“I fear thee not, O untried morrow!”

Happy 2017!

Today is far too warm for January, the mid-40’s. It is truly sweatshirt weather. I’d be disappointed if I were a kid who got a new sled for Christmas. This is new bike weather.

When I was in my 20’s, I wore dresses or skirts and blouses to work. After work, I lived in flannel and denim. My friends and I didn’t need an excuse to party. Cheap wine, some chips, and a bowl of onion dip were all we needed. We often went to Friday happy hours. I can’t remember a weekend when we didn’t get together. I was young.

I’m older now and I’m thinking life just happens so my plans for the new year are simple. My dance card is mostly empty.Β I’ll survive the winter with good humor even if it snows. We’ll do summer movies on the deck. I’ve bought a few already. I’m thinking a lot of grilling. I’ve been saving recipes. I have no travel plans except for my yearly visit to New Hampshire.

I watched 2017 arrive last night. I wanted to make sure 2016 was gone for good. It wasn’t my favorite year though I do have some wonderful memories. My trip to Ghana tops my list. Way back in 1971 when I left Ghana, I had hope I would return, but I could never have guessed how wonderful that first return would be, and that there would be multiple return trips. Bolga is my familiar Ghanaian home again. I shop in the market, eat all my favorite Ghanaian food, and spend time with my former students. Traveling with my friends Bill and Peg this September brought back old memories and made new ones. I figure I have been amazingly lucky to have had such friends. When I was young, I hoped my life would be filled with adventure. It has been and now I have a new year to fill with more.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““I fear thee not, O untried morrow!””

  1. Hedley Says:

    Tottenham went to Watford and hammered them. Four goals in the first 46 minutes and then they threw it in neutral running out 4-1 winners.

    I have elected to avoid NFL in anticipation of The Detroit Lions against the pack this evening. Maybe the Giants will do us a favor and beat the Redskins guaranteeing a playoff place. These things don’t happen.

    Mrs MDH and I are wondering about wandering in February but can’t identify the appropriate destination. We are scheduled through May so our window is small

    It’s mild, might go walking again, I am thinking too much about tonight’s game

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      The Patriots came out like gangbusters. When Miami look as if they had found an offense, the Pats hit them again and again. The Pats now have a bye for the first week and home field advantage.

      My bank account is low enough not to allow travel for a bit. I have an idea that maybe I will go to Ghana in 2019, 50 years since I first arrived there so I need to start saving just in case.

      I have had a couple of lazy days. I need to get a few things finished tomorrow and do a few errands. I’ll hope my eyes can get used to the light!

      Good luck for Detroit tonight!

  2. Bob Says:

    Looking back it wasn’t the best of years but the outcome of our election will make 2016 the worst of years. The Republinans have been licking their chops since Watergate for a chance to dismantle every piece of progressive legislation since F.D.R. and now they have their opportunity and there’s nothing the Democrats can do to stop them.

    My biggest fear is for my daughter who will have to rely on SSI disability payments and Medicade or what’s left of it and the shredded safety net. I’m not ready to retire but I’m concerned about the future of Social Security and Medicare under the crazy idea of privatization. Privatization of social services is as stupid an idea as deregulation of the airline industry was in the 1970s.

    From a global perspective I’m concerned about the economic effects of a trade war or worse an actual war. We know the Republicans love a big military budget which encourages them to want to actually use the weapons they bought in real combat as we did by invading Iraq looking for nonexistent WOMD. Does Trump and his minions want to turn our country into an oligarchy where the few billionaires run everything for their benefit or worse a banana republic?

    Trump is already tempting the limits of the Constitution by refusing to sell all his business interests and putting them into a blind trust. I fear for diminished voting rights for minorities, the end of Roe vs. Wade along with all gender equality. The end of gay marriage and equal rights for anyone who has a different lifestyle.

    Otherwise, I’m looking forward to the Dallas Cowboys going to the Super Bowl and the Texas Rangers finally winning the World Series. I can hope that good people will continue to stay involved in politics and speak out forcefully against the worst plans of the Republicans and encourage the few moderates in their party to join with the Democratic minority to protect the rights of the weak, the minorities, the people of different religions and the disabled.

    Happy 2017!

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      For most of the year it was a good year then came November. It went downhill from there and has stayed downhill since then. I can only hope that some Republicans have a conscience and will vote accordingly.

      I am lucky that I have a pension from the teachers’ association and still have private insurance. So many people have the Affordable Care Act that I have to hope they won’t be left uninsured. Your daughter should not become a victim, and I do understand your fears.

      All we need is China getting angry with Trump. That country might just foreclose on loans and dump the companies they own here. Trump has filled his cabinet with mostly billionaires and a few paltry millionaires. They are men who will scrap the laws giving equality. What do they care?

      I am looking forward to the Pats in the Super Bowl and the Red Sox seem to have all the tools they need to win the World Series. We all have hope!!

      Happy New Year!

  3. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat.
    Today was my friend’s annual NYD open house party. I think it originally started as a way for her crafter friends who didn’t like football to have fun with like minded fiber crafters. It was a large and chatty party with lots of great snacks and lunch. It was good to see people I hadn’t seen all year and to see some of the things they’ve been working on.

    Happy New Year! Onward and upward.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I can’t remember the last time I was at a party of any sort. I have had friends over for dinner and games and I’ve been to their houses but no parties. I’m thinking your day sounded like a lot of fun. Friends, food and conversation all make for a wonderful day!

      Happy New Year!

  4. olof1 Says:

    I slept through it all πŸ™‚ First a slept in front of the tv all day and by nine pm I still was very tired so I went upstairs to my bed and fell asleep as soon as my head touched the pillows πŸ™‚

    We started very early on new years eve though and it was a bit stressful because Albin found a jar with garlic cloves in oil and herbs. I know I got that jar over ten years ago but had forgotten all about it. Where he found it and how he could eat it all is still a mystery to me πŸ™‚ I’ve heard that garlic can be dabferous for dogs but actually found very little about it on the net and the vet had never heard that it would be dangerous to dogs, Onions yes they can be very toxic for dogs but not garlic.

    He burps garlic now and his farts are truly bad πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but he’s happy so who am I to complain πŸ™‚

    Have a good continuing of the new year!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I was up much later than midnight, but that has been my pattern lately. I saw the ball in Times Square fall then watched a movie. I started the new year much like I ended the old.

      Albin is such a puppy. They get into everything. I’m glad he didn’t eat anything toxic. How did he find the jar and get it opened?

      Garlic breath is the worst. When I am with friends out to eat and we order garlic bread, it is a rule we all must have a piece so we have the same bad garlic breath.

      As long as Albin is happy!!

      Have a wonderful New Year!!


Comments are closed.


