“Fine old Christmas, with the snowy hair and ruddy face, had done his duty that year in the noblest fashion, and had set off his rich gifts of warmth and color with all the heightening contrast of frost and snow.”

Outside looks lovely from the window. I see sun, a blue sky, and only a slight breeze, but all of those are deceiving. Cold, freezing cold, is today’s weather. Wear layers is what we’re being told. I’m thinking 6 or 7 layers may not be enough. It is 14˚, and today’s high will be 19˚. Tomorrow and Sunday will be warm but rainy. It could reach 60˚ on Sunday. Mother Nature is indecisive.

My house is mostly decorated. The tree could use a few more ornaments so I’ll add that to my to-do list. My fake scrub pine has a dead set of lights so I’ll have to replace it. Friends are coming to dinner. The menu is set but I need to get dessert and some cheese. I have sort of a casual flow chart on cooking the meal. We’re having pork tenderloin, honeyed carrots and baby potatoes with romano cheese.

My family calls it the Christmas bug. It all started with my grandmother, the one who had eight kids. My mother, my Aunt Bunny and my Uncle Jack were bitten. Their houses were filled with Christmas. They baked and they kept baking. They loved to shop for presents. They always chose the best gifts. Many of my cousins were also bitten, as was I and my two sisters. We love all the hoopla of Christmas and traditions teem. The gingerbread house construction started 33 years ago and has now passed to a second generation. Pinatas, too, are on a second generation. I used to fill them for my niece and two nephews, and now,  their kids can’t wait for Christmas Eve and pinata whacking. Five pinatas hang from the high railing on the second floor.

When I was a kid, my mother’s kitchen always had steamed windows when she was cooking. It was a small kitchen, almost a galley kitchen. The table was by the window. It had four chairs, just enough for my parents and my brother and me. My sister was a baby in a highchair. I can still recall images of that house, one side of a duplex. The stairs had a landing where I used to sit and color or read. Upstairs was the bathroom and two bedrooms. This house had gotten too small with the birth of my sister, and we would be moving soon but only down the street. I don’t even remember moving.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Fine old Christmas, with the snowy hair and ruddy face, had done his duty that year in the noblest fashion, and had set off his rich gifts of warmth and color with all the heightening contrast of frost and snow.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    It was nudity Thursday – first Birgit generously shared some topless sled gals in Bochum and then I started watching episode 1 of Versailles on Netflix. Frankly I was quite exhausted, so much so I didn’t make it to half time f the Thursday night game

    Reflecting on Bochumversailles I think the ankle is a safer space or generally rambling on about doggies in the snow, and plays in Detroit and gobs more of the stuff tonight

    Now what time do the Detroit Lions play on Sunday ?

    (Seriously, like I don’t know its 1 pm against those dirty giants)

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Yup, that long time tradition of nudity Thursday!

      I didn’t watch the game at all. I watched Netflix and some Christmas movies. I do binge on Christmas movies!

      I don’t even know when the Pats play. They are in Denver. It has been freezing in Colorado so the Pats have been practicing outside to get ready. I’ll stay cozy and watch.

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Early this morning it was colder than midnight on Pluto. I put the dogs in their brand new, fleece-lined horse-turnout-rug style coats and bundled myself up in vest, coat, dead coyote fur hat, and mittens. I opened the door and gasped at the chill. The dogs refused to move. Partly it was the cold but mostly it was the fleece-lined, horse-turnout-rug style coats. They didn’t like them. Piki Dog flopped about as if he had a panther on his back. Rocky seized up. I dragged them around the yard anyway. Piki did one thing. Rocky did nothing. I think it was because the coat came down over the base of his tail and he felt that he couldn’t cock his leg. Mechanics are important. I gave up. An hour later I put them in their regular winter coats and tried again with better luck. We’ve been out three more times since then and I haven’t bothered with their coats. They didn’t care.
    It has warmed up to 15ºF and the wind has dropped considerably.

    My kitchen is warm today because I have been cooking things in the refrigerator that have to be cooked before they go off. The house smells of spiced pork roast. Yum.

    Enjoy the day and keep warm.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I had to laugh right out loud at the picture I had of you dragging the dogs across the yard for their walk.

      Gracie has a Pendleton coat, and she never minds it, but then it lets her stub of a tail loose though Gracie squats so that makes no difference.

      It was 19˚ at 2:00, and I had to do an errand. I bundled Gracie far more than I did myself and off we went. It was freezing!!

      I have a tenderloin ready for the oven. The table is set, the carrots cooking and only the potatoes are left. Dinner is on its way.

      Have a great, toasty warm evening!

  3. Bob Says:

    Here the temperature has been dropping from 75 degrees at one to a chilly 51 right now. It took the cold weather longer to get here because we are further south.

    I had a cousin that had the Disney bug. Her entire house was decorated at Christmas time with Disney Christmas stuff. Her husband was Catholic so they had a tree decorated with Disney and Chaunukah menorah ornaments. An equally mixed marriage. 🙂 They lived in Staten Island and visited Disney World in Florida twice a year. Unfortunately, after they retired and moved to Orlando, to be close to the magic kingdom, she passed away from lung cancer. We have lost track of her husband.

    The Cowboys play Tampa Bay tomorrow evening in Jerry’s world with the dome closed for the cold weather. I’m hoping for a New England vs. Dallas Super Bowl to cheer up the month prior to the Inauguration. 😦

    I think the best way to protest on January 20th is to not watch any TV that entire day. I’m sure the most important thing to our 45th president will be the TV ratings he will draw. Let’s make them low.:-)

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I still have to laugh when you call 51˚ chilly. I know it is all relative, but this time of year, for us, 51˚ is a heat wave.

      My cousin has her house decorated by the beginning of November. Everything goes up. There are no empty spaces.

      The Pats will go to frigid Denver where they had snow yesterday. It took my brother-in-law 3 extra hours to get home from DIA. He almost gave up a couple of times.

      I won’t watch. My stomach won’t take it.


Comments are closed.


