“The rooms were very still while the pages were softly turned and the winter sunshine crept in to touch the bright heads and serious faces with a Christmas greeting.”

Yesterday has been renamed card day. The tree is still standing in the middle of the living room waiting to be decorated, but my Christmas cards are done. I had a morning meeting earlier today, but that’s it on my dance card. The rest of the day is tree day.

It was cold last night, and it was cold this morning, but the high today should be around 41˚. I’ll be wishing for that on Thursday and Friday when the nights will be in single digits and Friday’s daytime high will be 19˚.

The Christmas day dinner was turkey when I was a kid. That turkey showed up so soon after Thanksgiving didn’t bother us. We didn’t even think about it. We all liked turkey. But when I was older, my mother would serve a roast beef, a pork roast or a spiral ham. We always had potatoes and my mother’s squash dish. The other vegetables varied. The meals were always good, but the best part was dessert. The dining room table was covered with dishes all holding sweets made by my mother and me. It was awesome, the choices almost overwhelming. I’d fill my plate with the favorites: a whoopie pie, a frosted sugar cookie, and an orange cookie. On my second trip a bit later, I’d try the new cookies. Every year there are some new cookies, surprises. Later in the evening my mother and I would have a Spanish coffee and look through our stockings again. The tree was lit and the house, except for the two of us, was quiet. It was always one of my special times with my mother.

The Hallmark movies I’m watching all have happy endings, but I’m fine with that. Christmas is a time for happy endings.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““The rooms were very still while the pages were softly turned and the winter sunshine crept in to touch the bright heads and serious faces with a Christmas greeting.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Swedes really don’t have much imagination when it comes to holiday food. It is the same things every holiday. Some even have christmas ham at easter and midsummer now days?! We also always have that horrid pickled herring, meatballs, prince sausages and usually some kind of chicken. The only thing we do change are the desserts. Rice alamande at christmas and sometimes apple pie. Akll is very tasty but still 🙂

    I’ll yake a short blog and perhaps even internet vacation until Saturday, I’mm too tired in the evenings now and it is all Albin’s fault 🙂

    Have a great week!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I love ham, but my friends with whom I spend both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day don’t like it. I feel the same way about pickled herring, but I love the meatballs, sausages, and chicken. Thanksgiving is apple pie time. Usually there aren’t many pies for Christmas except mincemeat.

      I totally understand Albin is driving you crazy. Enjoy your mini-vacation.

  2. Hedley Says:

    Christmas Dinner has always been an issue of dispute down the MDHs. We were new to Thanksgiving in 1980 BUT Turkey has always been served.

    Mrs MDH, being an American and all that, has tried to deflect us to a roast of some other description. Half heartedly I have agreed and then reversed my position in just enough time to enjoy Turkey once again for Christmas lunch

    Your Pats did fine last night. The Lions have not won their division since 1993 when ii included Tampa Bay – and now Matthew has a damaged hand. All too much tension for me BUT, a win at the Giants and the packers lose to the stupid bears and its all academic.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      We never minded turkey at Christmas for, just as you said, the sandwiches. I’d fill mine with turkey, stuffing and cranberry sauce.

      I figure there is far less tradition associated with Christmas dinner. No meat has an upper hand. I love roast beef, a crown roast for Christmas.

      That was an exciting Pats’ game. They looked as if they’d romp but then it got interesting. Brady at 39 is a wonder. I do hate having to need other teams to win or lose to determine your fate.

  3. splendidone Says:

    So wonderful to pop in and find you 3 here. I love hearing about your childhoods and hearing about your lives now are just as interesting, believe it or not! LOL

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Today should be laundry day but I decided to bake some bread instead. Only one loaf of bread but I can dedicate a day to it even though the machine does all the work. 🙂 I took the dogs for two walks while I was baking bread.

    When my mother was doing Christmas cooking, the meal was always turkey. When I took over the cooking, the meal was usually pork roast but once in a while I would do beef or (gasp!) lamb. Before dinner, the table would be loaded with appetizers. We weren’t big on putting out sweets the weren’t actual desserts. I don’t recall a lot of pie at Christmas. It was usually gooey cakes and ice cream with toppings. And Grand Marnier. Always Grand Marnier.

    It’s sunny and relatively warm up here though the wind is a little biting. I feel I should be shopping in a panic in preparation for the Plutonian temperatures but I can’t think of anything I need. Bird food, maybe, and perhaps a wood-burning stove. Nothing big. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I love changing my mind about the day so today, instead of yesterday, I’m doing the tree, but I’m on a back break.

      I can’t move the tree back where I want it as it is too heavy. It is in the middle of the living room so I could decorate it, but I want it in the corner.

      When we were older, we always had a roast at Christmas. My dad’s favorite was roast beef. We all liked it as well. Christmas Eve we had appetizers.

      We were never big on cakes. We loved ice cream as my Dad worked for Hood Ice Cream. They used to make novelty items from old molds for Christmas, and we always had those on hand.

      It never got sunny here. I did a Peapod order for tomorrow. I’m having friends over for dinner on Friday so I figured I might as well do my whole order.

      Have a great evening!

  5. Bob Says:

    During Chanukah we have to eat fried food to commemorate the miracle of the oil that burned in the Temple for eight days. My family are Ashkenazi Jews who emigrated from Eastern Europe and my grandmother’s prepared potato pancakes called Latkes. Jews who come from the Middle East and Isreal are Sephardic Jews and they eat jelly donuts called Sufganiyat. I’m not a big fan of Latkes but love Sufganiyat. My father was the family latke maven chef. The main course in my mother’s house was always brisket to go with the Latkes. Turkey was for Thanksgiving with stuffing and canned cranberry sauce.

    I always thought that the traditional Christmas dinner was a goose with a Christmas pudding. It’s something I imagine from the movie “A Christmas Carol”. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I like latkes and sometimes make them. I haven’t ever heard of Sufganiyat, but after I looked up the word, I think I’d like ti as well. What’s not to like about a jelly donut?

      A Victorian Christmas would have had a goose and Christmas pudding, but Victorians of means had turkey for dinner. Much later, turkey became of the meat of choice for families as it had so much meat.

      • Bob Says:

        Of course, Latke, was the name of the character played by Andy Kaufman in the TV series Taxi. The reruns still hold up well. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        I liked Taxi. The funniest one to me is when they brought Reverend Jim to get his driver’s license.

        I found it:


Comments are closed.


