“You have to eat oatmeal or you’ll dry up. Anybody knows that.”

Today is not one of my best days. My mother would say I am not up to snuff. To give you a better idea: I woke up at 9:30 and never got my first cup of coffee until 10:15. I just didn’t have the energy. I have someone who does all my yard work, a factotum who does odd jobs and plows, and a couple who clean every two weeks. Now I’m thinking I need a barista.

My Patriots gave the Steelers a bit of a football beating last night. We were on our feet more than a few times cheering their heroics on the field. Now it is on to the Super Bowl. My first thought for the big game is the menu. I’m thinking a sort of tailgating in the living room. I really wish my Dad was around so he too could cheer for his Pats and nosh with us (nosh-another one from my mother).

When I was a kid, baseball was my sport to watch mostly because it was easy to understand. The game didn’t have all the positions or plays football has. My dad watched the Giants on TV. I never did. I was a Red Sox fan. My football knowledge is much greater than it was, but I still don’t understand a lot of the responsibilities of the many positions. I understand the fundamentals of the game, and I find that’s enough.

Winter this year is weird. It is warmer. Today the high will be in the low 40’s and the low will be 38˚. It’s raining which makes it feel colder. It is also going to be extremely windy. When I was young, it was always cold walking to school. I was bundled as much as my mother could fit on me, but I swear my cheeks often went numb. They were red the entire winter. I didn’t have many colds, but I had sniffles. My nose was not a pretty sight nor, sadly, were my sleeve and mittens. Kids never carried handkerchiefs or kleenex.

My mother made the best cocoa. I drank it every winter morning. She’d dissolve the Nestle’s cocoa in some milk then add hot water to the cup. The cocoa always had bubbles on the top.

I have eaten all sorts of foods on my travels. Sometimes I had no idea what I was eating. I didn’t know the language. In some countries, I was glad I didn’t know. When I was a kid, I ate foods I’d never touch now. I ate sardines, the ones out of a can with a key on the top. I ate Spam right out of a can, also with a key on top. Those keys took a deft hand. My favorite way, favorite here used with tongue in cheek, of eating Spam was after it was fried. My mother often made us oatmeal for school day breakfasts. It wasn’t the smooth instant oatmeal they now sell. It was thick, lumpy oatmeal out of the cardboard cylinder with the Quaker on it. I never liked the lumps, but I found out that milk, a little cinnamon and lots of sugar helps the oatmeal, lumps and all, go down.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

9 Comments on ““You have to eat oatmeal or you’ll dry up. Anybody knows that.””

  1. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    The only way that oatmeal should be consumed is with milk and either maple syrup or brown sugar. Regular white sugar will do in an emergency but it’s not prime. I have often tried to eat oatmeal without those things. Can’t do it. I keep thinking it would be palatable if I added lots of some strong flavor to kill the taste of oatmeal. Cheese and garlic maybe? Oatmeal risotto? Best just not to eat it at all, I think.

    It’s dank and dreary up here. There were short bursts of snow this morning while we were out for our first walk. I hurried the dogs up as best I could. No sooner did we get back inside than the snow stopped and a bit of sun showed up. It’s been rain/snowing off and on since then. The wind is cold.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      For some reason we never used maple syrup though it sounds delicious. You made me chuckle. You can only eat oatmeal with all the fixings, but you still try a naked bowl of it.

      It is dreary here as well. It is also a dark day. The rain is intermittent, but we haven’t even had a peek of the sun. I want to do nothing. The day doesn’t lend itself to bursts of energy.

      The only one stirring is Maddie.

  2. flyboybob Says:

    Congratulations to the Pats and the Super Bowl should be an exciting game. I was rooting for the Falcons since the Packers beat the Cowboys last week. After watching the Falcons dismantle Green Bay I think the Cowboy’s season would have only been extended another week. 🙂 I’m sure as a Red Sox fan you are familiar with the words, ‘Wait till next year’.

