“Winter is not a season, it’s an occupation.”

The day is mostly cloudy with only a bit of blue. It is really cold. Last night was in the teens. Right now it’s 24˚. The weather will stay cold until Wednesday when we’ll be back to the 40’s.  I’m going off Cape today to see the play Mame. My sister and I do a play then dinner every Christmas season. My mother started the tradition. One of the plays she took us to was Death of a Salesman with Brian Dennehy. It was superb but was the fodder for jokes about Christmas cheer and the season to be jolly. I love this tradition.

I wanted a band to greet me when I got home yesterday from my errands. The Christmas boxes are wending their way to Colorado, the trash is dumped, and the last present bought. I even stopped and picked up clam chowder for dinner. It was delicious.

Last night I made the fudge for my sister. It didn’t look right, but I put it in the fridge expecting it to harden. When I checked it later, it was soft. Around 1, before I went to bed, I checked it and it was still soft. I knew I did something wrong, a first for me with this fudge. I figured I’d make it this morning but then realized I wouldn’t have time. I made it last night. While stirring to the soft ball stage, I realized I had read the thermometer wrong on the first batch. A silly mistake! By the time I was finished making the fudge and cleaning the kitchen, it was close to 2, but I am glad I am not disappointing my sister. This batch hardened.My mother often forgot one of our presents hidden in the house. When we’d open the gifts on Christmas morning, she’d remember because it was missing. Sometime during the day, a brand new present would appear under the tree. I remember one year she forgot the ice skates she had bought me, not the white ones I already had but an antique pair with straps you attached right to your shoes and a single blade with a curl at the ends. She had tucked them behind my other presents as if I had overlooked them. I didn’t care. I liked the surprised of this really neat gift.

The sun is now out but the day isn’t any warmer. I’ll bundle up.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

13 Comments on ““Winter is not a season, it’s an occupation.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Foggy and nice till around 1pm and rainy and not so nice after that. The fire is now burning in the stove and my clothes hang close to dry. We’ll get much the same weather tomorrow they say but instead of rain we’ll get snow and thenthe night will be cold so I guess it’ll stay for a while.

    I have always problem when making fudge so now I never do it 🙂 It is always way too soft and still I really check the thermometer. It is after all easier to buy and I’m pretty sure the bought one taste better too 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I’ll take rain every time. It doesn’t need to be shoveled and it disappears into the ground. The fire sounds perfect!

      The second batch was perfect. It is because my thermometer is reliable. It’s an old one. The fudged cooks to the soft ball stage. My sister was thrilled to get it.

      This fudge is gritty tasting which my sister prefers. I like smooth fudge.

      Have a great day!!

  2. flyboybob Says:

    Here it’s 45 degrees under partly could skies. Tomorrow’s high should be in the lower 70s according to the weather prognosticators. Spring has sprung in December.

    “The Christmas Song”, by Mel Torme is my favorite holiday song. He wrote it in July in Los Angeles during a heat wave to feel cooler. Who else would think of chestnuts roasting on an open fire in July except a Jewish crooner from Chicago. 🙂 My next favorite was from my days working in a jewelry store, “It’s the most wonderful time of the year”.

    I’m surprised that the war against Christmas folks haven’t been out in droves after Trump’s surprising win. They are against anyone saying Happy Holidays. Let’s see many of us celebrate Chanukah and other’s celebrate Kwanzaa or Festuvis (the holiday for the rest of us). Since we live in a country where the majority of the people are Christian who would be at war with Christmas? Anyone who disagrees with them. 😦 I remember when my son was in the second grade a kid in his class told another kid that he wasn’t a Christian, because they were Catholic.:-)

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      It was in the 20’s today and was really cold. It will be the same tomorrow.

      I also love that Mel Torme song. The Nat King Cole version is my favorite as it is for most people. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel is about my favorite carol.

      The Christian-Catholic thing is familiar. When we were young, we didn’t realize that Catholics are also Christians. I say Merry Christmas to my friends who celebrate it. I am not against Happy Holidays as it is perfectly generic.

      • Bob Says:

        I’m continually amazed at why there’s so much hatred and death in the name of religion. What difference does it make, Protestant or Catholic. Sunni or Shia Muslims or Hindus or Sikhs. Agnostics or Atheists or Buddhists or Shinto. I can’t leave out the Confucianism followers. White or Black or Asian. Why can’t we all get over this stuff and just respect and enjoy each other’s diversity and differences? That should really be the spirit of the holidays. Oh, and buying stuff to prevent a recession. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        I agree, Bob. Where I lived in Ghana has the largest population of Muslims who live in Ghana. My school had a variety of tribes and religions. There was never a problem then, and there are no problems now. When it is time for prayer, people just start on the sidewalk if they are in town. I don’t get it either.

  3. Birgit Says:

    Nice tradition, have a good trip and fun tonight!
    In the meantime we celebrate this singing American guy who refused to come to Stockholm to get his prize, No Direction Home on TV yesterday and Don’t Look Back tonight. Nice cozy TV evening with hot cocoa and cookies.

    • Hedley Says:

      Birgit
      Really liked No Direction Home – I have no idea why some folks are mad at the singer dude for not showing up to get a trophy. Haven’t opened the boxset of 1966 yet, waiting until after the season of Christmas songs

      • Birgit Says:

        Hedley, I’m glad he got the prize and I don’t care whether he shows up in Stockholm or not. It’s his decision and Patti Smith singing Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall instead isn’t bad either though I haven’t seen it yet. As you can guess I’ve already seen both Dylan movies but who cares, nice TV highlights between all this Christmas TV rubbish. Please tell us about the 1966 box after you’ve listened.
        You mentioned baking cookies which reminded me of a saying here, a red evening sky at Christmas time means that the angels are baking cookies in heaven. I don’t know whether this saying also common in the States. Enjoy the service!

      • katry Says:

        Birgit,
        We say red sky at night, sailor’s delight. Red sky in the morning, sailor take warning.

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Birgit.

      I have seen both these films. Nice to know that singing American guy is getting lots of exposure there, not so much here.

      The cookies and cocoa are great winter watching movie food.

  4. Hedley Says:

    It is spluttering..but it is coming. Mrs MDH and our daughter have been making cookies all day, the Prince is in absentia and the weather dudes are getting worked in to a frenzy. 9″ in Rochester Hills on Sunday they announce. I have a rare Sunday morning meeting at 9:00 am, I guess I will use the “snow” button on my Jeep

    I like Saturday evening services and this is the THIRD Sunday in Advent, one of the big ones on my liturgical calendar. I am not sure that I match the Catholic Church but hopefully they are accepting of my wanderings.

    I will watch the last episode of The Crown tonight, it is almost as dull as it’s subjects but not being a subject has not subjected me to servitude. I like the bits about Churchill and Eden.Netflix managed to create a whole episode around the Sutherland portrait…I guess.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,

      I am not getting snow.

      Tomorrow is my tree day. It is a bit late for me, but it is the first time I can get Skip and his truck to help me. I’ll decorate it on Monday. The cookie rush will start later in the week. I have to choose and buy ingredients.

      I didn’t get into The Crown. The Queen has really drawn my interest. I have been watching Netflix documentaries.


Comments are closed.


