“Truth is as straight as an arrow, while a lie swivels like a snake.”

Today turned out to be a pretty day. It was sunny and warm, too warm for this time of year,  but I’m complaining. I love sweatshirt weather in January.

When I was a kid, my mother had a great way to find out the truth. If something was found broken and no one admitted to it, my mother asked the four of us who did it. We all said we didn’t know. She didn’t believe us. She knew one of us was guilty. She told us when we lie our tongues turned black then she’d ask us to show her our tongues. The guilty party always gave himself away by refusing to show his tongue. Running to the mirror to check didn’t help. She told us only mothers could see the black tongue. We believed her. We were young.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. I didn’t know if that was true or not. It sort of sounded silly to me, but I didn’t want to take chances. I jumped over every crack. When I walked the railroad tracks, I jumped over every wooden tie with double zeros in the middle for the same reason. I did not want to be responsible for my mother’s broken back.

When I was in grammar school, if some other kid called me a name, I’d give the standard comeback: I know you are but what am I. There was really nowhere to go from there so it ended the name calling. Another, a more sophisticated comeback, was I’m rubber; you’re glue; whatever you say bounces off me and sticks on you. It didn’t have a comeback either.

The women’s marches were extraordinary. I watched them on MSNBC for a good part of the day. I also saw Trump’s speech at C.I.A. headquarters and Sean Spicer’s denunciation of the press in the filled press room at the White House. Words fail me. I’m angry and I’m sad.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““Truth is as straight as an arrow, while a lie swivels like a snake.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Grey and dull here this morning, around 32 and I see some fog in the distance. The hunters have come to the forest so We’re about to go out to the fields instead. Too bad I had hoped we would be able to go out on the bog today.

    Both Trump and Spicer behaves much like if the USA was a dictatorship. They lie about things that so obviously are wrong?! I wonder how long it will take until Trump wants to be called the great leader? I’m pretty sure that he soon will say that he, like Kim Il Sung had 18 holes in one when he went out golfing or perhaps he wrote several symphies before he was eleven years old. I don’t like this at all.

    Christer.

    • olof1 Says:

      symphonies nothing else 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I am horrified. Kellyanne Conway, Trump’s advisor, said they were presenting alternative facts. The questioner asked her what in the heck alternative facts are other than lies. Trump lied yesterday, and it was apparent to all.

      Trump lives in his own world. What is sad is he is trying to drag all of us with him into that world.

  2. Denise Says:

    The New York Times has pics from around the world. There ‘s one from Ghana! Thought you’d like to see it. Denise

  3. flyboybob Says:

    Unfortunately, one march will not change the policies that the Republicans are planning on putting into place. Policy change will only come with continued pressure from the opposition over the next two years when hopefully Democrats will go out and vote to take back both houses of Congress. I’m sure that Trump’s nominee to fill the seat of Justice Scalia will be young and very conservative. Conservatives have been chomping at the bit to reverse Roe v. Wade, the Voting Rights Act, gay marriage and anything else that the founding father’s failed to specifically write down in 1789. Hopefully, Justice Bader’s health will continue for the next four years. 🙂

    It would have been nice for evolution to have given us a black tongue or a growing nose so that we could tell when a lie is being told. 🙂 OMG no one would be able to run for any public office…LMAO

    Another warm and cloudy day for January.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      The marches against the Vietnam war started with a single march as did the civil rights marches. There is already a group putting together conflicts of interest by Trump hoping to prove it all so as to start impeachment. Even if he is not impeached, the mere fact of the attempt will kill Trump’s ego and force him to lie even more.

      I love your last paragraph!!

      • Bob Says:

        The really sad thing is that if Trump is impeached and then removed from office by a trial in the Senate, we are stuck with Pence. Trump is a wild card on any issue, but Pence is a right wing ideologue with a strong fundamentalist Christian bent. It’s possible that Trump is just the front man puppet and Pence is the power behind the curtain. The Republicans couldn’t win the Presidency with a guy like Pence, but Trump was the reality TV star they needed to win over the electorate. At least in enough states to win the office.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        You’re right. The last thing we need is, ” a right-wing ideologue with a strong fundamentalist Christian bent.”

        I don’t think Pence is all that intelligent either and will bow to Trump’s will.

        We are in trouble. Maybe in two years the house and senate will be democratic. We can always hope.

      • katry Says:

        Thanks, Bob

        I did find that interesting!!! Many thanks!


Comments are closed.


