“It is the life of the crystal, the architect of the flake, the fire of the frost, the soul of the sunbeam. This crisp winter air is full of it.”

I woke up in the darkness of this cold early morning. I believe winter is most defined by cold darkness. I can hear the heat trying to blow away the coldness of the house. I am sleeping on the couch: actually, we are sleeping on the couch. Gracie is better, but this is the easiest way to keep an eye on her. I heard Maddie running up and down the stairs and across the floor. I wondered why, but cats aren’t easily explained.

When I went to get the papers, I gasped from the cold. I saw my windshield was coated in ice. I think that’s the first time this winter or maybe I missed the other frosty mornings by sleeping in late. The brown grass on my front lawn also had a coat of frost. Winter has made a grand appearance.

In Ghana, in the Upper Regions, this time of year is the harmattan. The days are hot and dry. The wind blows sand which obscures the sun. Day after day is the same. The nights, though, are wonderful. The temperature drops to the low 70’s which doesn’t sound cold, but the days are over 100˚ so 70˚ is chilly. I had a wool blanket on my bed to keep me warm. My students wore layers in the morning. My lips chapped and my heels cracked from the dryness, but feeling cold for a while was worth all of that. I just have to remember that feeling, that love of the cold, when the frost has to be scraped off the windshield, the house heat is blasting, I’m wearing a sweatshirt and socks to stay warm and an afghan on my knees is comforting.

Gracie and I are going out today. She will wear her coat for the first time this winter. I’ll just wear my hoodie.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““It is the life of the crystal, the architect of the flake, the fire of the frost, the soul of the sunbeam. This crisp winter air is full of it.””

  1. flyboybob Says:

    Another sunny day with lows in the 40s and a high predicted of 70 F degrees. If I lived in New England I would have a winter condo somewhere in Florida or in Arizona. I like it warm.

    I watched the SAG awards last night and enjoyed all the Trump jokes and Dolly Parton’s breast jokes. People I work with, mostly very right wing religious weirdos, are funny. I was telling one of them about the movie Sully, staring Tom Hanks. The movie fits in with the latest Cockpit Resource Management issues, ‘Black Swan’ events and startle. This instructor then told me that he would never see a Tom Hanks movie because he supported Hilary. He still hates Jane Fonda after fifty years.

    One of the commercials being produced for the Super Bowl is for avocados from Mexico. They said that during the week before the game that enough Mexican avocados are eaten to fill the playing field 30 feet deep. When Trump renegotiates NAFTA I wonder how many U.S. workers will get good paying jobs to go into the avocado fields to pick them. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I am okay with the winter. We even make fun of the snow birds who go to Florida. I have one friend who has a condo who goes every year.

      I watched the SAG awards this morning as I had DVR’d it last night. I had expected the Trump jokes and repudiation of the ban. I wasn’t disappointed. How silly not to watch a movie because Tom Hanks is a Hillary fan.

      I saw an avocados from Mexico commercial last week. It was the first I’d ever seen. 79 million avocados are sold before the Super Bowl. Football fans will march if there is a new 40% tariff on their avocados. Trump, however, will point out the Haas avocados are from California.

  2. olof1 Says:

    There was a thin layer of ice on my car’s front window this morning but I think I could have just used the wipers to remove it. The rest of the day was sunny and warmish. I can now see the first glimpses of daylight when I drive to work and the last ones when I drive home again 🙂

    I’m glad Gracie is better!

    I like our summer nights here, they are usually rather chilly, around 50 or lower. The few days we get hot weather it still rarely moves above 59 but when they do I never can sleep properly.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I know the setting is setting later so winter is moving on out. but it is still really cold today. It is cloudy. Maybe some sun would help. Tonight will be as cold as last night.

      Thanks on Gracie. I worry so much about her as she is really old for a boxer. Anything out of the ordinary gets me watching her.

      We have really hot nights usually in August so I put the air conditioner on to keep the house comfortable cool. I would like cooler nights but not as cool as yours.

      Enjoy your evening!

  3. Hedley Says:

    I read this morning that the “get in” price for the Superbowl is $2,000 and falling. Apparently the loss of Dallas, GB and Pittsburgh damaged the secondary market.

    I remain down in the dumps over the behavior of the comb-over and his minions. I have been systematically defriending those that get their jollies from this hatred.

    Snows returned to Detroit and I have started the last two mornings on the driveway.

    Yesterday Mrs MDH and I went to see La La Land. This movie does not fit my normal requirement of 90 minutes max and nudity and violence but it is absolutely fab and well worth $8 down your local.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Last week local travel agencies were quoting $2000 for seats so high you get nose bleeds. The close to the fields seat were over $5000.00. I also read that the Steelers and Dallas losing lowered the ticket prices. Plane tickets are through the roof here.

      I mute him anytime he speaks. I can’t take it. The best suggestions I read were not to televise any time Spicer speaks and to record Orange Man. Have a fact checker available when you show comb-over’s speeches. Stop the speech at a lie and identify what is true then move on until the next lie.

      No snow here yet. This has been a snowless winter other than one storm which needed plowing.

      La La Land is on my list.

      • Bob Says:

        You can’t fact check Trump while he speaks because there are too many versions of alternative facts coming out of his mouth. He changes his story depending to whom he is speaking. During the transition he told the NY Times on a visit what a wonderful institution the paper has been over the years and last week said they print fake news.

        My big concern is his lie that he won the popular vote because of voter fraud. Republicans have been peddling the myth of voter fraud to inact voter ID laws aimed to discourage minority and younger voters. This fantasy of his will result in more restrictions to voters. They want to cement there latest victory into the future by preventing the changing demographics from voting.

        The best seat in the Super Bowl is in front of your own big screen TV. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        The suggestion was to stop the tape of his remarks at questionable points and fact check the singular comment then continue his speech to another questionable comment to fact check.

        I remember what he said about the Times which he then negated with his fake news comment. It was the same about the CIA.

        I knew their motives about voter fraud. I just hope that will go away. He hasn’t mentioned it in the last few days with all the hoopla over immigration.

        I’ll be happy watching the game on TV!!


Comments are closed.


