“Departure of a year welcomes so many new memories”

Cape Cod will get rain and high winds but no snow, but I didn’t need a forecast. One look at the sky was enough. It is a storm sky, dark and foreboding. The wind is starting to pick up a bit, but we won’t feel the brunt of the nor’easter until tonight. Meanwhile, I’m staying home. I’m staying comfy.

I woke up so late this morning I am embarrassed. This weird sleep cycle has to be broken. I stay up until one or two or even three and never wake up until some time after ten. I figure I’ll have to set my alarm for an early time in the morning and then hope to fall asleep before midnight.

I still light my Christmas tree every day although it is getting dryer and will so enough have to come down. The house always looks so empty and dark without the tree. It brightens even the deepest and darkest winter nights.

I always expect the new year to be better than the old. I know nothing around me changes too much but everything I saw, whatever I learned and anybody I met makes me more than I was, makes me a bit better than I was.

The highpoint for me this year was my trip back to Ghana. My friends and I had the most amazing time. We saw elephants walking around our chalets just nonchalantly stopping and stripping trees of their leaves while we stood close but still a safe distance away. We saw our former students almost every night in Bolga. We ate our favorite Ghanaian food. We went shopping on market day which was always my favorite day. It was a trip of highlights.

I don’t need a whole to keep me happy. Summer movies and Sunday game nights are never boring or tiresome. We loved sitting on the deck on a summer night with a small breeze keeping the evening comfortable. We laughed at all the bad black and white B movies we saw. One of my favorite creatures was the giant spider scaling the wall of the skyscraper. On Sunday it is Phase 10 and Sorry. With Sorry, just as you think victory is yours, your man, right next to home, gets knocked off back to start. That’s when someone always says  I hate this game.

I’m going to do laundry today, and that’s it. Gracie and I went to the dump yesterday, and there were so many cars, you’d think they were giving something wonderful away. Gracie’s head swiveled.

Now it’s time for lunch and the rest of the lazy day!

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

14 Comments on ““Departure of a year welcomes so many new memories””

  1. Hedley Says:

    The tree made it until Tuesday, then pow, gone for another year. Everything back in its boxes and back to the basement where it will lollygag for another 11 months. The clutter is gone and we are back to “normal”

    I am fatiguing over dead celebrity syndrome although Sarah Michelle Gellar gets a prize for leaping on to text and going dead Boy George when it was really dead George Michael. Admittedly 2016 has been particularly strange but the public grief of celebrities for dead celebrities seems a bit disingenuous

    I have now started to listen to the unopened music that arrived during the holiday song season. First up is the Kate Bush “Before the Dawn”, a reasonably priced 3 disc set of her recent live show in London. I like it a lot but then again I like Kate Bush a lot.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I will start this weekend by taking the tree down first then wrestling it outside so it can be picked up for the dump. The trees are used as wind breakers to protect beach dunes.

      I found the deaths of both Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds sad. Star Wars is among the favorite films of so many and, though I’m not a fan of musicals, I love Singing’ in the Rain.

      I need to look through all my gifts again and scout on-line for a baseball bat holder.

      Gee, I didn’t know you liked Kate Bush, as if….

      • Hedley Says:

        We took the Prince to see Rogue One on Boxing Day. I enjoyed the movie but had to be told that it is story 3 1/2 and it links to the original. I do remember seeing the first Star Wars at the Odeon Leicester Square and being in awe of the special effects.

        Ok, so I am a bit obvious over Kate Bush…wanna play the best albums of 2016 ? My nominees are :

        Album of the Year : David Bowie “Blackstar”
        Best Reissue of the Year : Van Morrison “Its too late to stop now” with 3 extra CDs and DVD
        Best Live Album : Kate Bush/The K Fellowship “Before the Dawn”
        Most gigantus will I play it all : Bob Dylan “1966”
        Best show I saw : Bruce at the Bercy

        I know Birgit…Iggy Pop

      • katry Says:

        My Dear Hedley,
        I haven’t bought music you can hold in your hand in a long while. I’ve bought single songs.

