“An intellectual snob is someone who can listen to the William Tell Overture and not think of The Lone Ranger. ”

Snow flurries just passing through are predicted then a rise in temperature to 44˚. That’s a wild weather day. Is it winter? Not this month it hasn’t been, but chills are on the way. Daytime will be in the 30’s starting tomorrow and nights will be even colder.

My first watch had Cinderella on its face. I was seven years old, and it was a First Communion present from my aunt who had taught me to tell time. When I turned 50, my mother gave me a beautiful watch with silver decorations around its face. That watch I still have.

I grew up in the days of analog, not digital time. Back then learning to tell time meant understanding things like quarter past the hour, half past and quarter to. Now it is simply 8:15, 8:30 or 8:45.

We had rabbit ears. I remember it was brown and had a dial with two choices on the front. That rabbit earred antenna sat on the wide top of our wooden TV console. Sometimes my dad wrapped aluminum foil around the ears to get us a better picture. Mostly he was trying to get rid of snow. He’d move one ear then the other then the whole antenna. He was never patient.

When we moved to the cape, we had to have an antenna on the roof or you could only get one channel, Channel 6. I remember coming home from school, turning on the TV and watching The Lloyd Thaxton Show on that channel. It was a sort of Bandstand show only it was more. There wasn’t just dancing or rating records or singers lip-syncing to their hit records. Sometimes they’d be skits and a bit of comedy. I remember Lloyd. He always wore a suit, the wardrobe of the day for men. His ties were skinny ties.

When I was a kid, TV was still wondrous. I watched it every afternoon and loved Saturday mornings with the cartoons and kid shows like Andy’s Gang, Kit Carson and Kukla, Fran and Ollie. I was a Hopalong fan, and I loved The Cisco Kid. “Cisco, wait for me,” was his sidekick Pancho’s line in the opening. For some reason that has always stuck with me. It is one of those close my eyes and see it all sort of things.

Gracie and I didn’t have a great night. She didn’t feel good, and I slept intermittently because I was worried. I kept checking to hear if was breathing. I fed her some spider plant fronds, and she felt better for it. Now she is just fine and sleeping on the couch; however, I am exhausted. I see a nap coming.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““An intellectual snob is someone who can listen to the William Tell Overture and not think of The Lone Ranger. ””

  1. Bob Says:

    I also had a Mickey Mouse watch to learn to tell time when I was a kid. I have a continuing love affair with time and watches. It drives my spouse crazy that I will look at my watch for no apparent reason except to know the time. I have owned digital watches, quartz analog ones and a self winding Rolex knockoff from China. Today’s young people have no idea what winding a watch means. An escapement movement wrist watch is an amazing machine.

    My dad bought our first TV in 1947 and it was connected to a rooftop antennae on our apartment building in Brooklyn. It had a ten inch screen and a huge cabinet housing an array of glowing hot vacuum tubes. In those days there was no daytime programming and I remember watching the test pattern while waiting for the Howdy Doody show to come on at 5:00 PM. The rabbit ears came after we moved to Texas and couldn’t install an outside antenna on our apartment building. There were only the three networks, NBC, CBS and later ABC plus one local independent station.

    Interestingly, Austin Texas only had one TV station during the 50s because it was owned by Ladybird Johnson. No one could get an FCC liscence to compete in Austin while Lyndon was the Senate majority leader. 🙂

    As a kid I watched the same shows as you did including the Mickey Mouse club every afternoon. My mother had to remind us to move back from the screen because she feared some strange radiation coming from the tube would harm us.

    Another clear day with highs in the low 60 degree range with forecast for the 70s next week. I guess denying global warming is an alternate fact…LOL

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I, on the other hand, do not even wear a watch. The last time I did was in Ghana where I had to know the time to get to my classes on time. Time is relative to Ghanaians in many ways. Lorries leave when they are filled though government buses did run mostly on time. There is even a Ghanaian time which means anytime. If you invite someone to your house, they might ask you European or Ghanaian time.

      We also lived where we couldn’t have an antenna hence the rabbit ears. The cape actually got cable in about 1966 or 1967 so the antennas were gone.

      I remember one of the first afternoon programs was Superman and then The Mickey Mouse Club. I can’t remember a time when we didn’t have a TV. My mother told us the same thing only she knew we’d go blind.

      It was sunny most of the day and reached 42˚ but will go down to the 20’s tonight.

  2. olof1 Says:

    The high temperatures we were supposed to get next week have now sunken down to around 32F both nights and days. Well it is winter so that will still be much warmer than normal here so I guess I shouldn’t complain too much 🙂

    We never had rabbit ears when I grew up, every apartment had their antenna just outside their livingroom windows. I did however have those when I moved to the countryside 20 years ago 🙂 It worked rather well to be honest but stormy days were always a problem, it looked like the screen moved with the winds 🙂

    I actually slept good for the first time since I got this cold. Tomorrow I’ll go back to work so I do hope I’ll sleep well tonight too.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I’m happy to know you’re finally almost better. A bad cold can be the worse.

