“After luncheon the sun, conscious that it was Saturday, would blaze an hour longer in the zenith,…”

The cold is back. Alexa just told me it is 28˚. The high will be 36˚. In whose world is 36˚ a high? I know it is winter. I’m not deluded, but I am hopeful. Come on 50˚. Come back January thaw!!

When I was a kid, Saturday was the best day of the week. I didn’t have to go to school. I could go anywhere I wanted or I could stay home glued to the TV watching Creature Double Feature. Nothing was better than two B-science fiction movies in black and white one after the other. I got to watch spiders, giant ants, grasshoppers and even monoliths destroy cities and kill people. I sat as close to the TV as my mother allowed.

If my mother didn’t want us hanging around the house all day, she’d send us to the Saturday matinee. My brother and I would walk uptown to the movie theater. We usually arrived early so we waited in line none too patiently with every other kid who arrived early. We’d buy a ticket, choose a candy bar then find a seat. I never liked being too close to the screen. My mother would have been pleased. The theater was never quiet. We’d clap and yell for our heroes and boo the bad guys. It was easy to tell them apart. In westerns, the good guys wore white hats which never fell off their heads, even in fights with the black-hatted bad guys. We’d watch a serial, two movies and a cartoon, not bad for a quarter, up from the dime of my younger days.

I can’t remember the last time I ate a Sugar Daddy, but I loved them at the movies. They lasted longer than any other candy. My favorite part was chewing the caramel from the top and pulling with my teeth until threads appeared. They were always hard to bite. Once in a while I’d buy Sugar Babies. They were the same taste as Sugar Daddies but were soft to chew. Sugar Mamas joined the family. They were my favorites as they were a Sugar Daddy covered in chocolate.

When I go to the movies now, I buy popcorn and a drink. Sometimes I sneak in candy. I prefer Nonpareils. They aren’t as much fun as Sugar Daddies but are far less dangerous for my fillings.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““After luncheon the sun, conscious that it was Saturday, would blaze an hour longer in the zenith,…””

  1. flyboybob Says:

    Going to the movies on a Saturday for the kids double feature was a regular event. For a year we lived in an apartment behind the Inwood Village shopping center. It was an early 1950s strip up scale shopping center. It contained a movie theater with a balcony that showed first run movies in the evenings and on Saturday matinee it was the kid shows. We could walk across the street and through a passageway that connected the back parking lot with the front of the center next to the theater. The double feature was proceeded by a short film followed by several cartoons. The main features were reruns of Science Fiction or Westerns.

    Saturdays were the best day of the week because on Sundays stores couldn’t open because of the ‘blue’ laws. Texas, is the buckle of the bible belt and any commerce on the Lord’s Day was considered a sin and was prohibited by laws. They were silly laws because a grocery store could stay open on Sunday but couldn’t sell a hammer in the hardware department. Somehow they must have thought that hammering a nail on Sunday was sinful but preparing a meal was not. 🙂

    I used to love eating popcorn and the Sugar Daddy for the same reason as you. Today, when I go to the movies I will buy the popcorn but not the drink and my wife will smuggle in the candy. 🙂 We have a multiplex theater that only cost a dollar and a half, they just raised their price from a dollar, where they show films that are just coming out on pay for view or DVD. All theaters could give a way the movie if they required you to buy a large popcorn. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Our movie theater was uptown, about a 15 or 20 minute walk. The theater is still there, refurbished and now the home of a non-profit theater. I go there once a year to see a play. I love seeing parts which are still there.

      We also had blue laws for the longest time here. They broke apart a little at a time until they totally disappeared. I still wish we still had them. One day of the week for employees to rest is not a bad thing.

      My theater is far more expensive. The senior citizen rate is small so going to the movies is expensive. I always go to a matinee during the week. Usually there are only 4 or 5 other people. I still enjoy going despite the price.

  2. Hedley Says:

    Hi Kat, my most recent Nikon didn’t work so well after I dropped it on the pavement in Paris and then I slung it in to the Caribbean. I am very used to the Nikon protocol and was waiting for the new DL but there have been endless delays so I decided to stray

    I have the new Olympus set up and now I am systematically working through the auto photo mode and in to all the manual options. It will take me at least a month to get up to speed. Maggie the Westie is doing an excellent job at modeling for me as I adjust focal planes. My initial reaction is that it is a very complicated camera with an idiot proof point and shoot.

    We tried to go to the movies last night and arrived 45 minutes before kick off to be told that La La Land was sold out. We substituted a trip to Home Depot for light bulbs. We sure know how to have a fun night out

    Tottenham hammered Brom this morning 4-0 in probably their most exciting performance of the season. I wish Team Brady well tonight and have to wait now for Sunday night as the NFL delayed #72 and his chums

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I will hold off getting a new camera as I have no trips planned so I can wait until a new Nikon. Learning a whole new system doesn’t really interest me.

      I’m glad Maggie the Westie is being such a wonderful model. Gracie too enjoys posing.

      La La Land is on my list, but I will stay far away from weekends. Going to Home Depot is just not on my list even f I need light bulbs.

      I am going to watch the game with friends. Brady and the boys are expected to win, but I take nothing for granted. I did notice the NFL postponed the game because of the storms. I wish #72 well!

  3. olof1 Says:

    They only showed one film when I went to the matinee but we always came very early so we could see the commercials. We didn’t have them on tv backthen so they were actually as important to see as the actual film 🙂 If they want the commercials to work here they must be fun so we laughed a lot while seeing them. The American ones with beautiful people, waves and sunshine passed us buy with very or no effect at all 🙂

    We’ve always been able to bruing our own candy and they didn’t even bother to sell anything on matinees. I rarely buy popcorn but I do like fruitgums, silent candy 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We didn’t have commercials at the movies, but we had plenty on TV. On Saturday mornings when cartoons were on, the commercials were aimed at us kids. They were fun and some resembled cartoons like the Rabbit for Twix.

      We never thought about bringing our own candy back when I was young. We did bring it to the drive-in movie but not the matinee.

      Have a great day!

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    My town had two movie theatres but I only went to one of them. They were fairly close to each other and the smaller one was closer to my house but I think it didn’t often show main stream movies. I was in it once and thought it very pretty. More like a stage theatre than a movie theatre.
    The big movie theatre that I always went to burned down in the seventies and that space, now called The Theater Block, is a grocery/bakery with offices on the upper floors. It’s a lovely building. The pretty theatre was turned into apartments or something around the same time that the other theatre burned. They were both doing badly because mall cinemas had drawn away the customers.

    Today is sunny. Not warm but not wicked cold, either. Bearable, I guess. 🙂 I’ve been out once with the dogs. There are no plans for today which is a good thing since I’m not in a hurry to get moving either.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      We had one movie theater uptown. It went into disrepair after the owners died. A non-profit bought it and the theater was refurbished. When I go every Christmas, I see some of the parts which were there when I was a kid. The ticket booth is on a side wall, but it really a window, not a booth. You walk up to the seating area. A wall is where the candy counter used to be. People sit in the balcony, off limits most Saturdays when I was young, too many candy missiles.

      They have torn down stores a bit down from the theater and later replaced them with a brick building totally out of style from the rest of the square.

      It was also sunny and cold here. I had to keep the back door shut because I could feel the cold from the dog door all the way down the hall.

      Keep warm!


Comments are closed.


