“I believe in dressing for the occasion. There’s a time for sweater, sneakers and Levis and a time for the full-dress jazz.”

When I woke up and looked out the window, I saw a sunny day and a blue sky. The thought I might be dreaming crossed my mind, but I wasn’t. It is a lovely day, a bit chillier than it has been but still quite lovely.

Gracie and I are going out to do errands. My imagination has both of us shielding our eyes from the sun as if we’ve been living in a cave.

I have a list of places to go and things to buy. Gracie, as always, will be my co-pilot. Her favorite place is Agway. They give out free biscuits.

My return to Star Trek Voyager is almost over. I am watching the final season. Science fiction right now is far more hospitable than the real world.

When I lived in Ghana, it was during the birth of the Second Republic. The army had overthrown Kwame Nkrumah in 1966. They called it Operation Cold Chop. I love that. Chop is food in Ghana and roadside chop bars were the places to eat. We used to get food just about every Sunday from a chop bar in the lorry park. Anyway, the CIA backed coup   was for a multitude of reasons, one of which was Nkrumah’s close ties to Russia.

I used to love to watch the lobsters swimming in their tank in the front window of the fish market. I remember the guys behind the counter wore white aprons with bibs. They sold fish fillets from a display case. I didn’t care about the fish. Back then, the only fish I ate was tuna from a can.

I used to wear dungarees lined with flannel when I was a kid. Girls’ dungarees had a zipper in a front pocket. I wore blouses. If I got cold, I’d put on a sweater, a cardigan. Mostly I wore white sneakers. My clothes weren’t very colorful. They were heavy on the blue. I think every girl my age wore the exact same outfit.

My brother wore dungarees and striped jerseys. He even wore dungarees all summer. He wore white, high top sneakers, Converse sneakers. Mine too were Converse. Every boy his age wore exactly the same outfit, including Beaver Cleaver.

Last night I had a peanut butter and Nutella sandwich for supper. I would have used Marshmallow Fluff instead if I had any. My supper choices are quite limited. It’s time to shop. I’m keeping a list in Alexa. I just added Fluff.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““I believe in dressing for the occasion. There’s a time for sweater, sneakers and Levis and a time for the full-dress jazz.””

  1. Spaceman Says:

    Peanut butter and Nutella is a universally good combination. On sammiches (as we call em down South), on crackers, and so on. All good

    • katry Says:

      Spaceman,
      We don’t have a name for peanut butter and Nutella but we call PB and Fluff a fluffernutter.

      • Spaceman Says:

        Fluffernutter, what a suiting name. Some marshmallow cream would be a added bonus on anything with peanut butter and nutella. And it’s making me think about a close relative – some Moose Tracks ice cream

      • katry Says:

        Spaceman,
        There is a difference between marshmallow cream and Marshmallow Fluff. I am a fluff lover!

        I don’t know Moose Tracks ice cream.

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I also had dungarees with flannel linings but I only wore those in the winter. I remember one particular day that my cousin and I were playing race horse with our dogs. While walking backwards and drawing the finish line in the dirt road, I forgot to look where I was going. I fell over the edge and into the brook. It was spring but still cold and the water was really cold. By the time I got home, I was shivering. My mother dried me off and put me into a sweater and flannel lined dungarees. I never felt so cozy and warm. I have fond memory for flannel lined dungarees though I wouldn’t own any nowadays.
    As for sneakers, we all wore Keds PF Flyers with the white vinyl bumper toes. My brothers wore Converse, though. Black ones.

    The sun was in and out here today. It might have been more comfortable outside but the the wind was very strong and it made things feel much colder. The dogs and I went out several times but we didn’t stay outside very long except for early this morning before the wind came up.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I also only wore those in the winter. I wore shorts in the summer. They still sell flannel lined jeans. I have seen them in catalogs of kids’ clothes.

      Once in a while my mother bought me Keds, but it was mostly Converse. We went to their retail store which I think was in Malden back then.

      Nothing better than feeling cozy and warm after coming home freezing and in your case wet and freezing.

      I ended up staying home today. I just couldn’t get the energy to go and finish errands. I did do Peapod so I got some of the stuff I was going to buy at the store, and it is being delivered on time for me to get my chili made for the weekend.

      Stay warm and enjoy tomorrow.

  3. im6 Says:

    You didn’t think I could pass up this opportunity to share a song by Miss M, did you? Oh, I know it was written by and originally recorded by the late Kirsty MacColl, but Bette does a bang up job. It seems to fit today’s theme quite nicely.

    • katry Says:

      im6,
      I am always happy when you post the Divine Miss M.

      I have heard the Kirsty MacColl song, and Miss M does do an amazing version.

      This is such a great song.

      Thanks!

  4. Bob Says:

    Kat,
    Dungarees! I haven’t thought about that word since I was a kid. When we moved to Dallas from NYC in 1953 my mother took me shopping for clothes. She asked the clerk where the dungarees were and the woman looked at my mother as if she had three heads. The clerk said that they didn’t have any dungarees. My mother found the jeans which were made by companies called Wrangler, Lee or Levi’s. In Texas there was never any item of clothing called dungarees. That was the last time I had heard or even thought about that word until reading your post.

    When I was a kid in Texas I wore jeans every day. I liked the Lee brand with the leather patch on the back waistband that I would thread my belt underneath. I was shocked when I moved back to NYC in the eight grade and was told that not only I couldn’t wear jeans to school but I had to wear a tie and leather shoes rather than tennis shoes. Athletic shoes were not called sneakers in Texas.

    I enjoy the diversity of the American English language. You have referred to a frappe in the past which in NYC was a sundae when I was a little kid and no one in Texas would have a clue what you mean if you ordered a frappe. They might ask for a hint like is it mineral, vegetable or animal…:-) Of course you have explained that in New England it’s a milk shake. In NYC we called it a malted and in Texas it’s a shake.

    This morning the temperature was down to freezing under clear skies which warmed up to the low 50s.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      At some time dungarees gave way to blue jeans then just jeans, but it took a while. I went looking for more dungaree lore. It has been used in English since 1605–15, and is from the Hindi dungrī. Dungaree appears to be a subset of denim and typically refers to the most common style of blue denim.

      My brother wore jeans except to school. The boys’ uniforms were pants, a white shirt and a tie. There were no uniform shoes, but back then no one wore sneakers to school or church. We had school shoes.

      Here, a milk shake is just that: whipped milk and no ice cream. The joke is that a guy asked for a milk shake, and that’s what he got. He wanted to know where the ice cream was. The counter guy said if you wanted ice cream you should have asked for a frappe.

      It was cold here last week as well. We will be in the 40’s today, still warm for winter.

  5. olof1 Says:

    We were supposed to havbe sunshine allö day today and I’m still waiting. I’ve almost seen the sun but that is as close as we have come. I guess I should change job to weather predictor because they get paid no matter how wroing they are, I would have lost my job long ago if I was that bad as the weather predictors are 🙂 🙂

    We ate a lot of fish when I grew up, mostly cod but also lots of mackerel and saithe. I don’t eat it that often now days but I still love all kind of fish.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We have sun again today but it is cold. Gracie and I are going out in a bid as I didn’t yesterday.

      They have actually been getting the weather right!

      I eat a lot of fish now. The funny thing is I never eat tuna fish!

      Have a great day!!


Comments are closed.


