January brings the snow, Makes our feet and fingers glow.

We have snow. I awoke to a white world. I think about 4 inches fell, not much but it is the first of the season so it is remarkable in itself. I went out and found my papers. They were the small mound of snow behind my car. Late Saturday through Sunday another storm is due and will drop much more snow than this one, 6 to 10 inches.

My Christmas tree is sitting naked it its stand waiting for the plastic bag to cover it so it can be hauled outside. All the lights and ornaments are on the couch. Needles cover the floor beneath the tree. I’ll haul the storage boxes up from the cellar later. This is a sad day.

My niece in Colorado said her son didn’t have pre-school today. All schools were closed. It was -27˚, the actual temperature. With the wind chill it was -38˚. The weatherman predicts a warm up by noon when it will reach 0˚.  I can’t imagine a temperature that cold.  We seldom even get to single digit temperatures. I complain when it gets down to the 20’s.

The worst of winter stretches in front of me. February and March are the snowiest months. I can even remember a snow day in April. I used to shovel, but I don’t anymore. Skip comes to plow and shovel. I am content to sit inside waiting for him. My biggest exertion is writing the check.

I can’t deny the beauty of the snow. The tree limbs are covered, and when the wind blows, the light, fluffy snow becomes a shower of snow. I watch Gracie go down the back steps worrying that she’ll fall. She tends to slide on the last few steps in her eagerness to hurry to the yard. She keeps her eyes on me as I’m standing by the back door. She is expecting I’ll stay there to open the door for her. I always do.

January is a boring month. It lacks celebration. It lacks color. It is a month to be endured inside the house not outside in the cold. It is the month for reading, for listening to the fire crackling and for snuggling on the couch under a warm afghan.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on “January brings the snow, Makes our feet and fingers glow.”

  1. flyboybob Says:

    Of course January is a boring month the only holidays are is Presidents’ Day and Dr Martin Luther King Day. Who knows under the Trump era Dr. King’s Birthday may get de certified.

    I had to go to the dentist today to have a very troublesome tooth extracted so I am taking a sick day. The temperature has just gotten up to 25F degrees with a few snow flurries which aren’t sticking. Whenever any frozen precipitation sticks here the accident rate goes up by a couple of hundred percent. Texas and snow or ice don’t mix. 🙂

    Here’s a link to a very funny Late Night with Stephen Colbert video.

    http://www.broadwayworld.com/bwwtv/videoplay.cfm?colid=1511548

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I think President’s Day is in February. We always had a vacation that week. I remember when it used to be Washington’s birthday, and we had Lincoln’s the same month.

      I go to the dentist every six months, but that didn’t help when I got the worst tooth ache on a Friday night. I ended up going to Care for pain medication as I knew no dentist until Monday. I was thrilled when the tooth was yanked.

      That was really funny. I do love Stephen Colbert.

      • Bob Says:

        By scratching Presidents’ Day, my mistake, it makes January even more dismal. We actually got a dusting of snow today along with some black ice. Luckily my dentist’s office is across the street from my condo and I didn’t have to drive. 🙂

        If we keep having Arctic outbreaks our neighbor to the North will have to build a big, beautiful wall to keep us all out. It will take a lot more than warm weather to keep us here in the Trump era. 🙂

      • Bob Says:

        The tooth didn’t hurt because I spent enough money on it I could have gone on a nice vacation. In recent years a couple of crowns, a root canal, then it finally cracked in two and extraction.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I have dental insurance, but the bills are still really high. Root canals especially are unbelievably expensive.

        We are expecting big time snow. The most in a couple of years. I have to get out early to pick up a couple of thongs as the snow will start around 10.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        The news just said an ice floe as large as Delaware is pulling away from the Arctic shelf. I think neither north or south are good options.

  2. Birgit Says:

    Re-decorate the tree, coptic Christmas starts tonight 🙂
    Stay safe and warm!

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      My beautiful tree is gone. Skip took it when he came to shovel. All the ornaments are on the couch, and there are a million, well maybe not that many but close, needles on the floor. They’ll stay there until tomorrow.

      My fake tree, the ugly scrub pine, is still up in the dining room so I can turn that on to celebrate Coptic Christmas.

  3. olof1 Says:

    We did get a little snow today but just a dusting. Snow is pretty in photographs and paintings and I guess I wouldn’t dislike it so much if it just hit the trees 🙂 trees are beautiful when covered in a dusting of snow.

    It did fall below 0F on Thursday night here but it is rare that it happens now days. When I moved here almost 17 years ago it happened every winter, -22F for a week or two wasn’t unusual at all. I can’t pretend to miss it but everything got covered in thick rime when that happened and that is so beautiful! Normally the wind doesn’t blow when the temperature drop that much and normally we have sunshine too so as long as one dress properly it’s kind of nice 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I would love just a dusting. We had 4 inches yesterday and now we could get as many as 12 to 18 inches. Snow is definitely pretty every place and everywhere but here. Luckily Skip will be by tomorrow to plow and shovel.

      It is cold. My mother used to say it is too cold to snow, and she was wrong. Now we can add the wind to the cold and snow.

      Have a wonderful snow less day!


Comments are closed.


