guys to turn off the tape recorders. Brad Sham, now of Cowboy fame, stood next to me and said ‘Thumper how are we radio guys going to get audio quotes’. Ted replied, ‘With tape I can’t claim I was misquoted’. 🙂 The Boston press really did a number on him.

    Seeing the greatest hitter of all time in the clubhouse sitting behind his desk in his underwear was a real treat. Many people thought that Ted was an ‘A’hole but I found out after his death that the only reason he moved to Texas in 1972 was to give his coaches another year so they could earn their full baseball retirement.

    Today we hit 85 F degrees and the long range forecast for the rest of February is low temperatures in the low 50s. Where has winter gone?

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Fenway is the best place to watch a game so close to the field. With all the bricks, it just looks right for a ballpark.

      Ted Williams also had a reputation here, and not a good one.

      I never saw a live Ted play. My first baseball memorIies including seeing my first game when I was 6 or 7. I also used to watch games at the little league field. A lot of my classmates played. I also found it easy to understand.

      I don’t like being so hot during this season when we expect it to be cold. Tomorrow will be in the low 50’s tomorrow then will get colder and on Thursday we’re due for snow. Too bad I can’t share it.

    • Coleen Says:

      Bob…thanks for a great story!

      Coleen

  5. Jay Bird Says:

    Congrats, Pat fan! Awesome game. I’ve started to root for New England, particularly after this silly nonsense about “Deflategate”.

    Radio is a great medium for baseball. I followed the Cardinals as a kid (long story), and when the atmospherics were right, I could pick up their games on KMOX St. Louis radio… despite living in northern New York. AM radio allowed that!

    • katry Says:

      Jay,
      It was an awesome game. When the Falcons were ahead at 28-3, it seemed out of hand, but then Brady happened. Amazing!

      I remember my friends and I were driving to the cape and the radio was on, tuned to the Sox game. It was 1967 and a weird combination of wins and losses had to happen for the Sox to make it to the World Series. Every tie the Sox got a hit cars would blow their horns. It happened on the whole trip.

  6. olof1 Says:

    I’ve only been to one sports event in all my life, it was hocky between Sweden and Finland, we lost 🙂 Still I loved every minute of it. We Swedes are happy as long as we win over Finland even if we lose against all other teams 🙂 On the other hand if we already are out of a tornament but Finland still plays we always hope for Finland to win 🙂 Celtics for me is a Scottish soccer team and it¨’s a favorite of mine.

    Nasty cold here still and it’ll stay like this for quite some time, I do long for spring now.

    Have a great day!

    Chriser.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      Warm here but snow tomorrow-weird weather.

      The Celtics are a professional basketball team: The Boston Celtics.

      I went to all my college’s home hockey games, but I wasn’t a great fan of hockey. I just went to support the team. My college had a great hockey team.

      We have no international rivalries with the USA. We just want our team to win.

      Have a great evening!


Comments are closed.


