“Once you have a wonderful dog, life without one, is a life diminished.”

Gracie news is first. Yesterday morning around 5 she stood up on the bed and that movement woke me. All of a sudden I saw Gracie start to fall over so I grabbed her before she fell. She then collapsed on the bed. I held her around the neck and talked to her as her eyes were wide in fear. I then helped her stand up. She did but just stood not moving then threw up. I cleaned the bed and tried to get her off of it, but because my bed is an old one and quite high, she wouldn’t get off it. I finally lifted all 68 pounds of her to the floor. She walked to the stairs but wouldn’t go down. I went in front of her and she went down one step at a time. I decided to take her right away to C.A.R.E., the emergency vets. We got there around 5:30 and waited a bit. Finally we went into the treatment room. The vet listened to what had happened then took her for some tests. They were all fine except Gracie was a bit dehydrated. She has a heart flutter but is on meds for that. The decision was to leave her overnight so she could be rehydrated and given some X-rays. The vet called in the afternoon and Gracie was doing well, no aftereffects. I called this morning and she is staying there until the afternoon when she is going to have a cardiac echo. My poor baby! I just hope everything is okay.

My house feels cold and is quiet.

Punxsutawney Phil has predicted six more weeks of winter. It is cold today so he might just be right, but that would unusual. Poor Phil is correct only 39% of the time, but considering the three coldest months of the year are December, January and February, this might be one of those times.

The sun is shining with the sharpness of a winter’s day. The breeze is slight. I’m hanging around the all day house though I have stuff I need to do including going to the dump, but I’ll save that for Gracie and me tomorrow. She’ll love it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

22 Comments on ““Once you have a wonderful dog, life without one, is a life diminished.””

  1. Bob Says:

    So sorry to hear about Gracie’s condition. I know from my own experience with our last Greyhound tha not being able to stand up on their own or falling down is a sigh that the end is not far away. Our Greyhond Rolex was 12 years old when he began to have those mobility issues. Eventually he could not stand to poop or pee or leave the house. I hope this is just a false alarm.

    Yesterday we hit 80 F degrees and this morning we are in the 40’s. At least that’s more typical for early February.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      It was one leg which collapsed, her back leg. She always lifts that leg going down the stairs. I hope that it is just a weak leg, not an indication it is near the end.

      We had snow the other night so yesterday I had to clear the car to take Gracie to the doctor’s office. Luckily it was light and fluffy. It will be down to the 20’s tonight.

  2. Erin Apostolos Says:

    Sorry to hear about Gracie, Kat. I know just how you feel. Fritz was quite ill Friday night. I took him out and he was unable to urinate. We brought him to the emergency vet where they pumped him with fluids and antibiotics. We assumed he had an infection of the bladder or urethra. They did an ultra sound on Monday and now think it is prostate cancer, which is inoperable in dogs. We took him home as he wanted to go home and wasn’t acting at all sick. We are waiting on another test for confirmation. We are still treating him for infection, and he is responding to it, but Jamie and I are so heartbroken. I understand the worry you are going through. Let’s pray all goes well for our dear friends.
    Love,
    Erin

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Erin

      I am so sorry about Fritz. I too will pray for him. It is so awful to lose a furry member of the family, especially one who loves us so much. My house today is quiet and lonely. I’d hate for it to stay this way.

  3. Hedley Says:

    Cut it out Gracie !

    Maggie the Westie struggles now with her back legs. Some days are good and others not so much. Yesterday I had to venture in to her boudoir to retrieve my snow stuff. I took her out, and she was quite indignant when I returned her to her room before starting my fourth consecutive morning of snow removal.

    The Terrier banged her bowl around, went out once more and was last seen lollygagging in bed with Mrs MDH happy and oblivious of my hour of effort to get rid of snow.

    I will wait anxiously to hear of your dump run – I am sure it will make Gracie forget about bad legs and stuff

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Boxers are prone to cardiomyopathy so I’m hoping the cardiac echo will rule that out. Maggie, my last boxer, died of it. My friends’ Westie, Darci, was just diagnosed with arthritis in her back leg. It is so awful when our dear friends begin to age.

      Dogs have little respect for all our toils, even those done for them. Gracie usually just watches me.

      I pick her up around 5 and will let her know that the dump is waiting for her tomorrow. That should pick up her spirits.

  4. olof1 Says:

    I hate when things like that happen, I sort of die a little inside when something like that happens. I remember when old Erna suddenly started to fall when we were out walking and remember how scared she looked, I was sure she was having a heart attack but it turned out to be her back squeesing some nerves. She got a medicine and was as good as new just an hour after that 🙂 I do hope Gracie is ok!

    I don’t think we had any sun today and the temperature has stayed around 32 both night and day. So now I have a fire burning in the stove 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I remember old Erna, and I’m betting her look was the same one Gracie had when she collapsed on my bed. After I got her downstairs, she was back to normal, but I was still scared.

      Gracie is home. The vet said everything seemed normal. I, of course, will be keeping a constant eye on her.

      It is about 39˚ but will get colder tonight. I was really cold earlier so I turned up the heat. February is already a cold month.

      Have a great evening!

  5. Birgit Says:

    Good luck! I hope Gracie is okay and your back too. Lifting 68 pounds of boxer…

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      My back was horrible all day yesterday. I could barely move.

      I didn’t have much of a choice lifting Gracie. She wouldn’t jump off the bed. She was so heavy I almost dropped her.

      She is home now sleeping and snoring on the couch.

  6. herbert e rice Says:

    Hi Kat
    sorry to hear that Gracie is having difficulties. I have two older dogs. One who is 14, was having a lot of similar problems while we were living in alaska, is doing fine now that we live in Hawaii. Hope she is home soon and well.
    herb

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Herb

      Gracie is the oldest boxer I’ve had of my own. The one I grew up with was 14 when he died. The last two of my boxers were only 8 when they died. Boxers have a life expectancy of 8-10 so Gracie is beyond the average age.

      I think I’d do better in Hawaii than Alaska. That was quite a change.

  7. sprite Says:

    I’m glad to read in the comments that Gracie is home. I’m hoping all the tests ruled out the awful stuff and it was just dehydration and getting older. Sending love from our crew to yours!

    • katry Says:

      sprite,
      She is lying beside me and snoring. She’s had her dinner, her pill and a couple of snacks. I walked her down the back stairs where she fell the other day so she could get into the yard. I’ll do that a few times until I get treads for those stairs so she won’t slide.

      She seems just fine. I’m thinking the getting older is the culprit.

  8. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I’m relieved to read that Gracie is home, snoring on the couch and seems okay. I have been out all day and this is the first chance I’ve had to catch up.
    Getting older is always the culprit even when there are other factors involved.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      It is true about growing old. Miss Gracie is right up there for a boxer.

      She is not going down the back stairs. I had to lead her down yesterday, and this morning she ran back into the house. I took her out front where she was happy to pee. I really don’t blame her as she fell the other day. I am going to put treads on the stairs though I think it is the steepness which is the problem.

      Enjoy the day!

  9. Coleen Says:

    Glad the pup is home…doggy prayers being sent that it was just a blip on the radar…

    Coleen (too cold to wave! 🙂

  10. Caryn Says:

    Or maybe one of these would be even better.


Comments are closed.


