“Whoever snatched my formerly reliable, sharp short-term memory: I’d like it back now, please.”

Last night it poured. I fell asleep to the pounding on my roof and to the tremendous wind. It truly howled. This morning I woke to another dark, rainy day. It will be warm. Right now it is 49˚. The low will be 40˚. Winter has gone on hiatus for a few days.

When I was a kid, I did my homework at the kitchen table every day. I remember memorizing the times tables, spelling words and the Baltimore Catechism. “Who made you?” “God made me.” Questions and their answers from that catechism are still lingering, unused and unneeded, in my memory drawers, but the times tables and spelling words are part of my every day. Sometimes I had to do written homework, often worksheets. Mostly they were arithmetic lessons. The one I remember the most was a sheet to practice using coins. I had to add or subtract nickles, dimes or quarters.

I was never good at numbers. I used to hide my fingers under my desk so I could count. The nuns kept sharp eyes for finger counters so I had to be sly. The spelling words were easy. Every week I had to learn 20 new words for a test on Friday. I think I always got a 100, not a boast but evidence of a good memory. If I spelled the words out loud a few times, I learned them. My memory always saved me. That’s not so true anymore. As I get older, pulling answers from memory drawers gets more and more difficult because I can’t find them, but I have learned to compensate. I use my mother’s technique of going through the alphabet a letter at a time hoping one will jog my memory. I also use mnemonics. The funny thing is that often out of nowhere the answer jumps unexpectedly into my head long after I had searched for it. I hate not finding it, but I get comfort knowing the answers are still there.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““Whoever snatched my formerly reliable, sharp short-term memory: I’d like it back now, please.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    We had fog here today and it was so thick that I couldn’t see the neighbors house on the other side of the field, perhaps 100 yards. It was the same when I had to drive to the grocery store, I couldn’t see the church just beside the big road until I came really close. It stayed around 32 all day though.

    Numbers and I are best friends and has always been and I’ve always liked spelling. Our hardest things to spell, at least for me is the sound sh, like in shirt. It can be spelled in so many ways and they all sound almost the same. sh, sj, sch, stj, skj, sk, ki, kj, k. tj and, ch, I think those were all of them 🙂

    I often do like You, I follow the alphabet until something sounds familiar and then I might remember the word 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It actually got into the 50’s here today, and there was some fog. It has been raining most of the day but not enough to keep Gracie from going outside. It is supposed to clear some time tonight.

      I would be confused about the sounds. How do you know which spelling? I guess you just have to figure out the word from the sentence.

      I think going through the alphabet helps.

      Enjoy your evening!

      • olof1 Says:

        I can’t remember if there is a rule to which of the letters should be used, I’m pretty sure I would remember if there was.

      • katry Says:

        I think it sounds as if Swedish would be a difficult language to learn. I find languages based on tone are difficult for me.

  2. minicapt Says:

    As you get older, two things happen: you lose your memory and then …

    Cheers

  3. lilydark Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Yesterday we had sunshine, hail and a rainbow all at the same time. I was in my home, and saw the hail, but didn’t go outside to see the rainbow.
    I think I told you a book about memory that I had taken out of the library, but I couldn’t remember the name. I keep giggling over that one. I do think the name is something like “Where did I place my glasses”, but I’m still not sure. And yes I often misplace my glasses, and then find they are on top of my head.
    I was ok, at math, and I probably had to use my fingers, but working at my parents store, when I had to use the cash register I leaned out to give back correct change. I’m amazed that some people can’t do this when the automated system goes on the blink.
    I still find myself in a room forgetting what I came into the room to get. At least I’m alone when this happens, although I am sure my kitty is watching me and smirking.

    Lori and her crew

    • katry Says:

      Lori,
      I can’t remember the last time we had hail. We just had torrential rain yesterday and lighter rain all day today.

      Your forgetting the name of the book is funny. I don’t lose my glasses, but I also sometimes forget why I walked to the kitchen. I usually walk back to the den then I remember and walk back to the kitchen.

      I could make change and all, but I’m talking bad at geometry (a B to me was bad) and college math.

      It is true that some people can’t make change without the register. More’s the pity!

      Kat and the kids

  4. Bob Says:

    Memory is the second thing to go when you get older. Unfortunately, I can’t remember what the first thing is, but I think it was fun. 🙂

    Clear skies and temperatures in the low 70s. The cold weather is coming tomorrow. Colder weather is coming tomorrow with highs in the upper fifties.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I still have fun. My friends and I get together and play games, eat great food and have a lot of laughs.

      For me it is definitely memory loss. I get frustrated when I can’t remember.

      Your cold weather and my cold weather are quite different. Today it reached 50˚, a heat wave for this time of year. I lived in an extreme climate for two years, one where the lows were in the 90’s. I like the variation in seasons.


Comments are closed.