      We are going down to the 20’s tonight. I was feeling cold a while ago and put my heat up a notch so I’m back to feeling warm.

      I lived in an apartment which didn’t allow antennas on the roof. We just had to make-do with the rabbit ears.

      Sleeping is always the best remedy for colds. I usually get comfy here on the couch with a blanket and pillows so I can watch TV.

      Take care tomorrow at work!

  3. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I had a Mickey Mouse watch. After that one died, I didn’t have any watch until I graduated and got a rolled gold teeny, tiny, lady-like Bulova. I am not a teeny, tiny, lady-like watch person. That watch was so tiny that any bit of dust that got inside it would gum up the works. It had to go into the jewelers at least once a year to be pulled apart, soaked in oil, cleaned and reassembled. It was also so tiny that I couldn’t see the time. But, I still have the watch and it still runs.
    I have read that younger folks these days do not understand the concept of quarter of or quarter past the hour or even ten minutes to the hour. Digital has obviated the need, I guess. At least until the apocalypse and digital things no longer work.

    Cisco Kid was a favorite of mine. I had forgotten the “Cisco, wait for me” line. My memory is from the closing of the show when Pancho would tell a horrible punny joke and Cisco would say, in a voice one uses for horrible puns, “Oh, Pancho”. Pancho would reply, with a smile in his voice, “Oh, Cisco.” And they would both laugh and ride off into the sunset.

    It’s mostly cloudy here, The sun has poked its face out now and then but only briefly.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Bob Says:

      All those character watches were called pin lever movements because the wheels inside had metal rather than jeweled bearings and wore out quickly. Quality escapement watch movements have tiny sapphire bearings and should last a long time. Unfortunately, those watches have to be dissembled, cleaned and oiled every few years which required watch makers. Today, most watches are Quartz movements and the digital ones should last indefinitely. The analog ones usually stop working when the hand mechanism gums up and the watch gets tossed in the trash or a dresser drawer. There has been a resurgence of high end escapement watches which has revised the need for horologists, watch makers.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I never knew the name for watchmakers.

        My Timex lasted for years, and it wasn’t an expensive watch. “It takes a licking and keeps on ticking.”

        My watch with the silver is well worth periodic cleaning. It has a real leather watch band. My mother wanted a special gift for my 50th, and that watch fit the bill perfectly.

      • Bob Says:

        Timex made very good pin lever watches that lasted until they needed cleaning and then had to be thrown away. Their market was watches inexpensive enough to be replaced rather than repaired. Now all their and other cheap watches are all Quartz movements.

        Do you remember John Cameron Swayze on TV attaching a Timex watch to an outboard motor boat propeller and running it in the water. He then removed the watch and showed it to the camera and said, “It takes a licking and keeps on ticking”.

        My dad sold merchandise to jewelry stores and he would buy no name Swiss made 17 jewel plain watches that I wore all through school. When they died it was cheaper to throw them away rather than repair them. Each jewelry store would have the manufacturer label the watches with fancy names such as Andre Palet which ment nothing but was the house watch brand of Sterling Jewelry and Distributing company here in Dallas which is now defunct.

        My kids don’t wear watches because they carry cell phones. Apple has revised the wrist watch by connecting it to their cell phones. Sometimes what’s old is new again.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I use my phone once in a while to check the time. Usually it is when I am waiting for an appointment, and I want to know how long I have been kept waiting.

        I liked the variety of the Timex watches and the prices. It didn’t hurt to have to throw them away.

        My father was the only one who always wore a watch. My mother had one of those small, gold ladies watches for a while but then stopped wearing it. None of my siblings wear one either.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      For years I had worn a Timex with Roman numerals on the face. I really like that watch. It and a couple of other watches of mine just need batteries, but I don’t bother as I don’t want to wear one anyway.

      I knew kids don’t understand analog time. They just see the digits. My sister wanted to give her grandson a watch so I suggested he learn analog before he got the digital. He thought it was a bit of a time waste.

      I had forgotten the ending of the program. Thanks for bringing it back. I totally remember Cisco’s voice. Pancho used to have a big grin.

      There was sun earlier then it got totally cloudy. I had to turn on the light as it got so dark. It is cold.

      Enjoy the evening.

      • Caryn Says:

        Nowadays I don’t wear a watch at all because the time is usually somewhere nearby.
        If I were to wear a watch, it would be purely for the visual effect. Like wearing a Rolex just so that others could see it. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        I didn’t have to wear one at work as clocks were all over the place at school. When I have an appointment, I leave early enough to get there. I don’t seem to have a reason to wear a watch.


Comments are closed.