    This is a very strange winter. Today the high should be in the upper 60s with clear skies. We had the high winds yesterday. Even with the rain we had last week we are still in draught conditions. The climate change deniers have taken a page from the tobacco industry. Never admitting that the earth is warming as a result of humans burning fossil fuels and always coming up with phony evidence to throw doubt on the real facts. Their doubts are now called, ‘Alternative facts’. 🙂 That term is going to be a staple for the next four years from the White House along with nasty tweets from the Commander in Chief himself.

    I never liked and still don’t like cooked cereal. Between the lumps, and the lack of taste I can’t stand the stuff. No matter how I tried to doctor it up with fruit, syrup or other sweets I hate it. Hot chocolate was always made with hot milk when I was a kid. My mother always tried different means of getting milk down our throats. My mother bought Nestle’s Quick and added marshmallows or whipped cream from the aerosol can. I was surprised that other kid’s mothers made their hot chocolate with water.

    I took a personal day off to take care of some legal business so I will have a short week at work.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I know well the old wait until next year. Our wait was 86 years before we won a World Series. The Pats are far more successful, and we always expect them to win.

      Kellyanne made a dreadful mistake defending Spicer with that term. The funniest thing I saw was a Golden Book with the title Alternative Facts. It looked just like the Golden Books from when I was a kid. California has certainly been getting tons of rain, and we have had our share of storms. Much of the state is no longer in drought condition.

      My mother used Cocoa in the red tin, not Nestle’s Quick. She used a combination of milk and water, and it was never as thin as just water. With 4 kids to feed, I think it was conservation of milk on her part. I ate the lumpy oatmeal but I never buy the instant oatmeal. I long ago lost my taste for hot cereal. I do but oatmeal but only to make cookies.

      Nothing as good as a short week of work!

      • Bob Says:

        I saw the Golden Book of Alternative Facts and had a good laugh. Every administration has a tug of war going between the right of the people to know and what the President wants to keep under wraps. However, we have never had a President’s press secretary actually say the words alternative facts instead of lie….LOL Trump is just going to bypass the press to communicate with the people via tweets. Is 140 characters enough to give people an in depth understanding of what the President is doing? Trump doesn’t read books so 140 characters to him seems like a short story. 😦

        The best part of the Super Bowl has always been the commercials. This year we will need the game, the halftime show and the ads to forget for a couple of hours that enough idiots actually voted for Trump.

      • Bob Says:

        This appeared in the NY Times. Looks like good reading in the Trump era.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        What was even worst was that Sean Spicer was defended by Kellyanne Conway who used the description alternative facts. She is far higher in the administration.

        Today Spicer repeated his contention and said if you add TV and computer viewing it would be well over 30 million.

        Trump just tweets four or five in a row to get his point across. It is far easier for him to tweet as his speeches are mostly ad lib and so bad.

        I do love the commercials in the Super Bowl, but this year I have more than the ads to watch.

        I’m adding that book to my list.

  3. olof1 Says:

    My work friend is so happy now, well he was that already last week when he told me the Pats would go to super bowl. I aksed if there wasn’t one game left but he said it didn’t matter. I don’t know a thing about American Football so I’m not sure if he just was optimistic or if that last game just didn’t matter 🙂

    Long tiume since I saw a can with a key to open it and now days they have this ring on top, like old soda cans, so there’s no need for even a can opener.

    I don’t like that smoot oatmeal, it tastes and feels like wallpaper paste, so I rather buy rye flakes, they remind more of the old oeatmeals but never lumps 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      That last game mattered as it made the Pats champs of their conference so they are going to the Super Bowl in two weeks. They are playing the Falcons, the other conference champ. Both are superb teams or they wouldn’t have made it to the Super Bowl.

      Sometimes I used the key poorly and couldn’t get the can opened. A couple of times I cut my fingers on the sharp top of the cans. I can’t remember the last time I saw a can with a key.

      It does resemble wallpaper paste. Now people just eat the instant oatmeal. I’m not one of them.

      Have a wonderful day!!


Comments are closed.