        The first Star Wars was amazing, an actual science fiction movie that anyone could enjoy. I’ve seen it enough times that I will have no trouble when I see Rogue One. I think next week I’ll go to the movies a couple of times. Kids will be back in school so the matinees will be quiet.

        From your list, I’d buy Van Morrison, Kate Bush and Dylan were I in the market for music.

      • Birgit Says:

        Hedley, Iggy forever 🙂 but he shouldn’t make studio albums anymore. I haven’t even bought the 2016 one. For 2016 I’ll take Erika Stucky’s Helium, her new Hendrix program, though I havent even heard all of the songs. All my Stucky CDs are signed so I’m waiting for a concert to buy it.

      • Hedley Says:

        Birgit

        So Erika is an American who moved to Switzerland and does covers and cranks it up ?

        To be honest I had not heard of her, but the youtube stuff is fun and right in keeping with your IggyPop thingy.

        No concerts scheduled (yet) and I did look at her Facebook page.

        Turn in up in Bochum

  2. Birgit Says:

    Greetings from abroad, family related short trip to south-west Germany. Nice town, sunshine and more. Back by train tomorrow, next short trip on Saturday 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      It is wonderful to spend the holiday with family. Sunshine? What is sunshine?

      Have a great trip home and another great trip this weekend.

  3. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I’m having a weird sleep cycle week myself. I went to bed at 9PM and woke at 1AM. I hung around in bed, wide awake, until 6AM and said to heck with this and got up. But it was another day for moving from jammies to sweats and calling myself dressed. I spent the day reading, snacking and knitting.

    It’s a nasty day up here. It started out just very cloudy but soon the rain was slashing against the windows. The dogs are not happy because they want to DO something and keep asking to go out. As soon as I open the door, they think better of that idea unless they really have business out there. Sorry, boys, no door into summer today. 😦

    I hope the new year is better than this last one. Onward! 🙂
    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I just went through that I could use a nap stage so I had to stay awake.

      I sometimes think I should just stay up as it is after 4 sometimes when I go to sleep. If I woke at 1, I’d also be up all night long. My only change was to add a sweatshirt.

      It has also gotten nasty here with heavy, heavy rain pounding the window. Gracie doesn’t even go near the door.

      I’m always hopeful that the new year will be better than the last one. We get to start all over again and maybe get it right!

      Have a wonderful evening, stay warm and dry!

  4. Coleen Says:

    Hi Kat!

    Ahhhh…the joys of the holidays…when your regular routine and sleep schedule goes out the window, only to return sometime after the New Year. You eat foods you wouldn’t be caught dead with in say, March – – and discover that your clothes fit a little tighter.

    The heck with it. Run with it and enjoy it all, because we both know tomorrow is promised to no one. The list of people we lost this past year proves that. Enjoy friends and family to the hilt.

    There is a saying a dear friend of mine will often say – – “Yesterday’s history. Tomorrow’s a mystery. That’s why they call it a present.”

    The bat is very cool, by the way. Happy New Year!

    Waving,

    Coleen

    • katry Says:

      Hi Coleen,
      Every now and then I remind myself how lucky I am to be able to have these weird hours, take trips in October and stay out at night without thinking of 5 in the morning and the alarm.

      I totally agree about enjoying it all. I have been retired 12 years, and am still loving my days being empty until I fill them.

      The bat is beautiful. It is also really heavy. I can understand why it takes a guy David’s size to swing it.

      Waving back!!

  5. flyboybob Says:

    Thank goodness I have to go back to work on Tuesday. This staying up late and sleeping late is taking it’s toll on my brain. I get up late, don’t get dressed until noon and then spend the afternoon waiting for Jeopardy to come on TV at 5:30. I need a schedule with tasks.

    I can’t believe that so many famous people are dropping like flies right before the new year. Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher were too young. I never thought I would say that 84 was too young. 😉

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      You need to find something to keep you busy. Plan out stuff to do. Days like you described are for the only once in a while days. They are for the day after busy, filled days.

      I agree that this has been the worst year for famous people dying. 84 is beginning to seem quite young!


Comments are closed.


