In the Cold Cold Night: The White Stripes

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

6 Comments on “In the Cold Cold Night: The White Stripes”

  1. Hedley Says:

    Meg and Jack out of Royal Oak or thereabouts. Supposedly Meg married Patti Smith’s son and lives very quietly in our community. Jack opened Third Man Records right next to Shinola in midtown.

    KTCC continues to surprise and entertain

    • katry Says:

      MDH,
      Your knowledge always amazes me. You know the whos, the whys and the wheres of all these groups.

      I dread that a time could ever come when I don’t surprise and entertain you!

      • Hedley Says:

        Kat, I am sure you know the story – they pretended they were brother and sister when in fact they were husband and wife.

        Jack moved to Nashville where he continues to produce music and Meg just stopped.

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        Why did they stop singing?

      • Hedley Says:

        Jack continues to tour and sing and issue rather excellent “albums” . Meg suffered terribly with stage fright but who really knows why they called it a day.

        The last two White discs, “Blunderbuss” and “Lazaretto” received rather significant airplay on the MDH turntable.

        Jack is just plain funny and here is a good example

        “Yeah, I got three women
        Red, blonde, and brunette
        I got three women
        Red, blonde, and brunette
        It took a digital photograph to pick which one I like…

        Yeah, I got one in California and one back in Detroit
        I got one in California and one back in Detroit
        I brought my woman to Nashville, cast a bottle with her daddy all night”

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        Funny lyrics!

        I can’t imagine how horrible it must have been for Meg to sing on stage. Carly Simpon is the same. I’m glad for studio records.


Comments are closed.


