“We are all living history, and it’s hard to say now what will be important in the future. One thing’s certain, though: if we throw it away, it’s gone.”

Today is damp and dark, uninviting. I want to do nothing. I doubt I’ll get dressed. Thus far this morning I have brushed my teeth, made coffee and read two newspapers. I am back to binging on Star Trek Voyager. I am also streaming the Women’s March. I didn’t watch the inauguration.

When I was in the eighth grade, John Kennedy was elected president. That campaign was the first time I ever had any interest in politics. A small Kennedy for President store front opened right next to Santoro’s Sub Shop. Posters were in the window. I remember going inside and getting buttons and pins. I wore them on my coat for the whole campaign. Afterwards, I put them on the bulletin board in my room. They stayed there. When I bought this house, my mother brought the board down to me. It had been in stasis since I’d left for Ghana. I was thrilled to find so many pieces of my childhood still pinned to that board. My favorite find, though, was a Kennedy for President pin with his picture on it and a larger pin which said If I were twenty-one I would vote for Kennedy. They are now on display in a frame with other buttons from other campaigns. My McGovern-Eagleton pin is there as is my Returned Peace Corps for McGovern-Shriver. Every button in that display is a historical record of my politics from 1960 to 1984 and Gary Hart.

I still have a bulletin board. It is cork, not the pink material board which hung for so long in my room. It is filled with both old and new ephemera. A chocolate Golden Tree wrapper from Ghana hangs there. There is a picture of my mother and all of us together in Colorado and one of me with my Ghanaian students from my first visit back. There is a home-made valentine I gave to my mother when I was young. She found it and brought it to me. There is a Mard-Gras mask hanging from a corner of the board. From the other top corner all the ID’s I’ve had for a variety of events are hanging. This bulletin board is also a historical record, more recent but no less interesting.

Today is a day for mac and cheese.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

16 Comments on ““We are all living history, and it’s hard to say now what will be important in the future. One thing’s certain, though: if we throw it away, it’s gone.””

  1. greg washington Says:

    the marches are inspiring as all hell. I, too avoided yesterdays festivities and am streaming today. i’m pretty thrilled how many of
    the men I know are out marching. I think we live in the only western washington county that voted trump.

    • katry Says:

      greg,
      It has always been a point of pride that I live in the bluest of all states, the one which even voted for McGovern.

      These marches are totally inspiring. My friend sent me a picture of the march in Accra, Ghana. I watched MSNBC and couldn’t believe how many worldwide cities are having marches. I don’t think there is anything in history which compares.

  2. olof1 Says:

    Really nice weather here today, sunny, a bit warmer than expected and almost totally winf´d free. I would have loved to be outside more than I was but I woke up with a sore throat and have been a bit tired all day. It isn’t a near death cold but a bit annoying anyway 🙂

    I did see the inauguration and his speech was rather worrying. I wonder if the Russian puppet really understand what he is about to do if he goes through with his plan?

    I used to have a bulletin board but it went down to the cellar and my mother has never been the one who saves anything for sentimental reasons so I’m pretty sure it went to the dump pretty fast. I do remember mine being bright blue.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It got warm later in the day. It was in the 50’s in Boston, 20˚ above normal for this time of year, but a snow storm is coming Monday. I think it will miss me-or at least I hope it will.

      That speech was so off the mark, so wrong in so many ways. I find him scary. I think he has no idea how to govern.

      My family moved when I was in Ghana, but my mother saved most of the stuff from my room in boxes so that’s why she still had that bulletin board.

      Have a great day!!

    • katry Says:

      im6,
      I do love the Roches and losing one is just awful. You’re right: so far this hasn’t been the best of years.

    • Birgit Says:

      Oh no, not Maggie, my favorite Roches singer and songwriter!
      Just alone for singing the line “Give me a broom and I’ll sweep my way to heaven” in Mr. Sellack she should be famous. I had to hear it again and now I’m listening to Quitting Time.
      Just today I was at a funeral of a great woman just 2 years older than Maggie who suddenly died. Stop 2017!

      • katry Says:

        Birgit,
        If the year starts out so badly, what will the rest of it be like? I don’t even want to think about it.

        I’m still lost in the world of Star Trek!!

  3. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I too skipped the inauguration stuff yesterday. Then again, I haven’t watched an Inauguration since John F. Kennedy so why break with tradition? I caught the after action reports and that was bad enough.
    I live streamed the marches for awhile today but couldn’t watch all of it. Inspiring and maddening that we have to do this all again and again. Just when we think we’ve almost reached the summit, we go sliding back down in a rush of white male nostalgia.

    When I woke up this morning it was really dark. I assumed it was my normal 4AM wake time. But my phone was flashing. My phone should not be flashing between 10PM and 6AM because it turns off. The phone said it was 6:30AM. Guess I slept in. It was still way too dark for 6:30AM, though.
    Eventually, several hours later, the sun started to peak through. It was really quite lovely and warm up here.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Caryn,
      I missed everything including the after reports. I have watched most inaugurals. They have been uplifting and hopeful. From what I understand, Trump was bleak and again spoke misinformation. Nothing new there.

      I watched Netflix most of last night. I just couldn’t watch any part of yesterday.

      The last time I saw 4AM I was trying to get to sleep. When I woke up, it wasn;t dark but it wasn’t bright either.

      As with your day, mine got sunny in the afternoon. It wasn’t as warm here as the weather you got.

      Have a great evening.

  4. Bob Says:

    Today started out with partly cloudy skies and 70 degrees. Now a line of thunderstorms are moving across the area to the east. I’m sure winter is hiding somewhere just waiting for February to strike.

    I also avoided the inauguration but heard highlights of his speech. Basically the world that we have known siince the end of WWII is over. He made no attempt to unify the country, which is usually a lie anyway, and set out to turn back the clock and end or redefine globalization. I suspect an escalation of the war in Iraq and Syria. Republinans love wars. More military spending, more police violence against minorities at home and a war against woman’s rights and reproductive health. Since he and the Republicans hold all three branches of government it’s going to be a bumpy ride. The Republicans have been dreaming about tearing down the social reforms enacted since the new deal and now they can succeed. 😦

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I thought it got warm here at 45˚. We are expecting rain on Monday while north of us will get snow.

      Critics called it the worst ever inaugural speech. He attacked rather than tried to bring the country together. We are going to go back to pre-World War I isolationism. That’s where America First comes into play.

      He is trying to muzzle the press and any opposition. It is scary.

      • Bob Says:

        Sadly, the President is most concerned that the press chose photos that showed less people than where actually there. Or, be concerned with the TV ratings.

        This guy might make Nixon look good…:-(

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I suspect he has a long enemies list already just as Nixon had.

        I didn’t watch the speech, but I did read it on-line. It was so divisive and painted a horrible picture of our country which isn’t true.

        Looks like the only press we’ll read is pro-Trump!


Comments are closed.


