“I think insomnia is a sign that a person is interesting.”

The clock just struck one. I’m not even tired. I went up and down the TV dial and checked out Netflix, but I didn’t find anything I wanted to watch. I tried to read, but I just couldn’t settle down and pay attention. Gracie and Maddie had slept most of the night away, but Gracie just woke up, had a snack and a drink of water then climbed back on the couch to go back to sleep. In about two minutes she was snoring. I envy her.

The weather stayed lovely all day. It hit 43˚. Gracie and I did our errands. We went to the dump, and she got her nails cut at the vets then we took a ride. Gracie liked the window down.

When we got home, the alien took over my body again. The kitchen is gleaming. This sudden spurt of housecleaning has to end.

When I was a kid, I read all of the time. I visited the library just about every week in the summer and every couple of weeks in the winter. I can close my eyes and still picture the children’s side of the library. The librarian sat behind a round counter made of wood set in the middle of the room across from the door. The shelves filled with mysteries were against the wall behind her. The tables and chairs were all wooden. The chairs were spindlebacks though I didn’t know back then that’s what the style was called. Some of the chairs had arms. The tables were different lengths. I’d sit for a bit and look through books to decide which ones I wanted to read. When I was ready, I’d bring the books to the librarian who would stamp the lined sheet in the back with the due date.

I loved mysteries. My favorite detectives were Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden. The library didn’t have those books, but I’d use my fifty cent allowance to buy the Trixie Belden books and just about every birthday and Christmas I’d be given new Nancy Drews. I loved that they were girls solving mysteries. Nancy drove a roadster. I had to look up what kind of a car a roadster was. Trixie was much younger, closer to my age. I always envied their sleuthing. I would have loved stumbling on a mystery.

Well, I finally settled on a Netflix film about conspiracies. Hitler and Eva were replaced by doubles who were shot. The two of them were then spirited out of the country. Now I’m going to find out what really happened to Nazi gold.  This program was a great choice. I’m getting sleepy from watching it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““I think insomnia is a sign that a person is interesting.””

  1. sprite Says:

    Sorry you’re having trouble sleeping. I hope it doesn’t interfere with the movie later on.

    I keep hoping if I don’t go to sleep that noon will never arrive.

    Oh, and I was a big fan of Trixie and Nancy, too.

    • katry Says:

      sprite,
      It was close to 4 before I went to bed so I just wasn’t up to hurry to the 11:45 movie. I took my time reading the papers and drinking coffee. I’m still deciding whether or not to go to the next movie time. I just seem to be drained of energy today.

  2. Spaceman Says:

    Well Netflix is good for insomnia. Try “Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries” for something fun. “The Paradise” and “The Time in Between” (subtitled) are also interesting series.

  3. olof1 Says:

    Sunny and warm here today, we reached a bit above 44F and I could feel the heat from the sun, usually we don’t do that until late February. It’ll turn again tomorrow. I do wish it could make up its mind 🙂

    Nancy Drew, called Kitty here, was good but the Hardy bouys was a favorite of mine too. Mostly however I read the Swedish books like the twin detectives or Dante, they were also very funny.

    No problems of falling asleep here but I did have problems waking up this morning. I was so tired and it felt like I had the worst cold in the world. That feeling left as soon as I started to drive to work though.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It is warm here too but cloudy. It is a dark day literally and figuratively.

      I also read The Hardy Boys. They were good, but I loved a girl being the smart detective more. Did you know both series were written by the same author?

      I slept until 10:30. I chose not to watch the inauguration but have been watching Star Trek Voyager on Netflix.

      Enjoy your day!

  4. Hedley Says:

    The next time you are Netflix dependent do try “Miss Sharon Jones” well worth your time and a decent reflection of her life and late found success with the Dap Kings.

    Radio on – Radio off goes all night in our house especially if I am preoccupied. Last night I heard from a (very unreliable source) that Kwame Kilpatrick was to be a free man at 12.00 midnight as part of the President’s commuting of sentences. I had the news in advance of the news, I told Mrs MDH boldly that it would happen, It didn’t.

    Our Prince weekends are falling away as his commitments take over. I miss him and what was every fortnight has become once a month. I knew that it would happen

    Anything on TV today ? I have a total ban on news events in my home

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Thanks for the recommendation. I was into conspiracy most of the late night. I had to wake Gracie to get her to bed upstairs. It was close to 4 when I dragged myself upstairs.

      I listen to Alexa playing my music when I’m preoccupied. She does a great job in choosing the right music.

      It would have surprised me had Kwame Kilpatrick been freed.

      It gets so much more difficult to stay connected as kids grow older. They get busier with activities which usually take place on weekends. I know how much you love having The Prince over for his weekends, and I know how much he enjoys spending time with you and Mrs. My Dear Hedley. I hope there is a way for you to spend more time with him.

      I am binging on Star Trek Voyager on Netflix. I also have a total ban on news events.

      I was going to go to the movies, but I just couldn’t get myself together in time. Also, I’m thinking about taking a nap.

  5. Birgit Says:

    Now you know where the nazi gold is? Please tell me and we’ll throw a KTCC party 🙂
    Too many dangerous nazi zombies in real life here and and we worry about the outcome of the elections in Germany, the Netherlands and especially France this year.
    I think I need punk music today.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I’m not telling!

      The conspiracy series spends a lot of time on Nazis. The explanation is they are the single most conspiratorial group in history.

      I’m thinking your nazi zombies have spread over here.

  6. Bob Says:

    My father used to tell me that I would have been a terrific soldier because I can sleep anywhere and anytime. Unfortunately, I get up at least once during the night to visit the little boy’s room and I sometimes have a hard time falling back to sleep. I haven’t tried Netflix for a sleeping aid.

    All the old libraries must have been decorated by the same interior decorators. I haven’t been in a library in several years and our local branches are of modern design. The card catalogs are gone and banks of computers are now on many of the tables.

    Today we had clear skies and temperatures in the low 70s. Last year was the warmest year on record and January here has been warm.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      When I was younger, I could sleep anywhere. At the Peace Corps hostel the room had 4 sets of bunk beds. I never heard when people came in after I had gone to bed. When I worked, I was in bed early, before 10 as I got up at 5:15. It is only now I find myself not sleepy some nights. I hit the wall around 5, but I don’t give in and then I’m revived.

      My library is an old captain’s house and is very small. It does have a couple of computers on one floor and a couple in the children’s section which was at one time a cellar.

      It was about 43˚ or 44˚ today-nice day.


Comments are closed.


