“It’s in the singing of a street corner choir. It’s going home and getting warm by the fire. It’s true, wherever you find love, it feels like Christmas!”

 

Last night was freezing. Gracie slept right beside me with her head on my arm. I guess she needed the body warmth. We have sun today, but I’d gladly trade it for a warmer day. The temperature is in the 30’s and will go down to the 20’s tonight. At least we won’t get snow.

Al my Colorado presents are wrapped. The bin holds only unwrapped Cape presents, and I have time yet. Today is busy. Gracie and I are going to the dump then to UPS. I also need to get a Dunkin’ gift card and a few groceries. I have to make fudge for my sister. I’ll be seeing her tomorrow and the fudge is a tradition, a gift she loves. Tonight I’ll watch Hallmark Christmas movies and write out my Christmas cards. I have my Edward Gorey cards, special ones for the family and a few I bought in Ghana. The tree is postponed until Sunday. I am disappointed.

This end of the street is dark, no Christmas lights, except for my house. One of my neighbors does have a white light in each window, but that is it. At the other end of the street three of the houses have lights. And on the next street, one of the houses is amazing. The lawn is filled with lights and lit figures of Santa and his reindeer. The house is outlined. All the trees are ablaze with light. It is the best house in the neighborhood.

When I was a kid, the square at Christmas always had carolers the nights before Christmas when people were shopping. The John Hancock Company gave out free soft cover books of carols, and they were passed out each night to the carolers. I remember one cover had a church with a lit stain glass window. Another cover had three choir boys wearing white gowns and red bowties. I still have a couple of books, one of each cover. I remember singing in the square. We stood on a platform right in front of the drug store and the Children’s Corner. I was in the fifth grade. We probably weren’t all that good but we were enthusiastic. I remember it all.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““It’s in the singing of a street corner choir. It’s going home and getting warm by the fire. It’s true, wherever you find love, it feels like Christmas!””

  1. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I’ve done my Christmas cards. All they need is stamps and dropping in the box. My Christmas cards are not very Christmas-y. They are usually photographs that I have taken. This year’s cards are prints of a drawing I made of Rocky, Piki Dog and me “enjoying” the snow. Most of the recipients will probably wonder what was I on. 🙂

    I think I remember those caroling books. They were small and stapled in the middle like a magazine. The donating company usually printed their name on the back cover.

    The sun is shining up here but the wind is blowing. I have errands that must be done today so I have to venture out in the cold.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      That is my hope for tonight. I got stamps this other day so I’m all set. I love the Edward Gorey cards. They are funny and even a bit irreverent.

      You do remember!

      My errands took over 2 hours, but I got everything done. I had a neighbor put the heavy boxes into the car and called a friend who lives near UPS to haul them out of the car. They’ll be in Colorado next Thursday. It was cold, but I was from car to store and back again.

      Have a great afternoon.

  2. Hedley Says:

    I don’t remember the last time that carol singers came to the door and yet it was so much part of growing up. The choir of St Mary and St Nicholas would go out, the neighbors, fortified by the other neighbors would head door to door with a collection box for “Save the Children” or some other worthwhile cause.

    I have memories (faded and very frayed around the edges) of my Mother baking in anticipation of the arrival of the singers.

    The week draws to a frantic close and we start the celebrations of Gaudete Sunday – the Rose Candle, Rejoice……AND…..

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I started today with where are the carolers then I decided that needed a background story about when I grew up. I used to have a before Christmas sort of formal dinner for my friends. The school choir had a fundraiser of coming to your house to carol. I had them for three or four years before they stopped. It was a wonderful part of the evening.

      I hold on with all I am worth to the memories of my mother baking for Christmas.

      I am celebrating. The before Christmas list is getting smaller.

  3. Jay Bird Says:

    I haven’t caroled in years. As adults, a group of went house to house for a few years in the 80’s. I always loved it. I’m sure your fifth grade caroling was excellent.

  4. olof1 Says:

    I don’t mind if it is cold but I do prefer it when it also is sunny and wind free. We’ve had rain during the night and fairly warm outside so I’m rather happy I didn’t have the fire burning in the stove especially long last night. I would have boiled away if I had 🙂

    I can’t remember a single caroler when I grew up. I know it was common in the 30’s and 40’s but after that it seems to have died out here. I wonder why because we do like street musicians a lot so why not carol singers?

    Only one house has christmas lights in the village. I’m late and my neighbor hasn’t put up any either. I really need to do it this weekend.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I’m with you in not wanting the wind. It brings the cold into the bones. The sun, though, doesn’t do a whole lot.

      That’s a great question about carolers. We had them into the 50’s and maybe the early 60’s, but they are gone from here to now.

      My house looks great even if I say so myself!!

      Have a great Saturday!


Comments are closed.


