“Silently, like thoughts that come and go, the snowflakes fall, each one a gem.”

The first thing I did when I woke up was check the clock then look out the window. The weatherman had said the snow would start around 10:00. It was 9:30 when I woke up, and it was already snowing. I jumped out of bed and got dressed to go outside. Gracie needed dry dog food.

The roads had more cars than I expected. Even Agway had a lot of customers. I didn’t check the grocery store parking lots, but I suspect they’re filled, and the stores are depleted of milk and bread. Peapod came last night so my fridge and cupboards are filled. I anticipated being housebound so I bought hummus, pita bread, chips, cheese and snacks as well as the staples. I have a bottle of champagne and plenty of orange juice.

The snow is supposed to fall between 1 and 3 inches an hour until 3 or 4 in the morning. My car is covered as are my footprints. Gracie slid down the last three steps when she went outside just a short while ago. I watched until she disappeared under the deck. She is a smart dog. Under the deck gave her a bit of protection from the snow.

I am mesmerized by the falling snow. I keep looking out the window at the flakes slanted from the north to the south. The snow on top of one big pine branch is sort of my measuring stick. It is double the height it was just a while ago.

Pine needles are all over the house. Most of them are still on the living room floor, but Gracie and I have carried needles on paws and slippers to the rest of downstairs. If I get bored, I’ll sweep then vacuum, but I’d have to be really, really bored. The Christmas decorations fill the couch and one side of the kitchen counters, but I just can’t conjure enough energy and enthusiasm to haul up the boxes to put everything away.

The corner is empty where the tree used to stand. The living room is dark without the glow of lights. The wonderful aroma of pine is gone. I hate saying goodbye to Christmas.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

7 Comments on ““Silently, like thoughts that come and go, the snowflakes fall, each one a gem.””

  1. flyboybob Says:

    The left overs of real Christmas trees are the needles. After Chanukah all we have to clean up are some candle drippings and a greasy frying pan. No wonder Christmas is a major holiday and Chanukah is not.
    🙂

    If anyone remembers, the Super Bowl in 2010 was played in Jerry’s World now named AT&T Stadium. That weekend it snowed more than usual for Dallas and the city was so embarrassed that they couldn’t clear a path to the stadium from the major hotels they had to import snow plows from Amarillo. After that they bought a couple in case the Super Bowl comes back to Dallas and we have another snow storm. 🙂 This year the Super Bowl is being played in Houston which has about a billion to one chance that it will snow. Houston is about 250 miles south of Dallas.

    We haven’t left the house since yesterday when the really cold weather hit. Right now we are at 36F degrees which should melt all the black ice. Some idiots can’t remember to turn their lawn sprinkler systems off which creates havoc on the streets.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I would prefer the Chanukah after frying pan and candle wax. The tree has to be undecorated, and the tree baubles and lights have to be put away. The tree then has to be dragged outside and disposed of. Lastly the needles have to be cleaned up from the floor and rug. I love a tree so all and all I do think it is all worthwhile.

      I remember the Patriots snowplow game. The refs kept stopping the game so the field could be plowed. When the Pats did something like even a first down, fans threw snow in the air. The stands looked as if they had mini white fireworks.

      We should have some sun tomorrow. I hope the day will be warm enough to melt the snow left on roads and walkways.

      • Bob Says:

        Of course AT&T stadium has a retractable roof and it was closed. Besides fighting the snow on the roads some fans arrived and found out they had no seats. Jones built extra rows of seats in the upper reaches of the stadium and the safety experts from the NFL made them remove those rows forcing those fans to watch the game on TV in the standing room area. They sued and won. I think some workmen were injured from ice falling off the roof outside the stadium.

        It was a disaster and I can’t remember who played or who won.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        The removal of seats confuses me. Hadn’t they ever used them before that game? If they had, what made safety experts check that game? I’m glad they sued. That was awful fighting the snow to find you couldn’t go to the game.

        In places where snow is unusual, people have so much trouble driving. We up here find it amusing.

      • Bob Says:

        Jones wanted to sell more tickets so he had extra rows of temporary seats built just for the Super Bowl. Either the NFL or the Arlington Fire marshal declared the rows illegal and unsafe and refused to let anyone sit in them.

      • katry Says:

        Thanks, Bob

        Making more money I understand.

  2. olof1 Says:

    We never got especially much snow yesterday but even I have to admit that it looked very beautiful when it fell. Too bad it has to fall everywhere and not just over houses and trees 🙂

    It’s still dark outside but I can see we have fog this morning, it will most likely vanish before it is light enough to take a walk. We won’t get any sunshine so it could just as well stay all day.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.


Comments are closed.


