““I love raw cookie dough, right out of the tube. The other thing I eat is marshmallow fluff.”

Sorry for the lateness of the hour. I slept in as I was up late watching the hoopla after my Pats won the Super Bowl in spectacular fashion. They overcame the biggest scoring deficit in history and won in the very first overtime. At the start of the second half, I was despondent at the score: 21-3.

I was able to coax Gracie down the back steps by holding her as she went from step to step. As soon as she hit the bottom, she ran around the yard happy to be off the leash I’d been using to take her out into the front yard. I will take her into the back yard one step at a time from now.

When I was a kid, there was no leash law and dogs roamed freely. Duke, my boxer, was all over town. Sometimes he was with his son Sam who was my aunt’s dog. My father had given Sam to my aunt as she had given us Duke when I was 5. Sam and Duke were notorious. People complained all the time. The dogs would stand outside a house howling if there was a female in heat. Boxers look fierce so people were afraid to leave their houses. We knew how silly that was as both of those dogs were wonderful. Sam was funny, even silly at times. He even seemed to smile. When Sam got into a fight, Duke watched until Sam was pinned then he’d step in and save Sam. Duke was also super-protective of us. He’d growl to warn people not to mess with us. That’s what boxers do for their families.

I love hot dogs. We ate them every Saturday night when I was a kid, and I never tired of hot dogs and brown bread. Baked beans were also part of the meal, but I passed on those. Just about every friend I had ate that same Saturday supper. It was a New England universal.

Marshmallow Fluff is 100 this year. Between 5-7 million pounds of it are sold each year. If you know how light Fluff is, this number is mind boggling. Half the supply is bought by New Englanders and people in upstate New York.

I loved fluffernutters. On Wonder bread we’d slather one side with peanut butter and the other side with Fluff. The mixture would sometimes ooze out of the side of the bread or one or the other would tear the bread when it was spread across a slice. Eating that sandwich was seldom neat, and it was usually the Fluff which was left on my face or fingers. I still kept Fluff in the house, and I have been known to make a fluffernutter. I have also been known to lick the Fluff off my fingers.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on “““I love raw cookie dough, right out of the tube. The other thing I eat is marshmallow fluff.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    We were watching last night and as Atlanta cruised towards their first ever Super Bowl, I reminded Mrs MDH that we had seen the Lions go down 21-0 to the Falcons at Wembley stadium and then we came back to win 22-21. Not that I thought history would repeat but there you go ….The greatest comeback or the greatest choke job?

    All I could think about were the poor Falcon fans that now have to live with this – awful

    I thought Gaga was just fab – wasn’t really on my radar but she got my attention with the half time show

    Had some Chrysler chums in the house so we were waiting for the three spots they had purchased for the new Alfa Romeo. There should be one next door this weekend and I cant wait to get my paws on it.

    For those in Pat-land I send congratulations – I do hope that there is some dignity and they don’t go over the house of the comb-over….but they will.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I think the Pats outlasted the Falcons who seemed to lose stamina in the 4th quarter, but the Pats were still raring to go. The Pats had 99 snaps, unbelievable, and some of them played every snap.

      What I thought painful was the jubilation of the owner in his box. He was then showed on the field, waiting I thought, to accept the trophy. His face gave it all away as the Pats blew out the Falcons 4th quarter. I felt bad for him.

      I too thought Gaga was fab.

      Those cars were gorgeous. I wouldn’t mind one in my driveway.

      Some of the Pats already said they wouldn’t go to the White House, but I’m sure most of them will. They can say they met Trump before he was impeached.

  2. minicapt Says:

    Laurence J. Peter: “Another notable quotation of his is that the “noblest of all dogs is the hot-dog; it feeds the hand that bites it.””

    Cheers

  3. Bob Says:

    Kraft and Brady are big buddies of Trump. Maybe Trump will be able to get Kraft’s Super Bowl ring back which Putin stole.

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/early-lead/wp/2017/02/05/robert-kraft-hopes-trump-can-help-retrieve-super-bowl-ring-putin-pilfered/?utm_term=.3f1f3a60f3ad

    Both Trump and Putin are cut from the same cloth.

    Today we it 85F degrees. The long range forecast is for no freezing weather through the end of the month. I guess the Chinese made up global warming and the earth listened. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      We are expecting snow but not much of it some time tomorrow.

      Kraft is more of a big buddy. He even visited Trump at Trump Tower.

      Putin is scary and Trump is ingratiating himself with Putin. He was asked what hold the Russians have on him. No answer!

  4. olof1 Says:

    My work friend was very happy at work all day today, huge Pats fan as he is 🙂

    It’s a bit starnge because we swedes love peanuts but rarely eat peanut butter. Most big stores have at least five or six brands with peanuts in all different bag sizes but as best they havevtwo different peanut butter brands and just tiny jars. Most that buy peanut butter seems to give it to birds that just loves it during winter 🙂
    I’ve enevr seen Fluff sold in any store here, the only jars I’ve seen and eaten from are the ones You’ve sent me 🙂

    I don’t know what they’ve done to our hotdogs but they taste disgusting now days. Most of us buy wiener sausages instead. They also sell something called grill sausages and they are more like what hotdogs used to be.

    We always had bacon, fried eggs and baked beans on Saturdays, those were hard for my mother to destroy 🙂 I have always loved those baked beans and the we had some white bread to soak upthe sauce 🙂

    I think we’ve had the leash law since at least early 1900’s so I was always surprosed when I went abroad to see dogs walking around by themselves everywhere 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      That was a game for the ages.

      Did you like the Fluff? In Ghana they sold groundnut paste (peanut paste) as a soup paste, groundnut soup. I used to buy it and add peanut oil to make it smooth, and it became peanut butter.

      I will sometimes grill sausages. The butcher shop sells the best tasting sausages. I also buy all beef hot dogs, and they are delicious.

      Sunday morning was for fried eggs and bacon with toast to sop up the yolks. Your Saturday meal is pretty close to ours.

      The dogs all knew their way home. I like a leash law as cars go far faster now, and it makes a dog safer.

      Enjoy your day!


Comments are closed.


