“What a severe yet master artist old Winter is…. No longer the canvas and the pigments, but the marble and the chisel.

We’ve lost the sun. It’s a gray day with no wind. Rain will be here tomorrow. You’ll hear no complaints from me. It isn’t snow.

When I was a kid, I loved winter. I sledded and went ice skating at the town rink and at the swamp. I built snow forts in the tall piles left on the sides of the road by the plows. My friends and I had snowball fights. We’d build a short wall in front of us and across from each other then start making ammo, snowballs. When both sides had enough made, the fight began. I don’t think there was ever a clear winner. We’d finish the day so soaked and frozen that even the shoes inside our boots were filled with snow. My mother would sometimes make us cocoa with Marshmallow Fluff on top. I remember watching the Fluff spread from the heat of the cocoa. When I drank the cocoa, I always had a Fluff mustache.

At some time in my life, winter got boring. I started dreading snow. I hated scraping the ice off my windshield and driving to and from work in the dark. I admit snow is pretty especially right after a heavy snow storm when the tree branches and streets are covered. I do like watching the snow fall. I turn on the backdoor light so I can see the flakes, delicate and lacy. When I was a kid, there was a streetlight right near my house. Even back then I loved watching the flakes under the light.

I never knew the temperature when I was young. In my mind it was winter and winter was supposed to be cold. Now I asked Alexa the day’s weather and watch the news. I want to know what to expect. I’m happy when I hear 44˚ and groan when it is in the 20’s or even lower. I stay inside on the especially cold days.

I don’t think I’ll ever reconcile myself to winter. It had its time when I was young. Now  I accept summer as the season for we who are growing old.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““What a severe yet master artist old Winter is…. No longer the canvas and the pigments, but the marble and the chisel.”

  1. Hedley Says:

    The ice rain swept in to Michigan last night leaving a very unpleasant glaze that caused an equally unpleasant commute. The Terrier and I went out early as normal and she couldn’t get any traction. We took care of terrier stuff very quickly and returned to home base

    Our oldest got stranded on a sub division hill late last night and it was only my brilliance in handling big old rear wheel drive cars that avoided his Crown Vic being abandoned for the night

    I see ice and I panic. I am heading to the 6th anniversary of my vulgar encounter with the same and I proceed with extreme caution

    My snow blower sits silent having last rung out at Christmas time.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      The weather was filled with stories of the ice and rain. Driving on ice is always a bit scary, especially the black ice. I can’t remember the last time we had an icy rain storm. Right now it is just rain. I check the stairs for Gracie and throw out de-icer just in case.

      I remember a hill in Melrose. I had my mother’s big Chevy. I watched from the bottom as cars couldn’t make it up the hill and figured out what I needed to do. I managed to get up that hill. I wanted applause.

      I fall without ice so an icy walk scares the heck out of me.

      Snowless vibes are headed your way.

  2. Birgit Says:

    I love snow, the world just looks brighter in winter. Too often it’s just gray, dark and rainy here. Well, I don’t have to scrape ice off the tram or my bike 😉
    Kudos to your current president, 500 m$ for the UN climate fund and Chelsea Manning will be free soon. Too bad you can’t keep him.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      We all wish we could keep the Obamas. Both of them were quite classy and funny and genuine. Now we’re in hell.

      I love looking at the snow. it is quite pretty and the day looks so much brighter when the sun shines on it. That’s where pretty ends for me. The dog has trouble getting into the yard. I’m afraid of her plowing down the stairs. I am lucky that someone comes and shovels and plows for me or I’d be stuck in my house forever.

  3. Bob Says:

    I can live with driving on a small amount of snow but ice is another story. Aircraft manufacturers supply flight crews with increased runway requirements for takeoff and landing distances on contaminated runways. There are multiplier additives for wet, slush and snow. However, the multiplier for ice is an unknown value. I always think about that when we have a forecast for sleet or freezing rain.

    Like you I enjoyed sledding when I was very young and ice skating when I was in high school. Otherwise, I would rather spend the winter in Florida, Arizona or Hawaii.

    Today was cloudy with a low of 40F in the morning and 60F this afternoon. More rain is forecast for the next couple of days. Yesterday morning fog and low ceilings settled in with visibilities less than a mile.

    I remember watching Dr. Martin Luther King’s I have a dream speech live and I thought that racism would a thing of the past by the 21st. Century. Yet here we are seventeen years later and Trump gets elected President partially as a result of white backlash to eight years of Obama. It’s sad that we can’t seem to get over a difference of skin color. Race is just a pigment of your imagination. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Ice is really tricky. Around here learning to drive on it is a rite of passage.

      I am just fine spending winter here. I don’t love the snow, but I survive. The rest of the year makes it all worthwhile.

      It is raining right now. It is 39˚ which will be the low. It will be in the 40’s tomorrow but still raining. My friend in New Hampshire says it is snowing there. He heard the plow go by. He can keep the snow!!

      We are trading a decent, dignified president for one who at best is vindictive and narcissistic. Like Nixon, it seems he has an enemy list. He is so thin skinned it makes for a scary future.

      • Bob Says:

        This guy makes Nixon look like a saint. At least Nixon had consistent policy positions. Trump just seems to change his mind depending with whom he last spoke. While the Republican leaders are rushing to kill Obamacare at warp factor seven with no replacement in sight, Trump is telling the press that his healthcare plan will cover everyone and at lower premiums. Of course no one has seen it nor does any sane health policy expert think that’s possible. When he takes the oath of office his business ties give ethics experts nightmares. Of course during his entire business career the man had no ethics either in his business dealings and his personal life. 😦

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Trump is being compared with President Johnson. Both were thin skinned burly men who spoke their minds far less eloquently than other presidents. Nixon was a hater and I think he and Trump share that.

        Trump tells us we’ll love it. It will cover everyone. He has nothing yet but lies and says he does. That shouldn’t be surprising as he is a liar.

        He is hiding so much by not releasing his income taxes.

        Scary!!

  4. olof1 Says:

    I never really liked winter as a kid either but it came and I tried to enjoy it as much as I could 🙂 It was fun to sled down the hills though, even I have to admit that 🙂

    I do like winter photographs and paintings though. It is sort of nice when I don’t have to walk around in it myself 🙂 Still, low temperatures is quite ok as long as the snow stays away.

    Foggy and warm here so almost all snow we had has once again melted away and I’m totally ok with that 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I didn’t mind winter except it was sometimes really cold walking to school. When we could see the school building, we’d hurry so we could get warm.

      It isn’t always the coldest when it snows. Those really cold days, in the teens, mean I’m going nowhere. I’d staying warm inside the house.

      It’s raining but it is sort of warm. Up north they’re getting snow-they can keep it!

      Have a great day.


Comments are closed.


